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P.O. Box 231267 COMMISSIONERS
Everette Johnson Mon‘rgomery, AL 36123-1267 Holly Brown-Owens, Ph.D.
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Sheriff Jay Jones

Hon. Darlene Hutchinson

January 2024

Honorable Kay Ivey
Governor of Alabama
Alabama State Capitol
Montgomery, AL 36130

Honorable Members of the State Legislature
State of Alabama

Alabama State House

Montgomery, AL 36130

Dear Governor Ivey, Ladies and Gentlemen,

On behalf of the Commissioners and dedicated staff of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation
Commission, it is my honor to submit the Annual Report of the Commission for the period of October 1,
2022 through September 30, 2023.

For the reported period, a total of $1,929,973 was paid to, or on behalf of, victims of violent crime
(including $593,352 for sexual assault forensic exams). Since the Commission’s inception in 1984,
$131,162,393 has been paid.

The Commission has faced tremendous challenges over the past several years with providing assistance and
services to victims of violent crime. However, I am excited to share, with the help of the Legislature and
Governor Ivey, we have begun to turn things around. The Legislature was gracious in recognizing our need
for increased funding and assisted us with 1.4 million dollars to offset the lack of funding from the court
system. The Governor also stepped in and provided the Commission with an additional 1 million dollars of
emergency funding that went directly to the backlog of claims.

We have changed the way we do business at the Commission. We have streamlined our claims process. We
have redesigned our application, decreasing it from 14 pages to 2 pages. Restrictive Administrative Code
language was removed to make it easier for victims and claimants to submit applications. We have set a
response time of 90 days for claims to be completed.

When I arrived at the Commission in April 2023, we had a backlog of over 1,900 claims. At the time of this
writing, that number has been reduced by nearly 40 percent. This is due to the amazing staff at ACVCC
working tirelessly to see that victims receive the compensation they are entitled to.

We now are looking for more innovative ways to serve our victims. Our outreach campaign has seen an
increase in interactions with law enforcement and victim advocacy partners. This has substantially
increased our footprint in the victim service community. With the continued support of Governor Ivey and
the Legislature, we will strive to increase the financial assistance to victims of crime with compassion,
fairness, and respect while also providing what we believe is most important - HOPE.

Sincerely,

S

Everette Johnson
Executive Director
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r. Holly Brown-Owens is the Lead Biology Instructor for the Science

Department at Wallace Community College in Selma, Alabama. Prior to

coming to Alabama, Dr. Brown-Owens was a Physical Scientist with the
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Charleston, South
Carolina. While in South Carolina, she was afforded the opportunity to travel
abroad on many occasions to present her research as well as meet with past
Nobel Laureates in Germany to discuss the trends of minorities in Science. She
received her Bachelors of Science in Biology from Stillman College and her
Masters and Ph.D. from Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University. Dr.
Brown-Owens teaching interests include Anatomy and Physiology as well as
Microbiology. Dr. Brown-Owens work in Selma and Montgomery over the past decade has
allowed her to work closely with many different young people in a variety of settings. She
communicates directly with them about their needs while discovering ways to be most helpful. Dr.
Brown-Owens resides with her husband and three children in Montgomery, Alabama.
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advocacy, having helped pass legislation, advance public policy, teach at

police academies, and work directly with hundreds of victims of crime. In
August 2017, she was appointed as Director of the Office for Victims of Crime
(OVC), the lead victim assistance agency within the U.S. Department of Justice,
where she was responsible for nearly $8 billion in grant funding for services
and programs to help survivors of crime. Before joining OVC, Ms. Hutchinson
volunteered at rape crisis centers in Texas and Alabama, and served as
president of a victims' support group. Ms. Hutchinson's experience of being
kidnapped at gunpoint inspired her to become a champion for victims' rights
and public safety. Simultaneously, she’s had a 20-year career in publishing and communications.
In June 2022, Ms. Hutchinson was appointed by Governor Ivey as an ACVCC Commissioner. Ms.
Hutchinson holds a B.S. in Journalism from Troy State University.

| |on. Darlene Hutchinson has more than 25 years of experience in victim

Sheriff’'s Office in 1975. He has experienced all aspects of the operations

of the Sherift’s Office. He was first elected Lee County Sheriff in 1998
and is still serving. His obtained a BS degree from Auburn University in 1976
and a MS degree from Troy State University in 1980. His professional
education and training includes the FBI National Academy (146th session), FBI
Law Enforcement Executive Development Seminar (58th session), National
Sheriff’s Institute (Class 00-1), Southern Law Enforcement Executive
Development Seminar (1999), and the United States Secret Service Dignitary
Protection Seminar (2003). His professional affiliations include service as a
governor’s appointee to the Advisory Committee on Women in Criminal Justice, the Alabama
Crime Victims Compensation Commission, the Alabama Local Government Records Commission
and the Alabama Peace Officers Annuity and Benefit Fund board. His professional memberships
include the FBI National Academy Associates, the Police Futurists International, the National
Sheriff’s Association, the Alabama Sheriff’s Association, the Law Enforcement Executive
Development Association, the Alabama Jail Association, the Alabama Peace Officers” Association
and the Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #21. Sheriff Jones’ civic involvement includes
membership in the Auburn Rotary Club and the Bleecker Ruritan Club. He has also served as an
adjunct instructor of Criminal Justice at Auburn University.

f Heriff Jay Jones began his law enforcement career with the Lee County
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verette Johnson comes to ACVCC from a law enforcement

background. He retired from the Montgomery Police

Department after 20 years of faithful service. During his role within the
police department, Director Johnson served victims of crime by bringing
offenders to justice and providing assistance to those in need. He helped
create the police department at Faulkner University and assisted law
enforcement agencies throughout the state with the Criminal Justice
Information Services at the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. Director
Johnson holds an undergraduate degree in Justice and Public Safety from
Auburn University at Montgomery. He also has a graduate degree from
Faulkner University in Justice Administration. He also has served as the President of the Alabama
Fraternal Order of Police representing over 8,400 law enforcement officers from throughout the
state.

Jd1J dAILNDIXS
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It is the mission of the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission fo provide financial
compensation fo eligible victims of violent crime all the
while freating them with compassion, fairness, and respect.
The Commission works within the Stafe for advocacy of
victims’ rights. We strive fo give victims and their families
hope.
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Creation of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission (Commission)

The Alabama Legislature passed the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission Act
June 01, 1984, becoming the 40th state to pass a law to compensate victims of violent crime. The
year 2023 marked 39 years of assistance being available to Alabama’s innocent victims of violent
crimes. The Commission provides the only substantial financial compensation to victims for
expenses due to personal injuries. This includes medical expenses, funeral expenses, counseling
expenses, lost wages, moving expenses, prescription expenses, and emergency funds. All applicants
must meet eligibility criteria before compensation may be awarded. Alabama has a unique
program that incorporates the best of many other states' programs, as well as some original ideas
of its own.

One of the features of Alabama’s law which makes it unique is the existence of a three-member
Commission, appointed by the Governor. Additionally, there is a requirement to include on the
Commission, either a victim of a crime of violence who suffered serious personal injury or an
immediate family member of a homicide victim. This provision insures that each claim is viewed
through the eyes of a victim. The law also provides that one member must be a law enforcement
officer with a minimum of 10 years experience in or with a law enforcement agency that investigates
violent crimes. This provision lends a great deal of expertise to the decision-making process.

Amendments to the Compensation Law

In 1986, amendments to the ACVCC law passed requiring all persons convicted of a felony pay
a victim assessment fee.

In the 1990 regular session of the Legislature, amendments passed increasing the limits for
funeral expenses from $2,000 to $3,000. This amendment also provides additional funding for
district attorneys to employ at least one victim service officer in each circuit.

In the 1995 regular session of the Alabama Legislature, amendments passed authorizing
payments for sexual assault examinations; further defining reasons for diminishing or denying
compensation awards; and clarifying that additional costs and assessments shall be assessed in
certain juvenile and youthful offender cases.
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1995 was a historic year for crime victims in Alabama because the Alabama Constitution was
amended to include certain rights for victims of crime. Alabama law requires that within 72 hours of
a crime being reported, the law enforcement agency investigating the crime shall provide the victim
with information about the victim's rights, the availability of crisis services, availability of financial
assistance from ACVCC, and information about the procedural steps of a criminal prosecution.

During the 1997/1998 regular session, the Alabama Legislature amended the ACVCC law
making the following changes:

e  Criminally Injurious Conduct shall include the act of terrorism as defined in §2331 of Title
18, United States Code, committed outside of the United States, against a resident of this
state.

e The maximum compensation allowance increased from $10,000 to $15,000.

e Increased the allowable amount for expenses relating to funeral, cremation, or burial from
$3,000 to $5,000.

e Increased compensation for work loss, replacement services loss, and dependents'
replacement service loss from $200 to $400 per week.

e The maximum compensation for future economic loss increased to $5,000.

e Clarifying language added to §15-23-4 to keep the names and addresses of the victim or
claimant confidential.

e Llanguage added to §15-23-12 to clarify the circumstances for filing with the Commission
later than one year after the injury or death upon which the claim is based "unless" the
Commission finds good cause.

e Llanguage added to §15-23-12 to clarify reporting to a law enforcement officer "later than"
seventy-two hours after the crime’s occurrence, unless the Commission finds there was good
cause for the failure to report within that time.

During the 2014 regular session, the Alabama Legislature amended the ACVCC law to make
the following changes:

e The maximum compensation allowance was increased from $15,000 to $20,000.

e Increased the allowable amount for expenses relating to funeral, cremation, or burial from
$5,000 to $7,000.

e Increased compensation for work loss, replacement services loss, and dependents’
replacement services loss from $400 to $600 per week.

e The $5,000 maximum for future economic loss was removed and replaced with maximum
payout.

e Language was added to address loss of income by domestic violence victims who escaped
an abusive relationship.

e A provision for promotional items was added.

In 2020, ACVCC adopted the following changes pursuant to an administrative rule:

e The maximum compensation allowance was decreased from $20,000 to $15,000.

In 2022, the Legislature granted the Executive Director the authority to determine eligibility for
all claims. It also changed the Commission meeting from monthly to quarterly. The Commission
continues to hear all appeals.

IH ANV NOISSIW
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The Commission is funded by the collection of fines,
court cosfs, restitution, and a federal grant.

Court Costs

The clerk of court for each respective judicial circuit collects the fines, fees, and restitution owed
to the Commission by criminal offenders. The court clerk remits these monies to the Commission
each month. The court clerk is responsible for the important task of maintaining accurate records of
the amounts due the Commission for deposit into the Crime Victims Compensation Fund.
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The Commission receives $2 from each moving traffic violation such as a speeding ticket. For
each misdemeanor or violation of a municipal ordinance an additional court cost of $10 is
collected for the Crime Victims Compensation Fund. If the offense constitutes a felony, $15 in
additional court cost is imposed.

Victim Assessment Fees

Alabama law requires a Victim Assessment Fee be imposed for all felony or misdemeanor
convictions. The minimum victim assessment fees are mandatory; however, the judge does have
discretion to order an amount above the minimum. Judges are required to order the victim
assessment fee for juvenile and youthful offender cases as well as adult cases.

Amended in 1990, the felony victim assessment fee minimum is $50, with a maximum
assessment of $10,000 possible. The Commission receives the first $25 of the assessment. The
Office of Prosecution Services receives the second $25 of the assessment. The Commission receives
any portion of the assessment above the minimum.

The misdemeanor victim assessment fee minimum is $25, with a maximum assessment of
$1,000 possible. The Commission receives the first $12.50 of the assessment. The Office of
Prosecution Services receives the second $12.50 of the assessment. The Commission receives any
portion of the assessment above the minimum.

Subrogation

Under Alabama law, the Commission is automatically subrogated to the victim's or claimant's
rights to recover compensation from collateral sources; such as, insurance payments, civil suit
recoveries, restitution orders, or settlements. Alabama law requires a victim or claimant who initiates
any legal proceeding to recover restitution or damages related to the victimization, provide the
Commission written notice of the action within fifteen days of filing the action. The Commission is
subrogated to the extent of any compensation awards resulting from the given victimization.
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Restitution
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Judges may order defendants to pay restitution to the victim for expenses incurred as a result of
the victimization. In cases where the Commission has awarded compensation, restitution may be
ordered directly to the Commission as reimbursement.

Donations

Alabama law allows the Commission to accept gifts and donations. The Commission is grateful
to those who have generously chosen to donate to the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation

Fund.

Federal Grant

In 1984, the United States Congress passed The Victims of Crime Act (VOCA). The U.S.
Department of Justice, as mandated by the VOCA legislation, collects fines and fees from offenders
convicted of federal violations. Each year these federal funds are made available to the various
states' crime victims’ compensation programs in the form of federal grants. The federal grant’s
calculation for funding to victim compensation programs is 75% of state-funded payouts.

' ' ' Office for Victims of Crime

JUSTICE FOR VICTIMS
JUSTICE FOR ALL
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How to Apply

A crime victim or their representative (claimant) makes application by completing and signing a
compensation application. An application may be obtained by calling (334) 290-4420 or toll-free
at 1-800-541-9388 (victims only). The application and other information about compensation is
available on the Commission website, www.acvcc.alabama.gov. Applications and brochures are
generally available at district attorneys' offices, sheriffs' offices, and police departments. Each district
attorney's office has a victim service officer (VSO) available to inform and assist victims with
compensation applications. The Commission's staff is also available to answer questions and assist
in completing the application. The application is available in English and Spanish. The Commission
offers free language assistance to persons with limited English proficiency.

Z
O
<
o
—
o
0
<

Eligibility

Any person who is an innocent victim of criminally injurious conduct and who has sustained
personal injuries as a result, a surviving spouse or child of a victim who died as a result of criminally
injurious conduct, or a person authorized to act on behalf of a victim or a dependent may be

eligible for compensation. Applicants must meet all eligibility criteria before compensation may be
awarded.

Compensation May Include

Currently, the maximum compensation is $15,000 with limitations on certain expenses. The
compensation may cover the following:

e Medical care—including doctor and hospital care, dental expenses, prescriptions, medical
supplies, inpatient psychiatric care, efc. This does not include expenses covered by
insurance. Medical expenses are reimbursed at a reduced rate.

e Counseling—including counselor, psychologist or psychiatric fees for counseling, unless
covered by another source. There is a maximum of fifty sessions or $6,250. Payments are
limited to $80 per hour for licensed professional counselors and social workers; $100 per
hour for psychologists; and $125 per hour for psychiatrists. The rate for group therapy is
$60 per hour.

e Funeral expenses—including funeral home expenses, cremation, burial expenses, and
monument up to $5,000 combined.

e  Work Loss—including the victim, claimant, or immediate family member's net (take-home)
weekly pay for a reasonable length of absence from work. There is a maximum of $400 per
week for work loss, annual leave, sick leave, personal leave or holiday, up to twenty-six
weeks may be considered.

e Rehabilitation—including vocational or physical therapy, if not covered by another source.

e  Moving—up to $1,000 total for security deposits, utility deposits, or moving costs may be
available in extreme circumstances when the victim is in imminent physical danger and the
offense occurred at the victim’s home.
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e Future economic loss—future expenses or losses to the victim or victim's dependents
resulting from the victimization. Losses must be justified with an explanation of how losses
were calculated.

e Replacement services loss—expenses the claimant would not have suffered had the victim
lived may not exceed $200 per week and is limited to a maximum of twenty-six weeks.

e Travel—expense incurred to obtain out-of-town medical or psychiatric care, to attend court
proceedings related to the victimization, or attend the victim’s funeral. Compensation is
based on current State of Alabama, in-state travel guidelines.
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The Commission compensates only those expenses not covered by another source, such as
insurance, workers' compensation, etc. The Commission will not award compensation if it results in
a double recovery for the victim or claimant. Stolen property, checks, and cash are not eligible for
compensation.

Supplemental Compensation

Provision is made for supplemental compensation, within the defined maximums, as additional
expenses arise. The victim or claimant need only submit the expense. The Executive Director will
review the supplemental request for eligibility.

Travel expenses to a parole hearing may also be considered as supplemental compensation. In
order to be eligible, the victim or claimant must have a timely, approved compensation claim.

Emergency Compensation

Provision is made for disbursement of emergency compensation, up to $1,000, in cases where
urgent need is substantiated and critical services cannot be obtained without payment.

Sexual Assault Forensic Exams

In July of 1995, Alabama law was amended to allow medical providers to submit bills for the
charges of forensic medical examinations for the purpose of gathering evidence and treatment for
preventing sexually transmitted infections in sexual abuse crimes and offenses.

