ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION RECORDS ACCESS POLICY

Revised: 8.15.2024

Authorized By:

Everette L. Johnson

ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION RECORDS ACCESS POLICY

1. GENERAL POLICY

The Commission promptly provides citizens with public records upon request, subject to their payment of reasonable fees, and applicable laws protecting sensitive records. Requestors will be provided access to Commission records Monday through Friday, between 8 am and 4 pm. Copies of records may be obtained during the same hours. Copies may also be provided via mail, or email.

2. COMMISSION'S SENSITIVE RECORDS

- a. Alabama law prohibits the Commission from disclosing the names and addresses of victims or claimants who have applied for compensation or the facts or circumstances of the criminally injurious conduct perpetrated against them. ALA. CODE section 15-23-4 (j). Records requests for this information will not be processed and the requestor will be notified of this in writing.
- Alabama law prohibits the Commission from disclosing law enforcement investigative reports except to a grand jury. ALA. CODE section 15-23-5 (4).
 Records requests for this information will not be processed unless subpoenaed by a grand jury.
- c. Addresses of victims and claimants, the telephone numbers of victims and claimants, and all social security numbers will be redacted from subpoenaed documents.

3. **DEFINITIONS**

- a. Standard request. A public-records request that seeks one or more specifically and discretely identified public records that the Commission determines would take less than eight hours of staff time to process considering the time needed to identify and retrieve any responsive records and to redact or take other measures to withhold legally protected information. A standard request should require no or minimal clarification by the requester.
- **b.** Time-intensive request. A public-records request the Commission determines would take more than eight hours of staff time to process considering the time needed to identify and retrieve any responsive records—including because the request is vague or overly broad—and any time needed to redact or take other measures to withhold legally protected information.

4. SUBMISSION OF REQUEST

- a. Records can be requested on the Commission's online portal. It is available at www.acvcc.alabama.gov.
- b. If someone has questions about submitting a public records request to Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission, they may contact the agency's public records coordinator via email at public.records@acvcc.alabama.gov.

5. FEES

- **a. Document retrieval and preparation.** The Commission may charge the requester up to \$20.00 per hour, including a standard, minimum fee of \$20.00, for time spent locating, retrieving, and preparing records for production. The Commission may not charge for legal review or redaction necessary to withhold legally protected information.
- **b. Per-page fees.** Copies of records are available at 50 cents per page. The Commission does not charge a per-page fee for documents provided electronically.
- c. Actual costs. The Commission may charge any actual costs incurred while processing or responding to a public-records request—for example, for a flash drive or other hardware necessary for electronically producing records, for special paper sizes, and for costs associated with searching electronic databases—if the requester is informed of the cost in advance of being charged.
- **d. Deposit Against Cost.** A deposit against cost is required whenever the access officer anticipates that the requested documentation/information will cost in excess of \$5 to reproduce. If a deposit is required, it must be for the full estimated cost of the requested documents/information.
- e. Payment of Fees. The Commission accepts cash, check, or money order.

6. RESPONSE TIME

- a. The Commission will acknowledge the request within two business days of receiving it and, whenever possible, provide a substantive response fulfilling or denying the request within 15 business days of acknowledging receipt. Although the Commission may extend this period in 15-business-day increments upon written notice to the requester, the Commission will process a standard request as expeditiously as possible in light of the requester's time constraints, the Commission's workload, and the nature of the request.
- **b.** Time-intensive requests. An Commission will respond to time intensive requests as follows.

- 1. Fees required. The Commission will require the requester to pay a reasonable fee before providing a substantive response to the requester. The Commission will notify the requester in advance of any likely fees and will withhold any substantive response until receipt of payment.
- 2. Response time. The Commission will acknowledge the request within two business days of receiving it and will notify the requester within 15 business days after the acknowledgment that the request qualifies as a time-intensive request. At that time, the Commission will notify the requester of any likely fees and allow the requester to withdraw the time-intensive request and submit a new request that is not a time-intensive request. If the requester elects to proceed with his or her time-intensive request, the Commission will be prepared to provide a substantive response fulfilling or denying the request within 45 business days after the requester elected to proceed with his or her time-intensive-request. The Commission may extend this 45-business day period in 45-business-day increments by notifying the requester in writing.

7. PUBLIC-RECORDS COORDINATOR

The Commission's general counsel serves as the Commission's public-records coordinator. The public-records coordinator is responsible for coordinating the Commission's responses to public-records requests.