The Commission also pays for the HIV prophylaxis. When medical personnel evaluate a sexual
assault victim, a forensic evidence kit is collected. The bill for these services is then submitted to the
Commission for payment consideration. This provision ensures sexual assault victims do not have to
pay for the collection of forensic evidence.

Sexual assault victims may be compensated for other eligible expenses incurred and are
encouraged to make application using the regular compensation application.
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Application Received

The processing of a compensation claim begins with the receipt of an application. The
application is date-stamped and given to an Administrative Support Assistant (ASA). The ASA enters
the application information in a claims management system and assigns a claim number. The ASA
reviews the application for completeness and mails a letter to the claimant confirming receipt of the
application. If additional information is needed from the claimant, it is requested in the receipt
confirmation letter. The claim is then given to a Crime Victim Compensation Specialist (Specialist)
for the verification process.

Verification

The claim is assigned to a Crime Victims Compensation Specialist. The Crime Victims
Compensation Specialist gathers relevant documents and information. He or she then compares the
facts and circumstances of the claim to the eligibility criteria. Then a summary statement of the
victimization is presented to the Executive Director for a final decision.
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Claim Decision

For approved compensation claims, a letter is sent to the claimant informing them of the
approval and any payment(s) made.

For approved, but reduced compensation claims, a certified letter is sent to the claimant
explaining the reason for the reduction and any payment(s) made.

For not approved compensation claims, a certified letter is sent to the claimant explaining the
reason for the determination.

Notification of the eligibility determination and payment(s) is also sent to the appropriate district

attorney’s office, probation office, and court clerk’s office. This information is provided to assist at
any restitution hearings related to the victimization.

Commission Meetings

The Commission holds quarterly open, public meeting, at its office in Montgomery. Meetings
are published on the Alabama Secretary of State’s website in compliance with the Open Meetings
Act. Special-called meetings are also published on the Alabama Secretary of State’s website.

https://www.openmeetings.alabama.gov/generalpublic/display_notices.aspx

ALABAMA OPEN MR .o

SECRETARY OF STATE

MEETINGS ACT g
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Eligibility Criteria

e The victim must have suffered bodily injury or psychological injury as the result of a direct,
face-to-face threat of physical injury, or actual physical injury or death as a result of the
criminal actions of another.

e The incident must have occurred on or after June 01, 1984.

e The claimant must submit a signed and notarized claim application.

e The claimant/victim must be a United States citizen, legally present in the United States, or
an alien eligible for public benefits. Victims of domestic violence and victims of human
tracking are considered aliens eligible for public benefits.

e Proof of U.S. citizenship, legal presence in the U.S., or proof of being an alien eligible for
public benefits must be provided for every claimant/victim.

e The incident must have been reported within 72 hours after its occurrence or the
Commission must find there was good cause for the failure to report within that time.

e The application must be filed within one (1) year of the incident unless the Commission finds
there was good cause for the failure to report within that time.

e The claimant or victim must cooperate fully with law enforcement and the Commission staff.

e The Commission will not pay for expenses covered by a collateral source. For example,
insurance, and/or restitution from the offender.

e The victim or claimant must not be the offender or an accomplice of the offender. For
example, a victim who was committing a robbery when he/she was injured would not be
eligible for compensation benefits.

e No portion of the compensation benefits shall benefit the offender or accomplice.

e Applicants who commit criminally injurious conduct or are convicted of a felony after
making application for compensation benefits are ineligible for compensation benefits.

e A claim may be reduced or denied if it is determined that the claimant/victim contributed to
the criminally injurious conduct.
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Appeal

If a cloimant disagrees with the Commission's decision regarding his/her claim’s eligibility, the
claimant may request an appeal. The request for an appeal must be made to the Commission in
writing and must be signed by the claimant. The Commission must receive the appeal request within
thirty days of the claimant's notification of the decision.

When a timely request for an appeal is received, the claim is placed on the Commission's
appeal docket. The Commission sends the claimant notice of the hearing via certified and regular
mail. The Notice of Administrative Appeal Hearing advises the claimant of the procedure for the
hearing and the Commission's assertions of fact and law.

The hearings are presided over by a governmental hearing officer; however, the three-member
Commission renders the final decision in the appeal hearing. After the Commission renders its final
decision, a Final Order, detailing the Commission's findings is prepared and sent to the claimant
via certified mail.
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Commission Publications

The Commission publishes numerous brochures about victims’ rights and issues. Some of these
were created by the Commission and some were made available by a grant from the Office for
Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Many brochures are also
available in Spanish. The Commission also publishes the book, What's Left After Crime2 HOPE!!.
Publications may be obtained by contacting the Commission's office, downloading them from
acvce.alabama.gov, or attending the Commission's training events. The publications are provided
to claimants, victims, and allied professionals free of charge.
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Persons with Limited English Proficiency

The Commission provides Persons with Limited English Proficiency with meaningful access to its
services. Free language assistance is provided during every stage of the compensation process.
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FINANCIAL SUMMARY

OCTOBER 01, 2022 TO SEPTEMBER 30, 2023

=

— RECEIPTS

<E Court Fees - City 826,254.71

U Court Fees - County 867,979.59

— Restitution 182,772.03

I_ Victim Assessment Fees 749,933.68

(/) Civil Suits 11,037.40

— Interest from Investment Holdings 439,842.55

I— Legislative Appropriation - VOCAL 1,100,000.00
Federal VOCA Funds 799,000.00
Miscellaneous 289.50

TOTAL 4,977,109.46

DISBURSEMENTS

Awards Paid to Victims of Violent Crime 1,336,378.26
Sexual Assault Forensic Exams 593,351.92
Prior Year Expenditures 0.00
Bank Charges/Fees 21,238.86
Unclaimed Property 4,190.66
Miscellaneous Expenditures 1,920.42

Administrative Costs

Personnel Costs 1,166,753.15
Employee Benefits 447,074.84
Travel - In-state 1,784.96
Travel - Out of state 0.00
Repairs & Maintenance 24,949.42
Rentals & Leases 12,175.40
Utilities & Communication 67,170.40
Professional Senices 103,328.87
Office Supplies 36,627.37
Transportation Costs 4,474.17
VOCAL 100,000.00
Capital Outlay 0.00
Transportation Equipment 0.00
Office Equipment 344.98
Total Administrative Costs 1,964,683.56
TOTAL 3,921,763.68
Surplus/Shortage 1,055,345.78
CASH BALANCE
Balance as of October 1, 2022 4,903,244.95
Surplus/Shortage of Receipts over Disbursements 1,055,345.78
BALANCE AS OF SEPTEMBER 30, 2023 5,958,590.73

14 THE ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION [ ANNUAL REPORT 2023



INITIAL CLAIMS RECEIVED & PAID

FY
13/14
14/15
15/16
16/17
17/18
18/19
19/20
20/21
21/22
22/23

TOTAL

SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAMS PAID

DOLLARS PAID

FY

15/16
16/17
17/18
18/19
19/20
20/21
21/22
22/23

TOTAL

RECEIVED

2,091
2,102
2,454
2,571
2,562
2,743
2,201
2,185
2,224
2,457

23,590

RECEIVED

796
1,024
1,086
1,054
1,198
1,095
1,015
1,141
1,270

9,679

DOLLARS PAID

$2,866,179
$2,644,232
$2,325,687
$3,244,156
$5,065,340
$2,717,728
$2,045,088
$1,813,637
$1,415,484
$1,336,378

$25,473,909

$520,571
$411,943
$627,542
$600,208
$588,704
$490,878
$594,785
$501,381
$593,352

$4,929,364

IV IVDILSILVLS
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STATISTICAL DATA

OCTOBER 1, 2022 TO SEPTEMBER 30, 2023

Claims Received (Initial and Supplemental)

ATISTCAL DATA

Assault 721
Homicide 466
Sexual Assault Forensic Exams (SAFE) 1270
TOTAL 2457

Claims Approved

Assault 508
Homicide 438
Sexual Assault Forensic Exams (SAFE) 1342
TOTAL 2288

Claims Not Approved

Assault 396

Homicide 147

Sexual Assault Forensic Exams (SAFE) 61

TOTAL 604
Claims Processed (Does not include claims the Commission Held for Trial/Information)

Assault 904

Homicide 585

Sexual Assault Forensic Exams (SAFE) 1403

TOTAL 2892
Emergency Awards Issued 40
Claims Pending at Fiscal Year-end 1496
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APPROVED INITIAL CLAIMS

BY PRIMARY OFFENSE

Sexual Assault Forensic Exam 1338 |Burglary 7
Murder - Non-Family 301 DUI/DWI 6
Assault - Non-Family 226 |Harassment 5
Domestic Violence 55 Child Rape 4
Capital Murder 33 Child Sexual Abuse - Family 3
Murder - Family 31 Accident - No Known Crime 3
Attempted Murder - Non-Family 31 Kidnapping 2
Sexual Assault 22 Other 2
Assault - Family 20 Leaving Scene of Accident 2
Vehicular Assault 19 |Arson 2
Robbery 11 Adult Sodomy - Non-Family 2
Vehicular Homicide 9 Criminally Negligent Homicide 2
Manslaughter 9 Attempted Rape (Adult-Non-Family) 1
Attempted Murder - Family 7 Aggravated Child Abuse 1
Shoot Occupd Vehicle-Dwelling 6 Child Sexual Abuse - Nonfamily 1
Adult Rape 5

Court-Ordered Fines & Fees Received

FY  Court Fees - City

Court Fees - County  Victim Assessment Fees

Restitution Recovery

Total

$1,229,494 $944,040 $1,032,510 $180,021 $3,386,065
14/15]  $1,152,974 $956,191 $1,087,702 $178,244 $3,375,111
15/16] $1,045,407 $898,903 $1,010,010 $175,394 $3,129,714
16/17 $993,287 $847,615 $929,682 $206,385 $2,976,969
17/18 $957,956 $789,803 $882,112 $187,034 $2,816,905
18/19 $977,088 $753,617 $824,234 $187,735 $2,742,674
19/20 $802,346 $677,232 $721,188 $154,321 $2,355,087
20/21 $858,453 $832,141 $764,242 $209,463 $2,664,299
21/22 $821,119 $835,017 $740,498 $186,934 $2,583,568
22/23 $826,255 $867,980 $749,934 $182,772 $2,626,941

IV TVDILSILVLS
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CLAIMS RECEIVED BY COUNTY

INITIAL
COUNTY HOMICIDE ASSAULT SAFE TOTAL
Autauga 17
Baldwin 77
Barbour 7
Bessemer 22
Bibb 10
Blount 13
Bullock 4
Butler 5
Calhoun 28
Chambers 13
Cherokee
Chilton
Choctaw
Clarke
Clay
Cleburne
Coffee
Colbert
Conecuh
Coosa
Covington
Crenshaw
Cullman
Dale
Dallas
DeKalb
Elmore
Escambia
Etowah
Fayette
Franklin
Geneva
Greene
Hale
Henry
Houston
Jackson
Jefferson
Lamar
Lauderdale
Lawrence
)
Limestone
Lowndes
Macon
Madison
Marengo
Marion
Marshall
Mobile
Monroe
Montgomery
Morgan
Perry
Pickens
Pike
Randolph
Russell
Shelby
St Clair
Sumter
Talladega
Tallapoosa
Tuscaloosa
Walker
Washington
Wilcox
Winston
Out-of-State
TOTAL
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DOLLARS APPROVED BY COUNTY

COUNTY TOTAL
Autauga $25,451.40
Baldwin $41,315.08
Barbour $6,215.00
Bessemer $20,354.58
Bibb $3,450.00
Blount $5,500.00
Bullock -$2,237.00
Butler $4,100.85
Calhoun $5,720.36
Chambers $3,355.78
Cherokee $1,350.00
Chilton $4,500.00
Choctaw $550.00
Clarke $5,617.44
Clay $2,664.17
Cleburne $800.00
Coffee $11,374.86
Colbert $23,622.03
Conecuh $15,015.00
Coosa $1,100.00
Covington $10,640.00
Crenshaw $4,050.00
Cullman $40,102.19
Dale $4,056.04
Dallas $77,604.07
DeKalb $5,900.00
Elmore $7,235.07
Escambia $11,395.23
Etowah $4,005.84
Fayette $850.00
Franklin $10,781.31
Geneva $2,516.09
Greene $550.00
Hale $18,680.55
Henry $5,204.25
Houston $60,027.76
Jackson $9,554.40
Jefferson $393,597.42
Lamar $300.00
Lauderdale $22,277.63
Lawrence $9,415.00
Lee $46,330.91
Limestone $9,065.00
Lowndes $8,383.05
Macon $28,002.74
Madison $83,824.27
Marengo $9,330.56
Marion $3,700.00
Marshall $13,080.81
Mobile $240,798.34
Monroe $11,459.32
Montgomery $337,017.54
Morgan $23,146.83
Perry $10,256.53
Pickens $1,850.00
Pike $9,333.00
Randolph $2,700.00
Russell $21,414.12
Shelby $17,690.34
St Clair $19,028.80
Sumter $4,626.28
Talladega $33,635.65
Tallapoosa $13,142.18
Tuscaloosa $73,803.05
Walker $13,143.37
Washington $917.70
Wilcox $2,550.00
Winston $1,800.00
QOvut-of-State $550.00

TOTAL $1,919,142.79
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APPROVED INITIAL CLAIMS

RACE

TISTICAL DATA

White
44.59%

Hispanic
4.72%
Asian/Pacific American/Alaskan
Islander Indian
0.21% 0.42%
Other
0.88%

W

49.19%
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APPROVED INITIAL CLAIMS

AGE

@ WVDILSILYLS

65 and over

51 thru 64 2.07%

7.31%

18 and under
29.43%

31 thru 50
28.70%

////
19 thru 30
32.49%
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APPROVED INITIAL CLAIMS
GENDER

TISTICAL DATA

Male
35%

Female
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NON-APPROVED INITIAL CLAIMS

BY REASON*

1V TVDILSIIVIS

Lack of Cooperation - ACVCC 249
Lack of Cooperation - Law Enforcement 135
Non-Criminally Injurious Conduct 130
Contribution 118
Past 1-Year Deadline 78
Other 74
Felony Exclusion/Victim 42
Collateral Source 38
lllegal Activity 38
Not Reported within 72 Hours 35
Not Legal Claimant 23
Felony Exclusion/Claimant 17
Application Withdrawn 8

Benefit Alleged Offender 4

False Information 2

Criminally Injurious Conduct Conviction/Victim 1

* Claims with multiple reasons for non-approval are counted once in each reason category
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ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION ACT
Section 15-23-1
Short title.
This article shall be known and may be cited as the "Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Act."

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §1.)
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Section 15-23-2

Legislative findings, etc.

The Legislature hereby finds, determines and declares that victims of violent crime are often reduced to
bereft and destitute circumstances as a result of the criminal acts perpetrated against them, that the
financial or economic resources of such victims and their dependents are in many instances distressed or
depleted as a result of injuries inflicted upon them by violent criminals.

That the general social and economic welfare of such victims and their dependents is and ought to be
intimately affected with the public interest, that the deplorable plight of these unfortunate citizens should

not go unnoticed by our institutions and agencies of government.

The Legislature hereby further finds, determines and declares that it is to the benefit of all that victims of
violence and their dependents be assisted financially and socially whenever possible.

To this end the Legislature intends to provide a means whereby victims of violent crime and their
dependents may be provided compensation in the amount of actual expenses incurred as a direct result of

criminal acts of other persons.

The provisions of this article are to be construed so as to accomplish this purpose and to promote the
same which is hereby declared to be the public policy of this state.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §2.)
Section 15-23-3

Definitions.

As used in this article the following words shall include, but are not limited to the following meanings
unless the context clearly requires a different meaning:

(1) COMMISSION. The Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission as created by Section 15-
23-4.

(2) CRIMINALLY INJURIOUS CONDUCT. Criminally injurious conduct includes any of the following
acts:
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a. An act occurring or attempted within the geographical boundaries of this state which results in serious
personal injury or death to a victim for which punishment by fine, imprisonment, or death may be
imposed.

b. An act occurring or attempted outside the geographical boundaries of this state in another state of the
United States of America which is punishable by fine, imprisonment, or death and which results in
personal injury or death to a citizen of this state, and shall include an act of terrorism, as defined in
Section 2331 of Title 18, United States Code, committed outside of the United States, against a resident
of this state; provided however, the citizen at the time such act was committed had a permanent place of
residence within the geographical boundaries of this state, and in addition thereto any of the following
circumstances apply, that the citizen:

vaviy 40 300D

1. Had a permanent place of employment located within the geographical boundaries of this state.

2. Was a member of the regular Armed Forces of the United States of America; or the United States Coast
Guard; or was a full-time member of the Alabama National Guard, Alabama Air National Guard, U.S.
Army Reserve, U.S. Naval Reserve, or U.S. Air Force Reserve.

3. Was retired and receiving Social Security or other retirement income.
4. Was 60 years of age or older.

5. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of receiving medical
treatment.

6. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of performing
employment-related duties required by an employer located within the geographical boundaries of this
state as an express condition of employment or employee benefits.

7. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of receiving
occupational, vocational, or other job-related training or instruction required by an employer located
within the geographical boundaries of this state as an express condition of employment or employee
benefits.

8. Was a full-time student at an academic institution, college, or university located in another state of the
United States of America.

9. Had not departed the geographical boundaries of this state for a period exceeding 30 days or with the
intention of becoming a citizen of another state or establishing a permanent place of residence in another
state.

The term "criminally injurious conduct” shall not mean: An act committed outside the geographical
boundaries of this state upon a person who was not at the time a citizen of Alabama, or an act committed
outside the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who at the time had departed the
geographical boundaries of this state for the purpose of becoming a citizen of, or establishing a permanent
place of residence in, another state.

(3) VICTIM. A person who suffered serious personal injury or death as a result of criminally injurious
conduct.
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(4) DEPENDENT. A natural person wholly or partially dependent upon the victim for care or support,
and includes a child of the victim born after the death of the victim where the death occurred as a result of
criminally injurious conduct.

(5) CLAIMANT. Any of the following persons applying for compensation under this article:

a. A victim.

b. A dependent of a deceased victim, if such victim died as a result of criminally injurious conduct.
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¢. A person authorized to act on behalf of a victim or a dependent of a deceased victim if such victim died
as a result of criminally injurious conduct.

(6) ALLOWANCE EXPENSE. Charges incurred for needed products, services, and accommodations,
including, but not limited to, medical care, rehabilitation, rehabilitative occupational rehabilitation,
rehabilitative occupational training, and other remedial treatment and care. It also includes a total charge
not in excess of seven thousand dollars ($7,000) for expenses related to funeral, cremation, or burial.

(7) WORK LOSS. Loss of income from work the victim or claimant would have performed if the victim
had not been injured or died, reduced by any income from substitute work actually performed by the
victim or claimant or by income the victim or claimant would have earned in available appropriate
substitute work which he or she was capable of performing but unreasonably failed to undertake. Work
loss also includes loss of income of an offender charged with domestic violence under Sections 13A-6-
130, 13A-6-131, and 13A-6-132 when the victim was residing with the offender at the time of
commission of the offense and the offender's income was a significant source of direct support for the
victim.

(8) REPLACEMENT SERVICES LOSS. Expenses reasonably incurred in obtaining ordinary and
necessary services in lieu of those the victim would have performed, not for income, but for the benefit of
self or family, if the victim had not been injured or died.

(9) ECONOMIC LOSS OF A DEPENDENT. A loss after the death or injury of the victim of
contributions of things of economic value to the dependent, not including services which would have been
received from the victim if he or she had not suffered the fatal injury, less expenses of the dependent
avoided by reason of death or injury of the victim.

(10) REPLACEMENT SERVICES LOSS OF DEPENDENT. The loss reasonably incurred by
dependents after death of the victim in obtaining ordinary and necessary services in lieu of those the
deceased victim would have performed for their benefit had the deceased victim not suffered the fatal
injury, less expenses of the dependent avoided by reason of death of the victim and not subtracted in
calculating the economic loss of the dependent.

(11) ECONOMIC LOSS. Monetary detriment consisting only of allowable expense, work loss,
replacement services loss and, if injury causes death, economic loss and replacement services loss of a
dependent, but shall not include noneconomic loss or noneconomic detriment.

(12) NONECONOMIC LOSS or DETRIMENT. Pain, suffering, inconvenience, physical impairment, and
nonpecuniary damage.
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(13) COLLATERAL SOURCE. Source of income, financial or other benefits or advantages for economic
loss other than the compensation paid by the compensation commission which the claimant has received
or is entitled to receive or is readily available to the claimant, from any one or more of the following:

a. The offender.

b. The government of the United States or any agency thereof, in the form of benefits, such as Social
Security, Medicare and Medicaid, a state or any of its political subdivisions or an instrumentality of two
or more states, unless the law providing for the benefits or advantages makes them excessive or secondary
to benefits under this article.

vaviy 40 300D

¢. Any temporary nonoccupational disability insurance.
d. Workers' compensation.
e. Wage continuation programs of any employer.

f. Proceeds of a contract of insurance payable to the claimant for loss which the victim sustained because
of the criminally injurious conduct.

g. A contract providing prepaid hospital and other health care services or benefits for disability.

(14) OFFICE OF PROSECUTION SERVICES. The Office of Prosecution Services as established by
Section 12-17-230.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §3; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 993, §1; Acts 1990, No. 90-470, p. 677,
§1; Act 98-492, p. 945, §I: Act 2014-335, §1.)

Section 15-23-4

Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission - Created; composition; meetings;
rules and regulations; bond; compensation.

a) The Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission is created and shall be composed of three
residents of this state, who shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate,
for terms of four years each or until their successors are appointed and qualified. Provided however,
initial appointments shall be as follows: One member shall be appointed for two years, one member shall
be appointed for three years, and one member shall be appointed for four years. All appointments to fill
vacancies shall be for the duration of the unexpired term and subsequent appointments shall be for four-
year terms. The membership of the board shall be inclusive and the Governor shall coordinate his or her
appointments so that the diversity of gender, race, and geographical areas is reflective of the makeup of
this state.

(b) At least one member shall be a law enforcement officer with a minimum of 10 years' experience in or
with a law enforcement agency which has among its primary duties and responsibilities the investigation

of violent crimes and the apprehension or arrest of the perpetrators.

(c) At least one member shall be a victim of a crime of violence who suffered serious personal injury as a
result of the crime, a member of a victim's immediate family or a member of a deceased victim's
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immediate family if the deceased victim died as a result of a crime of violence, or an officer of a nonprofit
charitable crime victims organization established pursuant to the laws of Alabama.

(d) Each year the commission shall elect a chair from its membership.

(e) The commission may appoint an executive director who shall serve at the pleasure of the commission
and shall be paid a salary in an amount to be determined by the commission.

(f) The commission shall have its principal place of business in the county where the State Capitol is
located.
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(2) The commission shall quarterly hold, at its principal place of business public meetings at times and
places as its members may elect.

(h) Any two members of the commission shall constitute a quorum for purposes of transacting the
business of the commission and two votes in favor shall be necessary for a decision by the commission at
any meeting of the commission.

(i) The commission shall establish rules and regulations for the administration of its duties and
responsibilities pursuant to this chapter.

() The chair of the commission shall keep a true record of all of the proceedings of the meetings of the
commission. At the call of any member, the vote on any pending question shall be taken by ayes and
nays, and the same shall be entered in the record. The record of the proceedings of the commission shall
be open to any member of the commission and to the public . A copy of the record, certified by the chair,
shall be competent evidence in all courts.

(k) The commission may not disclose the names and addresses of victims or claimants who have applied
for compensation pursuant to this article or the facts or circumstances of the criminally injurious conduct
perpetrated against them.

(1) All members and emplovees of the commission handling money or exercising authority over any
property, before entering the discharge of their duties, shall provide a bond with a surety company
authorized to do business in this state, as surety, payable to the commission in an amount or amounts
sufficient to protect the commission against any loss with respect to the funds, money, or property
handled, conditioned for the faithful discharge of their duties and responsibilities and further conditioned
upon their faithfully accounting for all monies, funds, or properties coming into their possession in the
capacity of their employment.

(m) The Attorney General or the district attorney of the county where the State Capitol is located, upon
written request by the commission, shall represent the commission in all litigation where the commission
is a party or in which the commission has an interest. The Attorney General shall serve as a legal advisor
to the commission.

(n) All commission members shall be paid two hundred fifty dollars ($250) per day and mileage for
attendance of commission meetings. Mileage and per diem shall be the same as allowed state employees
when a commission member is traveling on official business of the commission and shall be paid from the
Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Fund.
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(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §4; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 993, §2; Act 98-492, p. 945, §1; Act
2009-749, p. 2268, §1; Act 2022-196, §1.)

Section 15-23-5
Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission - Powers and duties.

The commission shall have all the powers and privileges of a corporation and all of its business shall be
transacted in the name of the commission. In addition to any other powers and duties specified elsewhere
in this article, the commission may do any of the following:

(1) Regulate its own procedures except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

(2) Define any term not defined in this article.

(3) Prescribe forms necessary to carry out the purposes of this article.

(4) Obtain access to investigative reports made by law enforcement officers or law enforcement agencies
which may be necessary to assist the commission in making a determination of eligibility for
compensation under this article; provided, however, the reports and the information contained herein,
when received by the commission, shall be confidential and under no circumstances may the commission
disclose the same except to a grand jury.

(5) Take judicial notice of general, technical, and scientific facts within their specialized knowledge.

(6) Publicize the availability of compensation and information regarding the filing of claims.

(7) Collect all monies provided by this article to be collected by the commission.

(8) Provide for and maintain all necessary administrative facilities and personnel.

(9) Provide for payment of all administrative salaries, fees, and expenses.

(10) Cause its monies to be invested and its investments sold or exchanged and the proceeds and income
collected.

(11) Determine who is a victim or dependent.
(12) Consider all applications for compensation or other benefits provided for in this article.

(13) a. Authorize the executive director to determine eligibility for all applications for compensation and
authorize payment for approved and reduced claims.

b. The commission shall review all contested cases pursuant to the Alabama Administrative Procedure
Act. The commission may affirm, reverse, or modify the executive director's claims decisions.

(14) Adopt rules to expedite the administration of the affairs of the commission not inconsistent with this
article.
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(15) Provide descriptive literature and promotional items respecting the commission and its duties.

(16) Pay all compensation or other benefits that may be determined to be due under this article and under
the rules of the commission.

(17) Employ agents, attorneys, actuaries, and other specialized personnel as needed by the commission.

(18) Receive by gift, grant, devise, or bequest any monies or properties of any nature or description.
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(19) Accept and administer loans, grants, and donations from the federal government, its agencies, and all
other sources, public and private, for carrying out any of its functions.

(20) Develop a comprehensive analysis of the problems regarding victims of crime within the criminal
justice system or systems of this state and formulate model programs, plans, or methods for lessening the
physical, mental, or financial burdens placed on innocent crime victims by the operation of the criminal
justice system both on the state and local level.

(21) Identify laws, rules, or regulations proposed or adopted by any agency or institution of this state or
any political subdivision thereof which have or will have a significant adverse or beneficial impact upon
crime victims and to advocate the adoption, repeal, or modification thergof in the interest of innocent
victims of crime.

(22) Collect, develop, and maintain statistical information, records, and reports to carry out its powers,
duties, or functions pursuant to this article. All agencies and institutions of this state or the political
subdivisions thereof, upon a written request by the commission, shall furnish the commission statistical
information or data as requested by the commission to fulfill its duties and responsibilities.

(23) Award loans or grants of money, equipment, or personnel to public or private nonprofit corporations
or associations, agencies of the State of Alabama or political subdivisions thereof, or to state, county, or
municipal law enforcement, prosecutorial, or judicial agencies upon terms and conditions as the
commission may deem proper for the purpose of developing, enhancing, or establishing bona fide model
crime victims service programs which emphasize the collection of restitution from criminals as an integral
part of the criminal justice process. The loans or grants shall only be awarded when sufficient funds are
available in excess of reasonably anticipated or projected claims for compensation.

(24) Provide for the cost of forensic medical examinations for the purpose of gathering evidence and
treatment for preventing sexually transmitted infections in sexual abuse crimes and offenses.

(25) Carry out any powers expressly granted elsewhere in this article to the commission.
(26) All other powers necessary for the proper administration of this article.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §5; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 993, §3; Acts 1990, No. 90-470, p. 677,
$2; Acts 1995, No. 95-494, p. 994, §1; Act 2014-3353, p. 1232, §1; Act 2022-196, §1.)

Section 15-23-6

Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission - Annual report required.
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The commission shall publish annually a report showing the fiscal transactions of the commission for the
preceding year, the amount of the accumulated cash and securities of the commission and a balance sheet
showing the financial condition of the commission by means of an actuarial evaluation of the assets and
liabilities of the commission.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §6.)

Section 15-23-7

Audit of financial affairs of commission authorized.

The Director of the Department of Examiners of Public Accounts shall at least once a year and at such
other times as such director shall deem appropriate cause to be performed a detailed audit of the financial
affairs of the commission and shall promptly notify the appropriate grand jury as to any possible
violations of law.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §7.)

Section 15-23-§

Compensation for economic loss resulting from criminal conduct - Authorized; procedure.

(a) The commission may award compensation for economic loss arising from criminally injurious
conduct if satisfied by a preponderance of the evidence that the requirements for compensation have been

met.

(b) The commission shall hear and determine all matters relating to claims for compensation, and shall
have the power to reinvestigate or reopen claims without regard to statutes of limitation.

(c¢) The commission shall have the power to subpoena witnesses, compel their attendance, require the
production of records and other evidence, administer oaths or affirmations, conduct hearings and receive
relevant evidence.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §8.)

Section 15-23-9

Compensation for economic loss resulting from criminal conduct - Collateral source contribution
not required.

The commission shall not require any claimant to seek or accept any collateral source contribution, unless
the claimant was receiving or was entitled to receive such benefits prior to the occurrence giving rise to
the claim under the provisions of this article; provided, however, no applicant shall be denied
compensation solely because such applicant is entitled to income from a collateral source.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §9.)

Section 15-23-10
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Com pensation for economic loss resulting from criminal conduct - Hearing required generally;
procedure in contested cases; settlement by consent order, etc.

(a) Every party to a claim shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard and to offer evidence
and argument on any issue relevant to the claim, and to examine witnesses and offer evidence in reply to
any matter of an evidentiary nature in the record relevant to the claim.

(b) In a contested case, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity for hearing after reasonable notice
pursuant to regulations promulgated by the commission. A record of the proceedings of the hearing in a
contested case shall be made and shall be transcribed upon request of any party who shall pay
transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the commission.

(c) The commission may, without a hearing, settle a claim by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order
or default.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §10.)

Section 15-23-11

Filing claim under article constitutes waiver of physician-patient privilege.

(a) Any person filing a claim under the provisions of this article shall be deemed to have waived any
physician-patient privilege as to communications or records relevant to an issue of the physical, mental or
emotional conditions of the claimant.

(b) If the mental, physical or emotional condition of a claimant is material to a claim, the commission
upon physical examination may order an autopsy of a deceased victim. The order shall specify the time,
place, manner, conditions and scope of the examination or autopsy and the person by whom it is to be
made. The order shall also require the person to file with the commission a detailed written report of the
examination or autopsy. The report shall set out the findings of the person making the report, including
results of all tests made, diagnoses, prognoses and other conclusions and reports of earlier examinations

of the same conditions.

(c) The commission, upon request, shall furnish the victim a copy of such report. If the victim is deceased,
the commission, on request, shall furnish a copy of the report to the claimant.

(d) The commission may require the claimant to supply any additional medical or psychological reports
available relating to the injury or death for which compensation is claimed.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §11.)
Section 15-23-12
When compensation not awarded, diminished, etc.; reconsideration of award.

(a) Compensation shall not be awarded in any of the following circumstances:

32 THE ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION [ ANNUAL REPORT 2023



(1) A claim has been filed with the commission later than one year after the injury or death upon which
the claim is based, unless the commission finds there was good cause for the failure to file within that
time.

(2) To a claimant who was the offender, or an accomplice of the offender, or who encouraged or in any
way participated in the criminally injurious conduct.

(3) If the award would unjustly benefit the offender or accomplice of the offender.

(4) The criminally injurious conduct resulting in injury or death was reported to a law enforcement officer
later than 72 hours after its occurrence, unless the commission finds there was good cause for the failure
to report within that time.
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(b) Compensation otherwise payable to a claimant may be diminished or denied to the extent that the
economic loss is recouped from collateral sources; or to the extent that the degree of responsibility for the
cause of the injury or death is attributable to the victim as determined by the commission.

(c) The commission, upon finding that the claimant or victim has not fully cooperated with appropriate
law enforcement agencies, may deny, withdraw, or reduce an award of compensation.

(d) The commission, on its own motion or on request of the claimant, may reconsider a decision granting
or denying an award or determining its amount. An order on reconsideration of an award shall not require
a refund of amounts previously paid, unless the award was obtained by fraud. The right of reconsideration
does not affect the finality of a commission decision for the purpose of judicial review.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §12; Acts 1990, No. 90-476, p. 677, §3; Acts 1995, No. 95-494, p. 994,
§2; Act 98-492, p. 945, §1.)

Section 15-23-13

Award not contingent on prosecution or conviction of offender; effect of proof of conviction;
suspension of proceedings under article.

Except as provided elsewhere in this article, an award may be made whether or not any person is
prosecuted or convicted. Proof of conviction of a person whose acts give rise to a claim is conclusive
evidence that the crime was committed, unless an application for rehearing, an appeal of the conviction or
certiorari is pending, or a rehearing or new trial has been ordered. The commission may suspend the
proceedings pending disposition of criminal prosecution that has been commenced or is imminent, but
may make a tentative award under this section.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §13.)
Section 15-23-14

Award of compensation subrogates commission to rights of claimant as to collateral source; funds
recovered from collateral source held in trust for commission; disposition of trust funds; notice of
action to recover damages; restitution hearings.
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(a) If compensation is awarded, the commission shall be subrogated to all the rights of a claimant to
receive or recover from a collateral source to the extent that compensation was awarded.

(b) In the event the claimant recovers compensation, other than under the provisions of this article, for
injuries or death resulting from criminally injurious conduct, the claimant shall retain, as trustee for the
commission, so much of the recovered funds as necessary to reimburse the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Fund to the extent that compensation was awarded to the claimant from that fund. The
funds retained in trust shall be promptly paid over to the commission and deposited in the Alabama Crime
Victims Compensation Fund.

Whenever the commission shall deem it necessary to protect, maintain or enforce the commission's right
to subrogation or to exercise any of its powers or to carry out any of its duties or responsibilities the
commission may initiate legal proceedings or intervene in legal proceedings.

(¢) If a claimant initiates any legal proceeding to recover restitution or damages related to the criminally
injurious conduct upon which compensation is claimed or awarded, the claimant shall give the
commission written notice within 15 days of the filing of the action. The commission may intervene in
the proceeding as a complainant to recover the compensation awarded. If a claimant fails to give such
written notice to the commission within the stated time period, or prior to any attempt by claimant to
reach a negotiated settlement of claims for recovery of damages related to the criminally injurious
conduct, the commission's right of subrogation to receive or recover funds from claimant, to the extent
that compensation was awarded by the commission, shall not be reduced in any amount or percentage by
the costs incurred by claimant attributable to such legal proceedings or settlement; including, but not
limited to, attorney's fee, expert witness fees, investigative costs or cost of court. If such notice is given,
attorney fees may be awarded in an amount not to exceed 15 percent of the amount subrogated to the
commission.

(d) Whenever compensation is awarded to a claimant who is entitled to restitution from a criminal
defendant, the commission may initiate restitution hearings in such criminal proceedings or intervene in
the same. The commission shall be entitled to receive restitution in such proceedings to the extent that
compensation was awarded. The commission shall be subrogated to all the rights and remedies of such
claimant for the collection of restitution to the extent compensation was awarded; provided however, the
commission shall be exempt from the payment of any fees or other charges for the recording of restitution
orders in the offices of the judges of probate.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §14; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 993, §4; Acts 1990, No. 90-470, p. 677,
§4)

Section 15-23-15

Amount and method of compensation; future economic loss generally; exem ption from state and
local taxes, etc.

(a) Compensation for work loss, replacement services loss, dependent's economic loss, and dependent's
replacement services loss may not exceed six hundred dollars ($600) per week.

(b) Compensation payable to a victim and to all other claimants sustaining economic loss because of
injury to or death of that victim may not exceed twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) in the aggregate.
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(¢) The commission may provide for the payment to a claimant in a lump sum or in installments. At the
request of the claimant, the commission may convert future economic loss, other than allowable expense,
to a lump sum, but only upon a finding by the commission that the award in a lump sum will promote the
interests of the claimant.

(d) An award payable in installments for future economic loss may be made only for a period as to which
the commission can reasonably determine future economic loss. An award payable in installments for
future economic loss may be modified by the commission upon its findings that a material and substantial
change of circumstances has occurred.

(¢) An award shall not be subject to state or municipal taxation or to execution, attachment, or
garnishment, except as the same may pertain to an obligation for the support of dependent children or as
the same may pertain to a creditor which has provided products, services, or accommodations, the costs of
which are included in the award.
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(f) An assignment by the claimant to any future award under the provisions of this article is
unenforceable, except any of the following assignments:

(1) An assignment of any award for work loss to assure payment of court-ordered child support.

(2) An assignment of any award for an allowable expense to the extent that the benefits are for the cost of
products, services, or accommodations necessitated by the injury or death on which the claim is based and
are provided or to be provided by the assignee.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §15; Acts 1990, No. 90-470, p. 677, §5; Act 98-492, p. 945, §1; Act
2014-335, §1.)

Section 15-23-16

Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Fund; created; purposes; composition; administered or
managed by commission.

(a) There is hereby established a special fund to be known as the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation
Fund.

(b) The fund shall be placed under the management or administration of the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission for purposes of providing compensation or other benefits to crime victims
and for purposes of implementing this article.

(¢) The fund shall consist of all moneys collected or received by the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission from any source.

(d) The commission shall have control of the funds not inconsistent with this article and with the laws of
Alabama.

(¢) All moneys of the commission shall be covered into the State Treasury or deposited in a special trust
account and may be withdrawn therefrom by vouchers or check signed by the chair of the commission
pursuant to authorization given by the commissioner. All investments of moneys in the fund shall be
either deposited with the State Treasurer for safekeeping upon receipt of the State Treasurer therefor or
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deposited with the bank in a custodial account. The commission shall have authority to expend moneys in
the fund in accordance with this article and to invest any moneys so received pending other needs therefor
in any investments which are legal investments for insurance companies under the laws of the state.

(f) No member of the commission shall have any interest in the investments or receive any commission
with respect thereto.

(g) It shall be the duty of the commission to keep detailed permanent records of all expenditures and
disbursements from the fund.

(h) The commission is authorized to accept and use funds available to it from all sources, such as grants,
appropriations, gifts, donations, and other sources for purposes of implementing this article.

(i) The commission may not award any moneys for the six months immediately following passage of this
article.

(j) The commission may not award or promise to award more moneys than are available in the fund.
(k) The commission shall not spend more than 25 percent of its funds for administrative costs.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §16; Acts 1995, No. 95-494, p. 994, §3.)

Section 15-23-17

Assessment of additional costs and penalties; collection and disposition of additional assessments,
etc.

(a) In all criminal and quasi-criminal proceedings for the violation of laws of the state or municipal
ordinances which are tried in any court or tribunal in this state, wherein the defendant is adjudged guilty
or pleads guilty, oris adjudicated a juvenile delinquent or youthful offender, or wherein a bond is
forfeited and the result of the forfeiture is a final disposition of the case or wherein any penalty is
imposed, there is imposed an additional cost of court in the amount of two dollars ($2) for each traffic
infraction, ten dollars ($10) in each proceeding where the offense constitutes a misdemeanor and/or a
violation of a municipal ordinance other than traffic infractions, and fifteen dollars ($15) in each
proceeding where the offense constitutes a felony , but there shall be no additional costs imposed for
violations relating to parking of vehicles.

The amount of all costs shall be remitted by the person or authority collecting the costs to the chair of the
commission on the tenth day of each month next succeeding that in which the cost is paid. It shall be the

duty of the clerk or other authority collecting the court costs to keep accurate records of the amounts due
the commission for the benefit of the fund under this section.

(b) In addition to the imposition of any other costs, penalties, or fines imposed pursuant to law, any
person convicted or pleading guilty to a felony or a misdemeanor or a violation for which the person is
adjudicated a juvenile delinquent, or a youthful offender, shall be ordered to pay a victim compensation
assessment of not less than fifty dollars ($50), nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), for each
felony for which the person was convicted or adjudicated and not less than twenty-five dollars ($23), nor
more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), for each misdemeanor or violation for which the person was
convicted, adjudicated, or otherwise disposed of when the court orders that costs be paid. In imposing this
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penalty, the court shall consider factors such as the severity of the crime, the prior criminal record, and
the ability of the defendant to pay, as well as the economic impact of the victim compensation assessment
on the dependents of the defendant. Any person adjudicated a juvenile delinquent shall be ordered to pay
avictim compensation assessment of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25), nor more than one thousand
dollars ($1,000), for each adjudication, regardless of the underlying charge, but the assessment or penalty
authorized by this subsection shall not be assessed or collected for any conservation, forestry, or water
safety offense, nor any traffic offense, except those that are punishable as a felony offense or involve the
operation or actual physical control of any vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs, or
reckless driving. If a court fails to specifically impose an assessment required by this section, the clerk of
court shall automatically assess a victim compensation assessment in the minimum amount provided
herein. The additional assessment or penalty shall be collected by the clerk of court insuring that the first
twenty-five dollars ($25) of each felony assessment and twelve dollars and fifty cents ($12.50) of each
misdemeanor assessment shall be promptly paid over to the commission. The second twenty-five dollars
(325) of each felony assessment and twelve dollars and fifty cents ($12.50) of each misdemeanor
assessment shall be promptly paid to the Office of Prosecution Services. Any victim assessment fees
ordered above the minimum shall be paid to the commission fund.

(¢) The Office of Prosecution Services shall create a Victim Services Fund and the assessments received
by the Office of Prosecution Services shall be deposited into the Victim Services Fund. The funds
received by the Office of Prosecution Services shall be distributed by the Executive Committee of the
Alabama District Attorneys Association to the various district attorneys' offices to employ a minimum of
one full-time victim service officer in each circuit and to provide other direct services to victims as
needed.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §17: Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 510, §5: Acts 1990, No. 90-470, p. 677,
§6; Acts 1995, No. 95-494, p. 994, §4.)

Section 15-23-18
Penalties - Influence peddling.

(a) Any person who confers, offers, or agrees to confer anything of value upon a member, agent or
employee of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission with the intent that such member's
or agent's or employee's vote, opinion, judgment or exercise of discretion or other action in such
member's or agent's or employee's official capacity will thereby be influenced shall be guilty of a Class B
felony.

(b) Any member, agent or employee of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission who
shall solicit, accept, or agree to solicit or accept anything of value upon an agreement or understanding
that such member's or agent's or employee's vote, opinion, judgment or exercise of discretion or other
action as such member, agent, or employee will thereby be influenced shall be guilty of a Class B felony.

(c) It shall not be a defense to a prosecution under this section that the member, agent or employee sought
to be influenced was not qualified to act in the desired way because of a lack of jurisdiction or for any
other reason.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §18.)

Section 15-23-19
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Penalties - Failure of commission member to disclose conflict of interest.

(a) A member, agent or employee of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission commits
the crime of failing to disclose a conflict of interest if such member, agent or employee exercises any
discretionary function in connection with a commission contract, purchase, payvment or other pecuniary
transaction pertaining to the commission without advance public disclosure of a known potential
conflicting interest in the transaction.

(b) A "potential conflicting interest" exists, but is not limited to, when the member, agent or employee of
the commission is a director, president, general manager or similar executive officer, or owns directly or
indirectly a substantial portion of any nongovernmental entity participating in the transaction.

<
>
<
af)
=
<C
O
O

(c) Public disclosure shall mean a public announcement and written notification to the Attorney General.
(d) Failing to disclose a conflict of interest is a Class C felony.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §19.)

Section 15-23-20

Penalties - Alteration of commission records, etc.

Any member, agent or employee of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission who shall
knowingly make a false entry or falsely alter any commission record; or who shall intentionally destroy,
mutilate, conceal, remove or otherwise impair the verity or availability of any commission record with the
knowledge of a lack of authority to do so; or who shall possess a record of the commission and refuse to
deliver up such record upon proper request of a person lawfully entitled to receive the same shall be guilty
of a Class C felony.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §20.)

Section 15-23-21

Penalties - Furnishing false information; failure to disclose material fact, etc.

(a) Any person who shall knowingly furnish any false information to the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission or to any member, agent or employee thersof with the intent to defraud the

said commission; or with the intent to obtain an award of compensation for a person not entitled to
receive the same shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

(b) Any person who shall knowingly fail or omit to disclose a material fact or circumstance to the
Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission or to any member, agent or employee thereof which
is material to a claim for an award of compensation with the intent to defraud the commission or with the
intent to cause a person to obtain or receive an award of compensation to which such person is not
entitled shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §21.)

Section 15-23-22
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Penalties - Unauthorized control over money or securities of commission.

(a) Any person who shall knowingly obtain or exert any unauthorized control over any money or
securities held on behalf of or in trust for the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission with
intent to deprive such commission of such money or securities shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

(b) Any person who shall knowingly obtain by deception any control over any money or securities held

on behalf of or in trust for the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission with intent to deprive
such commission of such money or securities shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §22.)

Section 15-23-23

Certain persons deemed ineligible for com pensation.

Any person who shall perpetrate any criminally injurious conduct on the person of another or who shall
be convicted of a felony after making application to the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation
Commission for compensation shall not be eligible or entitled to receive compensation pursuant to any

provision of this article.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §23.)
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CHAPTER 262-X-1 DEFINITIONS

CHAPTER 262-X-2 THE COMMISSION AND ITS MEMBERS

262-X-1-.01 General Information and Definitions.

(1) Purpose: It is the intent of the Legislature and the purpose of the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission {ACVCC) to provide financial and other assistance for victims of

violent crime for the allowable expenses that are incurred as a direct result of victimization.
Eligibility requirements are listed in the following sections:
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(2) Program Description: ACVCC provides financial assistance for allowable expenses to victims
of viclent crime who have suffered personal injury, psychological injury or death. Compensation
may be reduced or denied based on contribution to one’s own victimization as defined in the
following sections. The program provides compensation for a number of services, which are
listed in the following sections. ACVCC does not award compensation for expenses which are
paid by a collateral source. The program also has a statutory entitlement to subrogation when a
claimant has received recovery from a collateral source after having been paid by ACVCC.

The maximum amount of compensation that may be awarded in any one claim is
$15,000.

(3) The public may obtain information about the Commission by visiting its website at
www.acvcc.alabama.gov or calling the Commission at 334.290.4420. Submissions to the agency
should be mailed to PO Box 231267; Montgomery, AL 36123-1267 or emailed to
info@acvcc.alabama.gov. Requests for public records should be emailed to

public.records @acvcc.alabama.gov or via mail to: ACVCC, Attn: General Counsel, PO Box
231267, Montgomery, AL 36123-1267. A copy of the Commission’s Public Records Policy is
available at https://acvcc.alabama.gov/Public_Records.htm.

(4) The Commission will maintain a Departmental Forms Index. The Departmental Forms Index
(Appendix A) contains a listing of all forms a claimant/victim may be required to complete and
submit in order to receive compensation benefits.

(a) The Index will be updated when forms are added or removed.

(b) A copy of forms may be obtained by following the guidelines in 262-X-1-.01(3).
(c) A list of internal forms excluded from the Departmental Forms Index may be
obtained by following the guidelines in 262-X-1-.01(3).

(5) Definitions: As used in these rules the following words shall include, but are not limited to,
the following meanings unless the context clearly requires a different meaning:
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(a) Commission. The Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission as described in
Chapter 262-X-2 of these rules.

(b) Criminally Injurious Conduct: Criminally injurious conduct includes any of the
following acts:

1. An act occurring or attempted within the geographical boundaries of this state
which results in serious personal injury or death to a victim for which
punishment by fine, imprisonment or death may be imposed; or
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2. An act occurring or attempted outside the geographical boundaries of this
state in another state of the United States of America which is punishable by
fine, imprisonment or death and which results in personal injury or death to a
citizen of this state; and shall include an act of terrorism, as defined in Section
2331 of Title 18, United States Code, committed outside of the United States,
against a resident of this state; provided, however, such a citizen at the time
such act was committed had a permanent place of residence in the geographical
boundaries of this state, and in addition thereto:

(a) Had a permanent place of employment located within the
geographical boundaries of this state; or

(b) Was a member of the regular armed forces of the United States of
America; or the United States Coast Guard; or was a full-time member of
the Alabama National Guard, Alabama Air National Guard, U.S. Army
Reserve, U.S. Naval Reserve, U.S. Air Force Reserve; or

(c) Was retired and receiving Social Security or other retirement income;
or

(d) Was 60 years of age or older; or

(e) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for
the purpose of receiving medical treatment; or

(f) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for
the purpose of performing employment related duties required by an
employer located within the geographical boundaries of this state as an
expressed condition of employment or employee benefits; or

(g) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for

the purpose of receiving occupational, vocational or other job-related
training or instruction required by an employer located within the
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geographical boundaries of this state as an expressed condition of full-
time employment or employee benefits; or

(h) Was a full-time student at an academic institution, college or
university located in another state of the United States of America; or

(i) Had not departed the geographical boundaries of this state for a
period exceeding 30 days or with the intention of becoming a citizen of
another state or establishing a permanent place of residence in another
state.

ININAY YAYEYTY

The term 'criminally injurious conduct' shall not mean: An act committed outside
the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who was not at the time
such act was committed a citizen of the State of Alabama or an act committed
outside the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who at the time
such act was committed had departed the geographical boundaries of this state
for the purpose of becoming a citizen of another state or for the purpose of
establishing a permanent place of residence in another state.

{c) Victim. A person who suffered serious personal injury, psychological injury as a result
of a direct face-to-face threat of physical injury, or actual physical injury, or death as a
result of criminally injurious conduct.

(d) Dependent. A natural person wholly or partially dependent upon the victim for care
or support, and includes a child of the victim born after the death of the victim when the
death occurred as the result of criminally injurious conduct.

{e) Claimant. Any of the following persons applying for compensation under this
chapter:

1. A victim;

2. A dependent of a deceased victim, if such victim died as result of criminally
injurious conduct; or

3. A person authorized to act on behalf of a victim, or a dependent of a deceased
victim if such victim died as a result of criminally injurious conduct.

(f) Dependent spouse. The spouse of a deceased victim, unless it is shown that he/she
was voluntarily living apart from the deceased victim for the twelve (12) months
immediately preceding the criminally injurious conduct that caused the victim’s death
and it is shown that the deceased victim was not in any way contributing support to the
spouse.
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(g) Dependent child. An unmarried child under the age of nineteen (19) years for whom
the deceased victim was a significant source of direct support to the minor child in the
twelve (12) months immediately preceding the criminally injurious conduct that caused
the victim’s death. A dependent child is also one over the age of nineteen (19) who is
physically or mentally incapacitated from earning and it is shown that the deceased
victim was a significant source of direct support to the adult child in the twelve (12)
months immediately preceding the criminally injurious conduct that caused the victim’s
death. A dependent child is also one over the age of nineteen (19), but under the age of
twenty-six (26), who is enrolled in college, technical school, or vocational school and it is
shown that the deceased victim was a significant source of direct support to the adult
child in the twelve (12) months immediately preceding the criminally injurious conduct
that caused the victim’s death.
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(h) Allowance Expense. Charges incurred for needed products, services and
accommodations, including but not limited to, medical care, rehabilitation,
rehabilitative occupational training, and other remedial treatment and care. For
incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, through
July 8, 2020, no more than seven thousand dollars ($7,000.00) may be paid for expenses
related to funeral, cremation, or burial. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct
occurring on or after July 9, 2020, no more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) may
he paid for expenses related to funeral, cremation, or burial.

(i) Work Loss. Loss of income from work the victim would have performed if such person
had not been injured or died, reduced by any income from substitute work actually
performed by the victim or by income the victim would have earned in available
appropriate substitute work which he or she was capable of performing but
unreasonably failed to undertake. Work loss also includes loss of income of an offender
charged with domestic violence under Sections 13A-6-130, 13A-6-131, and 13A-6-132
when the victim was residing with the offender at the time of commission of the offense
and the offender's income was a significant source of direct support for the victim.

(j) Replacement Services Loss. Expenses reasonably incurred in obtaining ordinary and
necessary services in lieu of those the victim would have performed, not for income, but
for the benefit of self or family, if the victim had not been injured or died.

(k) Economic Loss of a Dependent. A loss after the death of the victim of contributions
of things of economic value to the dependent, not including services which would have
been received from the victim if he or she had not suffered the fatal injury, less
expenses of the dependent avoided by reason of death of the victim.

(1) Replacement Services Loss of Dependent. The loss reasonably incurred by
dependents after death of the victim in obtaining ordinary and necessary services in lieu
of those that the deceased victim would have performed for their benefit had the
deceased victim not suffered the fatal injury, less expenses of the dependent avoided by
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reason of death of the victim and not subtracted in calculating the economic loss of the
dependent.

(m) Economic Loss. Monetary detriment consisting only of allowable expense, work loss,
replacement services loss and, if injury causes death, economic loss and replacement
services loss of the dependent, but shall not include noneconomic loss, or noneconomic
detriment.

(n) Noneconomic Loss or Detriment. Pain, suffering, inconvenience, physical impairment
and nonpecuniary damage.

ININAY YAYEYTY

(o) Collateral Source. The source of income, financial or other benefits or advantages for
economic loss other than the compensation paid by the Compensation Commission
which the claimant has received or is entitled to receive or is readily available to the
claimant from any or more of the following:

1. The offender;

2. The government of the United States or any agency thereof, in the form of
benefits, such as Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid, a state or any of its
subdivisions or an instrumentality of two or more states, unless the law
providing for the benefits or advantages makes them excessive or secondary to
the benefits under this chapter;

3. Any temporary nonoccupational disability insurance;
4, Workman's compensation;
5. Wage continuation programs of any employer;

6. Proceeds of a contract of insurance payable to the claimant for loss which the
victim sustained because of the criminally injurious conduct; or

7. A contract providing prepaid hospital and other health care services or
henefits for disability.

(p) Immediate Family. Immediate family for purposes of determining compensation
eligibility shall mean spouse, child, and parent/legal guardian. Except when unusually
strong personal ties exist, due to the victim or family member having been reared by a
person of some relationship other than which is provided for in this definition for a
period of twenty-four consecutive months or longer, this relationship may he
considered as immediate family at the discretion of the Commission.

262-X-2-.01 Composition.
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(1) There is hereby created the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission, which shall
be composed of three residents of the State of Alabama, who shall be appointed by the
Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, for terms of four (4) years each or until
their successors are appointed and qualified. Provided, however, initial appointments shall be
as follows: One member shall be appointed for two (2) years and one member shall be
appointed for three (3) years and one member shall be appointed for four (4) years. All
appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the duration of the unexpired term and subsequent
appointments shall be for four-year terms. The membership of the board shall be inclusive and
the Governor shall coordinate his or her appointments so that the diversity of gender, race, and
geographical areas is reflective of the makeup of this state.
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(2) At least one member shall be a law enforcement officer with a minimum of 10 years’
experience in or with a law enforcement agency which has among its primary duties and
responsibilities the investigation of violent crimes and the apprehension or arrest of the
perpetrators.

(3) At least one member shall be a victim of a crime of violence who suffered serious personal
injury as a result of the crime, a member of a victim's immediate family or a member of a
deceased victim's immediate family if the deceased victim died as a result of a crime of
viclence, or an officer of a nonprofit charitable crime victims organization established pursuant
to the laws of Alabama.

262-X-2-.02 Officers. Each year the Commission shall elect a chairman from its membership.
Chairperson elections shall be held in the month of June. The Commission may appoint an executive
director who shall serve at the pleasure of the Commission and shall be paid a salary in an amount to be
determined by the Commission.

262-X-2-.03 Meetings.

The Commission shall have its principal place of business in the county wherein the State
Capitol is located. The Commission shall quarterly hold at its principal place of business public
meetings on the second Thursday of January, April, July, and October at 9:00 a.m. and at times
and places as its members may elect. Any two (2) members of the Commission shall constitute
a quorum for the purposes of transacting the business of the Commission and two (2) votes in
favor shall be necessary for a decision by the Commission at any meeting of the Commission.
Meetings shall be conducted using Roberts Rules of Order. All meetings of the Commission shall
be publicized in accordance with the Alabama Open Meetings Act. Any change to the regular
Commission meeting shall be publicized in accordance with the Alabama Open Meetings Act.

262-X-2-.04 Rulemaking.

(a) From time to time the Commission shall establish rules and regulations for the administration of its
duties and responsibilities pursuant to this chapter. All rules shall be passed by a majority vote of the
three member Commission. A copy of the current rules shall be published in each year’s annual report
and shall be made available to the public upon request.
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(b) Petitions for Adoption, Repeal, or Change of Rule

1. Any person may petition the Commission for the adoption of a new rule or for the repeal or
change of any existing rule.

2. Action by the Commission on any such petition shall be as provided in ALA. CODE § 41-22-8.
3. In order to be considered, a petition for a rule change must be in writing and contain the
following minimum information:

(a) A title reflecting that the petition seeks the adoption of a new rule, or the
modification or repeal of an existing rule or rules.

(b) The petitioner's name, address, and telephone number.

(c) A statement identifying all rules or statutes that may be involved should the relief
sought in the petition be granted in whole or in part.

(d) A clear and concise statement or narrative as to why the new rule, or modification or
repeal of an existing rule is needed, specifying:
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(i) the persons or class of persons it would affect and how it would affect them;
(i) the benefits and disadvantages of the proposed rule, modification or repeal;
(iii) the estimated cost or cost savings to the Commission;

(iv) any other reasons why the rule, modification, or repeal should be accepted
by the Commission;

(v) the legal authority for the proposed rule, modification or change;

(vi) the names and complete addresses of any persons, firms, organizations, and
the identity of any class of persons known to the petitioner who would be or
could be adversely affected by the proposed rule, modification, or repeal.

(&) The reason for submitting the petition, if the reason is not apparent from the face of
the petition.

(f) Full disclosure of the petitioner's interest.

(g) A statement as to whether the issues presented by the petition are presently under
consideration by the Commission or by any judicial or quasi-judicial body in any pending
proceedings, and if so, before which body they are pending.

(h) A certification by the petitioner that the information contained in the petition is
true and correct to the best of petitioner's knowledge, and that the petition

has not been filed for any improper purposes, or for delay or harassment. The
certification must be signed by the petitioner and the petitioner’s signature must be
notarized.

(c) Declaratory Rulings.
1. Any person substantially affected by a rule may petition the Commission for a declaratory
ruling with respect to the validity of a rule or the applicability to any person, property or state of
facts of any rule or statute enforceable by it or with respect to the meaning and scope of any

order of the Commission.

2. The petition shall be in writing and shall include:
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(a) The name and address of the petitioner;

(b) A statement of facts sufficient to show that the person seeking relief is

substantially affected by the rule;

(c) The rule, statute, or order and the exact question(s) to which an answer is requested;
(d) The reason(s) for submitting the petition;

(e) Full disclosure of the petitioner's interest(s);

(f) Statement as to whether the petitioner's case is presently under consideration by the
Commission or in any pending proceeding;

(g) A certification by the petitioner that the information contained in the petition is true
and correct to the best of petitioner's knowledge, and that the petition has not been
filed for any improper purposes, or for delay or harassment. The certification must be
signed by the petitioner and the petitioner’s signature must be notarized.
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3. Failure of the Commission to issue a declaratory ruling within forty-five days of date of
receipt of request shall constitute a denial of the request.

4. Circumstances in which rulings shall not be issued include, but are not necessarily limited to:

(a) Lack of jurisdiction;

{b) Lack of clarity of the issue presented;

(c) No clear answer determinable;

{d) On a petition which seeks the immediate payment or non-payment of benefits under
the Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation Act;

(e) If petitioned for by a person not a party to the contested case if the matter is
involved in a contested case;

{f) On matters in litigation.

262-X-2-.05 Records.

The chairman of the Commission shall keep a true record of all the proceedings of the meetings of the
Commission. At the call of any member the vote on any pending question shall be taken by 'ayes' and
'nays’, and the same shall be entered in such record. The written minutes of the proceedings shall be
maintained by the agency. The Commission shall meet in Executive Session in compliance with the
Alabama Open Meetings Act. The record of the proceedings of the Commission shall be open to any
member of the Commission and to the public at all times and a copy of such record, certified by the
chairman shall be competent evidence in all courts. Provided, however, the Commission shall decline to
disclose the names and addresses of victims or claimants who have applied for compensation pursuant
to the provisions of this chapter or the facts or circumstances of the criminally injurious conduct
perpetrated against them.

262-X-2-.06 Bond.

All members and employees of the Commission handling money or exercising authority over any
property shall, before entering the discharge of their duties, give bond with a surety company
authorized to do business in the State of Alabama, a surety, payable to the Commission in an amount or
amounts sufficient to protect the Commission against any loss with respect to the funds, money or
property handled, conditioned for the faithful discharge of their duties and responsibilities and further
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conditioned upon their faithfully accounting for all monies, funds, or properties coming into their
possession in the capacity of their employment.

262-X-2-,07 Duties of the Attorney General.

The attorney general or the district attorney of the county wherein the state capital is located shall,
upon written request by the Commission represent the Commission in all litigation to which the
Commission is a party or in which the Commission has an interest. The attorney general shall serve as
legal advisor to the Commission.

262-X-2-,08 Compensation of Commission Members.

All Commission members shall be paid and reimbursed for expenses as established by the Code of
Alabama.

CHAPTER 262-X-3
THE COMMISSION - POWERS AND DUTIES

262-X-3-.01 The Commission-General Powers And Duties. The Commission shall have all the
powers and privileges of a corporation and all of its business shall be transacted in the name of
the Commission. In addition to any other powers and duties specified elsewhere in this
chapter, the Commission may do any of the following:

1. Regulate its own procedures except as otherwise provided in this
chapter;

2. Define any term not defined in this chapter;

3. Prescribe forms necessary to carry out the purposes of this chapter;

4, Obtain access to investigative reports made by law enforcement officers

or law enforcement agencies which may be necessary to assist the Commission in making a
determination of eligibility for compensation under the provisions of this chapter; provided,
however, such reports and the information contained therein, when received by the
Commission, shall be confidential and under no circumstances may the Commission disclose
the same exceptto a grand jury;

5. Take judicial notice of general, technical and scientific facts within their
specialized knowledge;

6. Publicize the availability of compensation and information regarding the
filing of claims;

7. Collect all monies provided by this chapter to be collected by the
Commission;
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8. Provide for and maintain all necessary administrative facilities and
personnel;

9. Provide for payment of all administrative salaries, fees, and expenses;

10. Cause its monies to be invested and its investments sold or exchanged

and the proceeds and income collected;
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11. Determine who is a victim or dependent;

12. Consider all applications for compensation or other benefits provided for
in this chapter;

13. Authorize the executive director to determine eligibility for all
applications for compensation and authorize payment for approved and reduced claims.
a. The Commission shall review all contested cases pursuant to the
Alabama Administrative Procedure Act. The Commission may affirm, reverse, or modify the
executive director's claims decisions.

14, Adopt rules to expedite the administration of the affairs of the
Commission not inconsistent with this article.

15. Provide descriptive literature and promotional items respecting the
duties of the Commission.

16. Pay all compensation or other benefits that may be determined to be due
under this chapter and under the rules of the Commission;

17. Employ such agents, attorneys, actuaries and other specialized personnel
that shall be necessary or desirable to enable the Commission to carry on its functions in a
proper and sound manner;

18. Receive by gift, grant, devise or bequest any monies or property of any
nature or description;

19. Accept and administer loans, grants, and donations from the federal
government, its agencies and all other sources, public and private, for carrying out any of its
functions;

20. Develop a comprehensive analysis of the problems regarding victims of

crime within the criminal justice system or systems of this state and formulate model programs,
plans or methods for lessening the physical, mental or financial burdens placed on innocent
crime victims by the operation of the criminal justice system, both on the state and local level;
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21. Identify laws, rules or regulations proposed or adopted by any agencies
or institution of this state or any political subdivision thereof which have or will have a
significant adverse or beneficial impact upon crime victims and to advocate the adoption,
repeal, or modification thereof in the interest of innocent victims of crime;

22. Collect, develop and maintain statistical information, records and reports
to carry out its powers, duties or functions, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter. All
agencies and institutions of this state or the political subdivisions thereof, upon written request
by the Commission, shall furnish the Commission such statistical information or data as
requested by the Commission to fulfill its duties and responsibilities;

23, Award loans or grants of money, equipment or personnel to public or
private nonprofit corporations or associations, agencies of the State of Alabama or political
subdivisions thereof, or to state, county, or municipal law enforcement, prosecutorial, or
judicial agencies upon such terms and conditions as the Commission may deem proper for the
purpose of developing, enhancing or establishing bona fide model crime victims service
programs which emphasize the collection of restitution from criminals as an integral part of the
criminal justice process. The loans or grants shall only be awarded when sufficient funds are
available in excess of reascnably anticipated or projected claims for compensation;

24, Provide for the cost of forensic medical examinations for the purpose of
gathering evidence and treatment for preventing sexually transmitted infections in sexual
abuse crimes and offenses;

25. Carry out any powers expressly granted elsewhere in this chapter to the
Commission; and

26. All other powers necessary for the proper administration of the
provisions of this chapter.

262-X-3-,.02 Annual Report Required.

The Commission shall publish annually a report showing the fiscal transactions of the Commission for
the preceding year, the amount of the accumulated cash, and securities of the Commission and a
balance sheet showing the financial condition of the Commission by means of an actuarial evaluation of
the assets and liabilities of the Commission. The current agency administrative code shall be published
in each year’s annual report.

262-X-3-.03 Audit Of Financial Affairs Of Commission Authorized.

The Director of the Department of Examiners of Public Accounts shall at least once every other year and
at such other times as such director shall deem appropriate cause to be performed a detailed audit of
the financial affairs of the Commission and shall promptly notify the appropriate grand jury as to any
possible violations of law.
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262-X-3-.04 Compensation For Economic Loss Resulting From Criminal Conduct-Authorized;
Procedure.

(1) The Commission may award compensation for economic loss arising from criminally injurious
conduct as satisfied by a preponderance of the evidence that the requirements for
compensation have been met.

(2) The Commission shall hear and determine all matters relating to claims for compensation,
and shall have the power to reinvestigate or reopen claims without regard to statutes of
limitation.

NISTRATIVE CODE

(3) The Commission shall have the power to subpoena witnesses, compel their attendance,
require the production of records and other evidence, administer oaths or affirmations, conduct
hearings and receive relevant evidence.

262-X-3-.05 Collateral Source Contribution Not Required.

The Commission shall not require any claimant to seek or accept any collateral source contribution,
unless the claimant was receiving or was entitled to receive such benefits prior to the occurrence giving
rise to the claim under the provisions of this chapter; provided, however, no applicant shall be denied
compensation solely because such applicant is entitled to income from a collateral source. All claimants
filing a civil suit for damages resulting from the victimization for which they filed for compensation must
promptly report the filing of such suit to the Commission.

262-X-3-.06 Procedure In Contested Cases.

Authority: Code of Alabama § 15-23-10{a)(b)(c), (1995), which provides:

(a) Every party to a claim shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard and to offer evidence
and argument on any issue relevant to the claim, and to examine witnesses and offer evidence in reply
to any matter of an evidentiary nature in the record relevant to the claim.

(b) In a contested case, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity for a hearing after reasonable notice
pursuant to regulations promulgated by the commission. A record of the proceedings of the hearingin a
contested case shall be made and shall be transcribed upon request of any party who shall pay
transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the commission.

(c) The commission may, without a hearing, settle a claim by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent
order or default.

(1) In the event that a crime victims’' compensation claim is approved in a modified form, not
approved, or approved - but reduced, the Commission shall notify the claimant by certified
mail, return receipt requested, within ten (10) calendar days of the Commission’s action setting
forth the basis of the Commission’s decision.

{2) The claimant shall have the right to appeal the Commission’s final decision. The claimant may
appeal the final decision by notifying the Commission’s Executive Director in writing of the
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intent to appeal within thirty (30) calendar days of receiving the letter setting forth the
Commission's decision. The appeal request must be received by the Commission within thirty
{30) calendar days. Regular mail is accepted. However, certified mail is strongly
recommended. The claimant must sign the request for a contested case hearing (administrative
appeal hearing) in order for it to be processed.

(3) All contested case hearings shall be held in accordance with the Alabama Administrative
Procedures Act.

(4) All claimants shall receive a minimum of thirty (30) days notice of the contested case hearing.
(5) Pursuant to §41-22-12(a) Code of Alabama (1975), the Commission shall deliver to the claimant
the notice of the contested case hearing by first class mail, postage prepaid, to be effective
upon the deposit of the notice in the mail. The notice of the administrative appeal hearing

shall also be delivered to the claimant by certified mail, return receipt requested.

(6) In a contested case hearing, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard.

(7) The claimant may request that subpoenas be issued for the contested case hearing.

(8) The Commission shall render its decision relative to the contested case hearing within ten (10)
calendar days of the formal hearing and the claimant will be notified by certified mail, return
receipt requested.

(9) An impartial governmental hearing officer from a list certified by the State of Alabama Personnel
Department shall be provided by the Commission to preside over all contested case hearings
and perform such parliamentary functions as he/she deems necessary. The Commission shall
render the final decision in the claim. A certified court reporter shall be used to transcribe each
appeal hearing. A record of the proceedings shall be made and shall be transcribed upon
request of any party, who shall pay transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the
Commission.

(10)The claimant’s contested case hearing will be dismissed if he/she fails to appear without good
cause.
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262-X-4-.01 Filing of Claims.

(1) A claim may be filed by the victim, a dependent of a deceased victim, or a person legally
authorized to act on behalf of a deceased victim. When the victim is a minor, a parent or legal
guardian may file on his/her behalf. A guardian, conservator, or other person legally authorized to
act on behalf of an incapacitated victim may file a claim on his/her behalf.

(2) A claim must be filed with the Commission within one (1) year after the death or injury upon
which the claim is based or the Commission finds that there was good cause for the failure to file
within that time.

(3) The date on which each claim is received by the Commission shall be documented. An ACVCC
application that has been signed by either facsimile signature or electronic signature must be
submitted for a compensation request to be processed. If the Commission is not satisfied that the
facsimile signature or the electronic signature is authentic, it may request an original, notarized
signature from the claimant.

(4) The Commission will make written request to the claimant for needed

information/documentation. The claimant shall have forty-five (45) days to submit the requested
information/documentation to the Commission. Failure to provide information/documentation
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within forty-five (45) days may, at the Commission's discretion, result in the non-approval of the
claim.

(5) Separate claims may be filed for individual family members who are victims.

262-X-4-.02 Eligibility Criteria Generally.

(1) The incident must have occurred on or after June 1, 1984.

(2) The incident must have been reported within 72 hours after its occurrence or the Commission
must find there was good cause for the failure to report within that time. Good cause includes,
but is not limited to the minority, infirmity or incapacity of the claimant.

(3) The application must be filed within one (1) year of the incident unless the Commission finds
there was good cause for the failure to report within that time.

(4) The victim must have suffered bodily injury, psychological injury as the result of a direct, face to
face threat of physical injury, or actual physical injury or death as a result of the criminal actions
of another.

(5) The claimant or victim must cooperate fully with law enforcement and the Commission staff. If
law enforcement officials or Commission staff are not satisfied with the victim's or claimant's
cooperation, the Commission may “not approve” the claim.

(6) Requested expenses shall not be eligible for compensation if they have been paid by a collateral
source.

(7) The victim or claimant must not be the offender or an accomplice of the offender.

(8) No portion of the compensation shall benefit the offender or accomplice.

(9) If the applicant, after making application for compensation to the Commission, then perpetrates
any criminally injurious conduct or is convicted of a felony, the applicant shall be ineligible for
compensation.

(10)The claimant must submit an application that has been signed by either facsimile signature or
electronic signature. If the Commission is not satisfied that the facsimile signature or the
electronic signature is authentic, it may request an original, notarized signature from the
claimant.

(11)A person must be a U.S. citizen, a person who is legally present in the U.S., or an alien eligible for
public benefits in order to receive compensation benefits.

(12)An alien who is defined as an eligible alien pursuant to 8 U.S.C. §1621(a) or 8 U.S.C. § 1641, or
certified as a victim of human tracking pursuant to 22 U.S.C. §7105 may be eligible for
compensation benefits.

(13)Proof of U.S. citizenship, legal presence in the U.S., or proof of being an alien eligible for public
benefits must be provided for every claimant/victim.
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a. Acopy of one of the following documents may be accepted as evidence of U.S.
citizenship:
i. Abirth certificate issued in or by a city, county, state, or other governmental
entity within the United States or its outlying possessions.
ii. AU.S. Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545, DS-135) or a Report of Birth Abroad of
a U.S. Citizen (FS-240).
iii. Abirth certificate or passport issued from:
1. Puerto Rico, on or after January 13, 1941;
2. Guam, on or after April 10, 1898;
3. U.S. Virgin Islands, on or after February 25, 1927;
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Northern Mariana Islands, after November 4, 1986;
American Samos;
Swains Island; or
7. District of Columbia.

iv. Anunexpired U.S. passport.

v. Certificate of Naturalization {N-550, N-57, N-578).

vi. Certificate of Citizenship (N-560, N-561, N-645).

vii. U.S. Citizen Identification Card (1-179, 1-197).
viii. Free Alabama Photo Voter Identification Card.

o v oA

If the Commission is not satisfied with the authenticity of a copy of one of the
documents in 262-X-4-.02 (13) a, it may request that the original be submitted for
inspection.
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A person may be presumed to not be an alien who is unlawfully present in the U.S. if the
person provides a copy of one of the following documents to the Commission for
inspection:

i. Avalid, unexpired Alabama driver’s license.

ii. Avalid, unexpired Alabama nondriver identification card.

iii. A valid tribal enrollment card or other form of tribal identification bearing a
photograph or other biometric identifier.

iv. Any valid United States federal or state government issued identification
document bearing a photograph or other biometric identifier, if issued by an
entity that requires proof of lawful presence in the United States before
issuance.

v. A foreign passport issued by a visa waiver country with the corresponding entry
stamp and unexpired duration of stay annotation or an -94W form by the
United States Department of Homeland Security indicating the bearer’s
admission to the United States.

If the Commission is not satisfied with the authenticity of a copy of one of the
documents in 262-X-4-.02 (13) b, it may request that the original be submitted for
inspection.

Submission of a copy of one of the following documents and subsequent positive
verification in the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) system is proof
of legal presence:
i. 1-327 (Reentry Permit)
ii. 1-551 (Permanent Resident Card)
iii. 1-571 (Refugee Travel Document)
iv. |-766 (Employment Authorization Card)
v. Certificate of Citizenship
vi. Naturalization Certificate
vii. Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language)
viii. Temporary I-551 Stamp {(on Passport or 1-94)
ix. 1-94 (Arrival/Departure Record)
X. 1-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport
xi. Unexpired Foreign Passport
xii. 1-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status}
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xiii. DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status)
xiv. Documents not included in this list will be examined on a case-by-case basis.

Failure to provide this documentation within the requested time shall result in the non-
approval of the compensation claim.

e. This rule shall be effective upon the filing date and apply to claims pending
and/or claims received on or after the filing date.

262-X-4-.03 Contribution To Offense.

ISTRATIVE CODE

Authority:
Code of Alabama § 15-23-12(b) {1995}, which provides:

Compensation otherwise payable to a claimant may be diminished or denied to the extent that the
economic loss is recouped from collateral sources; or to the extent that the degree of responsibility for
the cause of the injury or death is attributable to the victim as determined by the commission.

{a) Compensation may be reduced or denied based on the victim’s degree of contribution to
the offense. The reduction or denial will be based on the extent of the degree of
responsibility for the cause of injury or death attributable to the victim/claimant’s actions
and/or involvement in the events that led to the crime. Compensation may be reduced in
whole or in part if contributory conduct is determined.

{b) Eligibility for compensation can be affected by a victim/claimant’s involvement in the events
that led to the crime. The victim/claimant’s actions do not have to be illegal to be deemed
contributory conduct. Such actions must relate significantly to the occurrence that caused
the victimization and be such that a reasonable or prudent person would know that the
actions could lead to their victimization.

{c) Contributory conduct is a voluntary action by the victim, which directly or indirectly,
produced the victim’s injury at the time of the victimization which gives rise to the
compensation claim. This action may include, but is not limited to, provocation, drug use,
alcohal intoxication, consent, or incitement by the victim.

{d) Contributory conduct is a factor when the victim knowingly participated in conduct that:
(1) Caused, resulted in, or reasonably could have led to the specific crime
which caused the victimization; or
(2) Was itself clearly wrongful or illegal, thereby placing him/herself in a
position to be victimized; or
(3) Clearly put himselffherself into a situation where the crime was

reasonably expected and/or a prudent person would have avoided.
(e) Contributory conduct to the offense may be determined by the victim’s actions or nature of the

victim’s involvement in the events leading up to victimization. The following factors may be
considered in the determination of contributory conduct:
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(1) Alcohol intoxication that resulted in the use of poor judgment by the
victim;

(2) Drug use that resulted in the use of poor judgment by the victim;

(3) If the offender verbally insulted the victim and the victim failed to
retreat, a contribution factor may be assessed;

4) If it appears the victim was injured as a result of poor judgment or as a

result of his/her conduct being less than that of a prudent person in the
same situation, a contribution factor may be assessed;

(5) If it appears that the victim first physically assaulted the offender, the
victim’s claim for compensation may be denied.
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(f) The Commission may consider all information relevant to the circumstances, including, but not

limited to:

(1) Level of responsibility of the victim’s conduct;

(2) Foreseeability of the consequences of such conduct;

(3) Ability to avoid the situation (Victim’s failure to retreat or withdraw
from situation where an option to do so existed.)

4) Whether there is a direct causal relationship between the victim's
actions and his/her victimization.

(5) Whether the criminally injurious conduct made the basis of the

compensation claim occurred at a place known for illegal activity (shot
house, house of gambling, house of prostitution or drug house) or arose
out of acts involving violation(s) of federal, state, or municipal laws. A
contribution factor shall not be accessed for persons who were in such
areas for a legitimate purpose and not involved in any type of illegal
activity.

(6) Contribution to the offense will be determined by the actions of the
victim at the time of or immediately preceding the crime.

262-X-4-.04 Compensation Awards - Amounts and Methods of Payment.

(1) Compensation payable to a victim or claimant sustaining economic loss due to injury or
death may not exceed a total of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000.00).

(2) Compensation for lost wages may not exceed four hundred ($400.00) dollars per week.

(3) The Commission may provide for the payment to a claimant in a lump sum or installments.
Outstanding eligible expenses will be paid directly to the service provider. Compensation
payable to service providers for medical treatment may be compensated at a reduced rate.
Qutstanding charges for medical treatment, excluding psychiatric care, counseling, and dental
treatment, may be compensated at a reduced rate of thirty percent {30%) of eligible charges up
to a maximum amount of six thousand dollars ($6,000). When the claimant has already paid
out-of-pocket for medical treatment and services, the claimant may be fully reimbursed for all
eligible expenses not to exceed $15,000.

(4) Future Economic Loss.
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(a Future economic loss is limited to $400.00 per week for a maximum of 26 weeks. Future
economic loss may be awarded if the victim was employed at the time of his/her victimization
and the employment is verifiable.

(b} If the deceased victim leaves a dependent spouse and no dependent children, the total
amount of the future economic loss may be paid to the dependent spouse.

(c) If the deceased victim leaves a dependent spouse and a dependent child or dependent
children and the dependent spouse is the parent of all the victim’s dependent children, then
the total amount of the future economic loss may be paid to the dependent spouse for the
benefit of himself/herself and the dependent child or dependent children.

(d) If the deceased victim does not leave a dependent spouse, but leaves dependent children,
funeral/burial expenses may be paid prior to the payment of future economic loss for a
dependent child or dependent children. After the payment of funeral/burial expenses,
twenty-five percent {25%) of the remaining compensation benefits may be used for the
compensation of the claimant’s eligible expenses. The remaining compensation benefits will
be apportioned equally among the dependent children for whom a request for future
economic loss is made within the one-year filing deadline. Dependent children who request
future economic loss after the one-year filing deadline may not receive compensation
henefits. If there are compensation funds remaining after the one-year filing deadline, they
may be equally apportioned and distributed to the deceased victim’s dependent children
who made a request for future economic loss prior to the expiration of the one-year filing
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deadline.
{e) If the deceased victim leaves a dependent spouse and a dependent child or dependent
children for whom the parent or legal guardian is somecone other than the dependent
spouse, funeral/burial expenses may be paid prior to the payment of future economic loss
for a dependent child or dependent children. After the payment of funeral/burial expenses,
fifty percent (50%) of the remaining compensation benefits may be used for the
compensation of the dependent spouse’s eligible expenses. The remaining compensation
benefits will be apportioned equally among the dependent children for whom a request for
future economic loss is made within the one-year filing deadline. Dependent children who
request future economic loss after the one-year filing deadline may not receive
compensation benefits.
(f) Legal proof that the dependent spouse was married to the deceased victim at the time of
the victim’s death will be requested. Legal proof that a dependent child was the legal child of
the deceased victim will be requested. For example: marriage certificate, birth certificate, or
court order.
1) Aclaimant that asserts a common-law marriage with a deceased crime victim must provide
proof of the marriage by submitting one of the following:
a) an official Internal Revenue Service tax transcript indicating the claimant and deceased
victim filed as married; or

b) affidavits from three blood relatives within the second degree of consanguinity of the
deceased crime victim swearing that the claimant and the deceased crime victim
presented themselves as married to each other. If the deceased crime victim does not
have three blood relatives within the second degree of consanguinity, the claimant may
submit an affidavit or affidavits from blood relatives within the third degree of
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consanguinity. If the deceased crime victim does not have three blood relatives within the
third degree of consanguinity, the claimant may submit an affidavit or affidavits from
blood relatives within the fourth degree of consanguinity. Birth certificates must be
submitted to prove the relationship of the affiant to the deceased crime victim.

i) First-degree relatives include a crime victim's parents and children.
ii) Second-degree relatives include a crime victim's siblings and half-siblings.

iii) Third-degree relatives include a crime victim's nieces, nephews, aunts, and
uncles.

iv) Fourth-degree relatives include a crime victim's first cousins, great aunts, great
uncles, grandnieces and grandnephews.
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(g) All awards for future economic loss shall be diminished or denied to the extent that the
future economic loss is recocuped from a collateral source.

(h) At the discretion of the Commission, future economic loss may be paid in a lump sum, but
only upon a finding that the lump sum award will promote the best interest of the claimant.

(i) When the Commission determines that compensation for future economic loss will be paid in
installments, payments may be made in quarterly installments of $2,500 over a period of one
year or until the total compensation award for future economic loss is paid to the recipient(s).
The one-year period for the purpose of installment payments will begin the day the
compensation award is approved. An award payable in installments for future economic loss
may be modified by the Commission upon its finding that a material and substantial change
of circumstances has occurred.

(5) No more than five thousand dollars {$5,000.00) may be paid for expenses related to funeral,
cremation, or burial. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1,
2014, through July 8, 2020, no more than seven thousand dollars (57,000.00) may be paid for
expenses related to funeral, cremation, or burial. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct
occurring on or after July 9, 2020, no more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) may be paid for
expenses related to funeral, cremation, or burial. Food expenses shall not be considered expenses
related to funeral, cremation, or burial.
(a) The following payment limitations for funeral, cremation, and burial expenses
apply:
1. 51,000 maximum award for victim’s headstone;
2. $250 maximum award for funeral flowers;
3. $200 maximum award for burial clothes for the victim.

(6) Approved claims will be paid in the order of their approval by the Commission as funds become
available.

(7) Payments may be made in lump sums or in installments.

(8) Lost wages shall be verified by obtaining written documentation from the employer or by
submission of a W2 tax document. A tax transcript from the IRS is required if the person seeking
reimbursement of his/her lost wages is self-employed.
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(9) The claimant may, with the Commission’s approval, elect to be paid for lost wages, future

economic losses, replacement services loss, etc., before the service providers are paid.

(10) Annual leave, sick leave, personal leave or holidays shall not be considered a collateral source

and may be reimbursed by the Commission.

(11) Lost Wages.
(a) The victim’s work loss caused by the crime may be considered for reimbursement.
{b) The claimant or immediate family member may apply for his/her lost wages if he/she
took time off from work to care for the victim if the victim was a minor, or a medical
professional provides written confirmation that the care was recommended.
(c) If the victim died as a result of the crime, the victim’s dependent spouse and
dependent children may apply for future economic loss.
(d) Anticipated work may be considered for compensation when accompanied by
documentation certifying a definite start date.
(e) The victim’s, claimant’s, and immediate family members’ lost wages may be awarded
for work loss due to receiving medical treatment as a result of the crime; mental health
treatment as a result of the crime; attendance of grand jury proceedings for three days
if not subpoenaed; attendance of grand jury proceedings for as many days as required
by subpoena, attendance of the offender’s preliminary hearing, arraignment, bond
hearing, a hearing on any pretrial motion, trial, or any post judgment proceeding; and
the offender’s parole hearing.
(f) Proper documentation is required for consideration of all lost wages requests,
including, when applicable: confirmation of court attendance; a parole notification
letter; employer’s confirmation of work loss; a self-employment affidavit; or a written
excuse from a licensed medical professional or licensed mental health provider.

{12) Lost Wages Payment Limitations.
(a) For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014,
through July 8, 2020, lost wages are limited to $600.00 per week for a maximum of 52
weeks. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1,
2014, through July 8, 2020, the maximum award for lost wages is $20,000. For incidents
of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after July 9, 2020, lost wages are limited
to $400.00 per week for a maximum of 26 weeks.
(b) Life insurance shall be considered a collateral source for all claims. If life insurance
does not fully compensate the deceased victim’s dependents for the eligible expenses
they incurred as a result of the victimization, the remaining eligible expenses may be
eligible for compensation.
(13) Collateral Source.

a. Life insurance shall be considered a collateral source for compensation.
h. When determining if a collateral source has fully compensated a victim or a deceased
victim’s dependent, a one-year period of a victim’s lost wages or other income will be
used for calculation of the collateral source offset.
(c). Charitable donations shall not be considered a collateral source for compensation. If
an eligible expense has been paid with charitable donations, the Commission will not
reimburse the expense. The Commission only provides compensation benefits for
payment or reimbursement of actual expenses.
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(14) Moving and Temporary Relocation Expenses
(a) The Commission may award moving expenses in cases in which the crime occurred in
the victim’s home, the victim has a reasonable fear for his/her life if he/she does not
move from the home, or moving the victim’s personal belongings is necessary. Written
estimates and/or receipts are required for payment of moving expenses.

(b) The Commission may award temporary relocation expenses when the victim’s home has
been temporarily made uninhabitable as a direct result of the crime. Claimants/victims
who qualify for temporary relocation expenses may receive per diem at a rate of $100.
If the size of the claimant’s/victim’s family necessitates the rental of two hotel rooms or
larger accommodations, the Commission may consider awarding more than per diem
for the temporary relocation expense. A copy of the hotel bill, credit card receipt, or
other verifiable document is required for verification.
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() Moving and temporary relocation expenses may not exceed a combined total $1,000.

(15) Travel Expenses.
(a) The maximum award for travel expenses is $3,000. Airline tickets or mileage at the
Internal Revenue Service’s standard mileage rate and a $100 per diem rate and lost
wages may be provided for eligible travel expenses. Hotel receipts must be supplied in
order to award $100 per diem. Airfare will be reimbursed at coach rates only. Travel
expenses for the victim, immediate family member(s), or person(s) of the victim's
choosing, may be awarded to attend grand jury proceedings for three days if not
subpoenaed, grand jury proceedings for as many days as required by subpoena, the
offender’s preliminary hearing, arraighment, bond hearing, a hearing on any pretrial
motion, trial, or any post judgment proceeding. When the victim is deceased, travel
may be awarded to immediate family members. Travel may be allowed for immediate
family members to travel attend the offender’s trial or any post judgment proceeding.
When the prosecutor’s office or any other entity pays for all or part of the victim’s or
immediate family member’s travel expenses, that amount shall be deducted from the
compensation award for travel expenses. Travel may be allowed for medical and
psychological treatment that is needed as a result of the victimization. Travel required
to procure needed services may bhe considered for the victim, claimant, and immediate
family members.
(b) Travel expenses and lost wages for the victim, immediate family member(s), or
person(s) of the victim’s choosing, may be awarded for attendance of the offender’s
parole hearing. When the victim is deceased, travel expenses and lost wages may be
awarded to immediate family members or victim representatives. Eligible parole travel
expenses shall be reimbursed at the current Internal Revenue Service’s standard
mileage rate, coach rate for airfare, and per diem at a rate of $100.
These requests will only be considered as a supplemental to an original claim. (There
must be a timely, approved compensation claim for parole travel expenses to be
considered. The Commission will not consider parole travel expenses filed as an original
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claim.) 262-X-4-.04 (15)(b) shall be retroactive to the date of the Commission’s
inception.
(c) Travel expenses for immediate family members to attend the victim's funeral may
he considered for reimbursement. The Commission may award up to seven days of per
diem for funeral travel. Eligible funeral travel expenses may be reimbursed at the
current Internal Revenue Service’s standard mileage rate, coach rate for airfare, and per
diem at a rate of $100.
(d) To qualify for reimbursement for mileage, the destination must be greater than ten
miles from the home (or travel starting point) of the person requesting compensation.
(e) Rental Cars. When the person requesting compensation has rented an automobile
for eligible travel expenses, the person may be reimbursed for mileage or a daily rental
car fee of $35. Under no circumstances shall the requesting person receive both.
Mileage will be reimbursed at the current Internal Revenue Service’s standard mileage
rate.

(16) The Commission does not provide property reimbursement or replacement.
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1) Security enhancement. Windows and locks for real property owned by the
claimant/victim; and windows and locks for rental property leased by the
claimant/victim when the claimant/victim is financially responsible for repair(s) to the
leased property.

2) Prescription eyeglasses. The maximum award for damaged prescription eyeglasses is
$350. A receipt/estimate must be provided for the eyeglasses.

(17) Exclusion from Payment. The following expenses shall not be eligible for compensation:
a) Any expense related to the prosecution of the criminal case. (Examples: expert
testimony and witnesses; DNA testing and analysis; evidence photographs and videos;
blood samples and travel expenses for witnesses subpoenaed to testify.)
b) All legal fees shall be excluded from payment except legal fees incurred to establish a
legal guardian for the victim as defined by Alabama Administrative Code (ACVCC) 262-X-
4-,04(22).
(18) Replacement services loss may not exceed four hundred ($400.00) dollars per week. For
incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, through July 8,
2020, compensation for replacement services loss may not exceed six hundred {$600.00)
dollars per week. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1,
2014, through July 8, 2020, replacement services loss is limited to a maximum of 52 weeks. For
incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after July 9, 2020, replacement services
loss may not exceed two hundred ($200.00) dollars per week for a maximum of 26 weeks.
(19) Supplemental awards: The expenses submitted in the supplemental claim must be related
to the original injury and must be supported by documentation.
(20) Checks issued by the ACVCC may contain the following language: “Cashing this check
constitutes payment in full.” This shall not be construed to apply to future compensation
benefits for which the victim/claimant may be eligible. It shall be the responsibility of the
victim/claimant to assert this defense in any type of collection proceeding against him/her. If
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the service provider refuses the check, the compensation shall be paid directly to the
victim/claimant.

(21) When a victim/claimant is approved for charity by a service provider, the charity approval
shall be considered a collateral source and compensation shall not be paid to the service
provider.

(22) When the claimant must seek legal guardianship of a minor and/or disabled victim to
qualify for crime victims’ compensation benefits, the Commission may consider reimbursement
of legal fees incurred for obtaining guardianship. The maximum that may be awarded for legal
fees is $1,000. Legal fees incurred for any reason other than obtaining guardianship shall not
be eligible for reimbursement. The Commission shall not reimburse legal fees if the claimant is
not granted guardianship of the victim.

(23) Bereavement Leave. Bereavement leave may only be granted to the victim’s immediate
family members. A victim’s immediate family member may be granted compensation for a
maximum of four weeks of lost wages without a doctor’s excuse. A doctor’s excuse must be
provided for lost wages in excess of four weeks to be considered for reimbursement. Employer
verification is required for all bereavement leave requests.

(24) Crime Scene Clean-Up. The Commission may provide compensation to an individual or to
the service provider if the expense is outstanding, for the reasonable costs to clean the scene of
the crime in an amount not to exceed $2,500. The service provider must be certified, licensed,
and in compliance with all applicable federal and state regulations. Crime scene clean-up
expenses may only be awarded for the cleaning and removal of hiohazards.

(25) Birth Certificates. Reimbursement may be provided for one certified copy of the claimant’s
and/or victim’s birth certificate(s) obtained after the date of the criminally injurious conduct
made the basis of the claim. The birth certificate(s) must have been obtained for the purpose of
applying for crime victims’ compensation benefits.

(26) Government-Issued Photo Identification. Reimbursement may be provided for one state-
issued driver’s license or one state-issued non-driver’s ID obtained after the date of the
criminally injurious conduct made the basis of the claim.

(27) Reimbursement may be provided for certified victims of human trafficking and all qualified
victims of violent crime for the removal/cover-up of tattoos that were physically forced on
them by the alleged offender in the incident made the basis of the compensation claim. The
Commission shall decide reasonable reimbursement on a case-by-case basis. The provider must
be licensed by the appropriate governmental body to perform the service rendered to qualify
for payment/reimbursement.

(28) Lost Wages for Victims of Sexual Assault. A victim of sexual assault may be granted
compensation for a maximum of two weeks of lost wages without a doctor’s excuse. A doctor’s
excuse must be provided for lost wages in excess of two weeks to be considered for
reimbursement. Employer verification is required for all lost wages requests.

(29) Payment to Non-Claimants. A claimant may assign compensation benefits to a person for
allowable expense to the extent that the compensation benefits are for the cost of products,
services, or accommodations necessitated by the criminally injurious conduct made the basis of
the claim. The claimant must submit a completed Permission for Ancther Individual to Receive
Payments on a Limited Basis form for payment to be issued to the person who incurred the
expense.
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262-X-4-.05 Emergency Awards.

The Commission may make or authorize the executive director to make in advance an
emergency award of compensation to the applicant prior to taking action on an application or
pending a final decision when it appears that the claim is one for which compensation is
probable and undue hardship will result to the applicant if immediate payment is not made.
The Commission may consider undue hardship to exist in the following circumstances:

(a) The applicant is without income at the time of application or immediately prior thereto
resulting in loss of food, heat or shelter;
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(b) The applicant is in fear or danger for his/her life due to his/her victimization; or
(c) The applicant cannot receive emergency services without emergency payment;
(d) Crime scene clean up shall be considered an emergency service,

(e) Prescription drugs that have been prescribed as a result of victimization shall be considered
an emergency product. A copy of the prescription and the pharmacy’s statement of the cost of
the drug must be received by the Commission for the prescription expense to be considered for
emergency payment. Prescriptions for pre-existing medical conditions shall not be considered
for reimbursement.

(f) Moving expenses may be considered an emergency service for applicants. Moving expenses
may be considered as an emergency expense for applicants who have moved and applicants
who have not yet moved. Proof of moving expenses must be received by the Commission for
the moving expense to be considered for emergency payment.

The applicant may request in the initial application that consideration be given for an
emergency award and provide justification for such award. A decision denying an emergency
award shall not be appealable. The amount of such emergency award shall not exceed one
thousand dollars. An emergency award shall be deducted from the final compensation made to
the applicant. If the final award is less than the amount of the emergency award, the applicant
must repay the excess award to the Commission. All emergency awards are subject to the Code
of Ala. 1975.

262-X-4-.06 Garnishment And Assignment Of Compensation Awards.

(1) An award shall not be subject to state or municipal taxation or to execution, attachment, or
garnishment, except as same may pertain to an obligation for the support of dependent children or as
the same may pertain to a creditor which has provided products, services or accommaodations, the cost
of which are included in the award.
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(2) An assignment by the claimant to any future award is unenforceable, except:

(a) an assignment of any award for work loss to assure payment of court ordered
child support; or

{b) an assignment of any award for allowable expense to the extent that the benefits are for the cost of
products, services or accommodations necessitated by the injury or death on

which the claim is based and are provided or to be provided by the assignee.

262-x-4-.07 Mental Health Benefits.
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(1) Qualified Providers

The Commission may provide reimbursement/payment of therapy expenses if the therapy was
provided by a psychiatrist, psychologist, professional counselor, or clinical social worker that is
licensed by the appropriate governmental licensing body. The clinician must have an active
license at the time the therapy was provided in order to qualify for reimbursement/payment of
therapy expenses.

(2) Appropriate Treatment

(a) ACVCC must receive a letter from the clinician certifying that the victim is engaged in
necessary therapy due to his/her victimization.

(b) Quarterly updates from the clinician certifying that the treatment is necessary and the
result of victimization must be submitted in order for payment to be considered.

(¢} The clinician must provide an itemized bill for treatment sessions.
(3) Eligibility for Payment. The claimant, victim, and/or the victim’s immediate family members

may be eligible for mental health benefits.
(4) Cost Containment

(a) Individual Therapy Rates:

$80.00 per hour- Licensed Counselor/Social Worker;

$100.00 per hour- Psychologists (Ph.D.);

$125 per hour- Psychiatrists (M.D.).

(b) Group Therapy Rates: $ 60.00 per hour.

(c) Reimbursement for therapy expenses shall not exceed $6,250, or 50 sessions. Reasonable

efforts should be made to inform victims/claimants that therapy services are provided by
community mental health centers on a sliding fee scale. Inpatient treatment shall be considered
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a medical condition for purposes of compensation. When the victim is a minor, the claimant
shall be limited to 15 individual therapy sessions, unless the victim is deceased. The 15
individual therapy sessions limit shall not apply to homicide claims.

(d) Supplemental therapy bills may be submitted to ACVCC as accrued, for consideration of
payment.

{e) When therapy services have been provided by county mental health centers, ACVCC will
only pay what has been charged on a sliding fee scale.
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(5) Criteria for Payment of Therapy Expenses. Eligibility for payment of therapy expenses is
based upon receipt of the following documentation:

(a) a written statement from the therapist indicating that the therapy is directly related
to the victimization;

{b) an itemized bill from the therapist indicating the dates, times and charges for
therapy; and

{c) evidence that the therapist is licensed by the appropriate governmental licensing
hody.

(6) Therapy via Videoconference. The Commission may reimburse for therapy services
rendered via videoconference when the therapy is compliant with all applicable laws and
regulations.

{7) Interpreters for Victims/Claimants with Limited English Proficiency (LEP).

(a) The Commission may provide reimbursement for reasonable fees incurred for the use of
interpreters by LEP victims/claimants who seek therapy services as a direct result of the
crime. The Commission will determine if the charges are reasonable on a case by case
basis. The availability of interpreters in the LEP victim’s/claimant’s primary or home
language will be considered in determining if the charges are reasonable.

(b) In order to qualify for reimbursement, the interpreter must be:

{1) currently certified by any state, regional or national interpreting association, board
or body as proficient in the LEP individual’s primary or home language, or

(2) found to be qualified to interpret in the LEP individual’s primary or home language
by a municipal, county, state, or federal court.

{3) Unrelated by blood or marriage to the claimant and/or victim.
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262-x-4-.08 Qut-of-State Claims.

a. Pursuant to § 15-23-3 {2)b of the Code of Alabama, criminally injurious conduct includes an act
occurring or attempted outside the geographical boundaries of this state in another state of the United
States of America which is punishable by fine, imprisonment, or death and which results in personal
injury or death to a citizen of this state, and shall include an act of terrorism, as defined in Section 2331
of Title 18, United States Code, committed outside of the United States, against a resident of this state;
provided however, the citizen at the time such act was committed had a permanent place of residence
within the geographical boundaries of this state, and in addition thereto any of the following
circumstances apply, that the citizen:
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1. Had a permanent place of employment located within the geographical boundaries of
this state.

2. Was a member of the regular Armed Forces of the United States of America; or the
United States Coast Guard; or was a full-time member of the Alabama National Guard, Alabama
Air National Guard, U.S. Army Reserve, U.S. Naval Reserve, or U.S. Air Force Reserve.

3. Was retired and receiving Social Security or other retirement income.
4. Was 60 years of age or older.

5. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of
receiving medical treatment.

6. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of
performing employment-related duties required by an employer located within the geographical
boundaries of this state as an express condition of employment or employee benefits.

7. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of
receiving occupational, vocational, or other job-related training or instruction required by an
employer located within the geographical boundaries of this state as an express condition of
employment or employee benefits.

8. Was a full-time student at an academic institution, college, or university located in
another state of the United States of America.

9. Had not departed the geographical boundaries of this state for a period exceeding 30
days or with the intention of becoming a citizen of another state or establishing a permanent
place of residence in another state.

b. The term "criminally injurious conduct" shall not mean: An act committed outside the
geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who was not at the time a citizen of Alabama, or an
act committed outside the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who at the time had
departed the geographical boundaries of this state for the purpose of becoming a citizen of, or
establishing a permanent place of residence in, another state.
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c. For the purpose of determining eligibility for out-of state compensation claims, a citizen of the
State of Alabama is defined as all citizens of the United States with a permanent place of residence in
the State of Alabama.

d. All collateral sources must be considered prior to payment of compensation benefits for
incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring outside the geographical boundaries of the State of

Alabama.

262-x-4-.09 Homicide Victims and Minor Victims
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a. Homicide Victims

1. A homicide victim’s next-of-kin may act as claimant and file for compensation
henefits. The person legally authorized to act on a homicide victim’s behalf may
file for compensation benefits. For example: the next-of-kin of the homicide
victim or the executor of the homicide victim’s estate.

2. If a homicide victim has multiple relatives with the same degree of
consanguinity, the relative that files for compensation benefits first shall be the
claimant.

b. Minor Victims

When the victim of criminally injurious conduct is a minor, the minor victim’s
parent or legal guardian may act as claimant and file for compensation benefits.

262-x-4-.10 Reconsideration of Claims Filed on Behalf of Minor Victims, Incompetent Victims, or
Deceased Victims

1. AUTHORITY
Code of Alabama § 15-23-12(d) (1995), which provides:

The commission, on its own motion or on request of the claimant, may
reconsider a decision granting or denying an award or determining its
amount. An order on reconsideration of an award shall not require a
refund of amounts previously paid, unless the award was obtained by
fraud. The right of reconsideration does not affect the finality of a
commission decision for the purpose of judicial review.

2. Compensation cannot be paid to a claimant who is ineligible for compensation benefits. When
anineligible claimant files for compensation benefits on behalf of a minor victim, incompetent
victim, or deceased victim, the claim must be not approved.

3. The Commission may reconsider a decision denying or reducing a compensation award for a

minor victim, incompetent victim, or deceased victim due to the ineligibility of the claimant, in
the event of either of the following:
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a. The minor victim reaches the age of majority, or can otherwise legally act on his/her
own behalf;

b. A person {other than the ineligible claimant) who is legally authorized to act on behalf of
a minor victim, incompetent victim, or deceased victim files for compensation benefits
on behalf of the victim.

CHAPTER 262-X-5 COOPERATION WITH LAW ENFORCEMENT

262-X-5-.01 Cooperation With Law Enforcement.
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The Commission, upon finding that the claimant or victim has not fully cooperated with appropriate law
enforcement agencies or the Commission staff in the processing of a claim, the Commission may deny,
withdraw, or reduce an award of compensation. The Commission shall determine the extent of the
cooperation by the victim and the following criteria shall be used:

{(a) The claimant's failure to assist and cooperate with the prosecution of the case or to appear as a
witness shall constitute noncooperation and the claim shall be denied.

(b) In instances in which the claimant initially fails to cooperate with law enforcement but subsequently
begins to cooperate, compensation may be reduced or denied to the extent which his/her failure to
cooperate hindered the investigation and/or prosecution of the case.

(c) If law enforcement indicates that the claimant was reluctant to give information pertaining to the
crime; failed to appear when requested, without good cause, gave false or misleading information, or

attempted to avoid law enforcement, the award shall be denied.

{d) A claimant’s failure to cooperate with ACVCC’s processing of the claim shall also be a basis for
rendering a claim ineligible.

CHAPTER 262-X-6 COMPENSATION BENEFITING OFFENDER

262-X-6-.01 Compensation Benefiting Offender.

Compensation shall not be awarded if the award would unjustly benefit the offender or accomplice of
the offender.

262-X-6-.02 Domestic Abuse.

No claim resulting from an incident of domestic abuse shall be denied based solely upon a finding that a
claimant resides or has resided with the alleged offender of the crime for which the claim has been filed.
The Commission shall not deny payments to third party vendors based solely upon a finding that the

victim and offender are maintaining a relationship.

(a) Procedures. When victims of domestic abuse have submitted claims for lost wages, and where the
Commission finds that the victim is living with the offender, or if the Commission is unable to determine
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(7) The Commission may reduce an award amount based on the amount already received from a
collateral source contribution, unless the claimant was receiving or was entitled to receive such benefits
prior to the incident for which a claim is filed.

(8) In the event the claimant recovers compensation, other than through the provisions of this chapter,
for injuries or death resulting from criminally injurious conduct, the claimant shall retain, as trustee for
the Commission, so much of recovered funds as necessary to reimburse the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission Fund to the extent that compensation was awarded to the claimant from
that fund.
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CHAPTER 262-X-8 PENALTIES FOR FILING FALSE CLAIMS

262-X-8-.01 Penalties For Filing False Claims.

(1) Any person who shall knowingly furnish any false information to the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission or to any member, agent or employee thereof with the intent to defraud
said Commission, or with the intent to obtain an award of compensation for a person not entitled to
receive same, shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

(2) Any person who shall knowingly fail or omit to disclose a material fact or circumstance to the
Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission or to any member, agent or employee thereof which
is material to a claim for an award of compensation with the intent to defraud the Commission or with
the intent to cause a person to receive an award of compensation to which such person is not entitled
shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

CHAPTER 262-X-9 APPEALS PROCEDURE

262-X-9-.01 Appeals Procedure. - REPEALED

CHAPTER 262-X-10 ATTORNEY'S FEES

262-X-10-.01 Attorney's Fees.

If a claimant or victim chooses to be represented by an attorney, said claimant or victim will be
responsible for the payment of his or her attorney's fees.

CHAPTER 262-X-11 SEXUAL ASSAULT

262-X-11-.01 Sexual Assault Examination Payment Program.

Program Description: This section provides for payment of the initial forensic examination which is
performed on victims of sexual violence for the purpose of obtaining evidence to potentially pursue
criminal charges against sexual assault offenders and for the prevention and treatment of venereal
disease. Adult and child sexual assault examinations may be paid pursuant to the below sections.
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AUTHORITY
Code of Alabama § 15-23-5 (24} (1995}, which provides:

The commission shall have all the powers and privileges of a corporation and all of its
business shall be transacted in the name of the commission. In addition to any other
powers and duties specified elsewhere in this article, the commission shall have the
power to: Provide for the cost of medical examinations for the purpose of gathering
evidence and treatment for preventing venereal disease in sexual abuse crimes and
offenses.
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1) DEFINITIONS

a) Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner: a registered nurse who has received specialized
training or certification that qualifies him/her to conduct sexual assault
examinations for adult and child victims of sexual assault for the purpose of
gathering and preserving evidence for potential use in a criminal prosecution. A
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner may also administer prophylaxis against venereal
disease.

b) Sexual Assault Examination: a physical examination performed by a registered
nurse or physician in a hospital or medical clinic or a Sexual Assault Nurse
Examiner in a SANE facility on adult victims of sexual assault for the purpose of
gathering and preserving evidence for potential use in a criminal prosecution
and the treatment and prevention of venereal disease.

c) Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Fee: Fee paid for the professional services of a
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner.

d) SANE Facility: A community or hospital-based program that provides for the
collection and preservation of evidence in cases of sexual violence, as well as
the treatment and prevention of venereal disease in a compassionate, victim-
sensitive setting.

e} Child Sexual Assault Examination: a physical examination performed by a
registered nurse or physician in a hospital or medical clinic or a Sexual Assault
Nurse Examiner in a SANE facility on a child victim of sexual assault who is less
than eighteen years of age for the purpose of gathering and preserving evidence
for potential use in a criminal prosecution and the treatment and prevention of
venereal disease.

2) COLLATERAL SOURCE

a) Any expense associated with a sexual assault examination covered or paid by a collateral source
will not be reimbursed by the Commission.

b) Code of Alabama § 15-23-3 (13) (1995) defines collateral source as follows:
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(a) COLLATERAL SOURCE. Source of income, financial or other benefits
or advantages for economic loss other than the compensation paid
by the compensation commission which the claimant has received
or is entitled to receive or is readily available to the claimant, from
any one or more of the following:

The offender.
b. The government of the United States or any agency

o

thereof, in the form of benefits, such as Social Security,

Medicare and Medicaid, a state or any of its political

subdivisions or an instrumentality of two or more

states, unless the law providing for the benefits or

advantages makes them excessive or secondary to

benefits under this article.

Any temporary nonoccupational disability insurance.

Workers' compensation.

Wage continuation programs of any employer.

Proceeds of a contract of insurance payable to the

claimant for loss which the victim sustained because of

the criminally injurious conduct.

g. A contract providing prepaid hospital and other health
care services or benefits for disability.
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¢} Anycollateral source available for the payment of a sexual assault examination must be utilized
prior to submitting a sexual assault examination to the Commission’s Sexual Assault Examination
Payment Program.

i) A hospital, medical clinic, or SANE facility should not bill the victim of sexual viclence for the
sexual assault examination. Alabama Attorney General Troy King's Protoco! for the
Examination and Treatment of Victims of Sexual Assaulf states “victims should not be billed
for sexual assault examinations.” Alabama Attorney General Troy King’s Protocol for the
Examination and Treatment of Victims of Sexual Assault, page 20.

3) ELIGIBILITY AND PAYMENT PROCEDURES

a) Sexual assault examinations performed on or after July 27, 1995, may be considered for
payment.

b} Exams Performed in Hospitals and Medical Clinics
i) Sexual assault examinations performed by a registered nurse or physician in a hospital or
medical clinic for the purpose of gathering evidence and treating and preventing venereal

disease will be considered for payment.

{1) Hospitals and medical clinics must submit the current version of an UB form, itemized
bill, and medical records.
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i)

c)

Sexual assault examinations performed in a hospital or medical clinic will be reviewed to
determine the reasonableness and eligibility of the charges.

(1) If after the Commission’s review of the charges, they are found to be charged at an
excessive rate and/or not rendered for the purpose of gathering evidence and/or treating
and preventing venereal disease, the charges will be denied for payment.

iii) If after the Commission’s review of the charges, it is determined that they do not comply
with the Alabama Attorney General’s Protocol for the Examination and Treatment or Victims
of Sexual Assaulf, the charges will be denied for payment.
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Exams Performed by a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE).

i} Each itemized bill or statement for a sexual assault examination will be considered for
payment in the order that it is received.

ii) Each itemized bill or statement will be reviewed for accuracy and to determine the
appropriate payment category. The itemized bill or statement will be paid based upon the
payment category the Commission determines is appropriate.

iii) The Commission will provide reimbursement for “Jane Doe” sexual assault examinations
performed on adult victims.

iv) The Commission will not reimburse for “Jane Doe” sexual assault examinations for children.

v) Each itemized bill or statement must identify the International Classification of Diseases {ICD-
9) code.

vi) Each billed procedure, service or supply/medication must be itemized.
vii) Each billed procedure, service or supply/medication must include the appropriate Physicians’
Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) code.

viii) The initial forensic examination will be considered for payment. Only services rendered, and
medications provided “for the purpose of gathering evidence and treatment for preventing
venereal disease in sexual abuse crimes and offenses” will be considered pursuant to the
Commission’s Sexual Assault Examination Payment Policy.

ix) Each itemized bill or statement must include a copy of the completed Sexual Assault
Information Form (AL102) that is included in the State of Alabama Collection Kit provided by
the Alabama Department of Forensic Sciences or equivalent documentation. Alabama
Department of Forensic Sciences provides collection kits free of charge and payment will not
be provided for the kits.

x) Signed, written confirmation from an employee of the SANE facility that the sexual assault
was reported to the Department of Human Resources {DHR) or law enforcement must be
provided in cases in which the victim is a minor. If confirmation is not received, the sexual
assault examination will not be considered for payment.
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d) Referrals from Hospitals and Medical Clinics

i}  When a hospital or medical clinic refers a victim of sexual violence to a SANE facility, the
SANE facility will be paid for the cost of the sexual assault examination.

# When a hospital or medical clinic and a SANE facility perform a sexual assault examination for
the same incident, the SANE facility will be paid for the cost of the sexual assault
examination. If the hospital or medical clinic administered medication and the SANE facility
did not administer medication, the hospital or medical clinic may be paid the difference
between the cost of an exam with medication and the cost of an exam without medication
for the appropriate payment category.

iii} The Commission will not pay a hospital or medical clinic and a SANE facility a duplicate fee for
the same incident through the Sexual Assault Examination Payment Program.
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4) COLLECTION OF EVIDENCE WITHIN 72 HOURS
a) If itis determined that the sexual assault took place more than 72 hours prior to the sexual
assault examination, the use of an evidence collection kit may not be necessary. Alabama
Attorney General’ Alabama Protocol for the Examination and Treatment of Victims of Sexual
Assault.

i) The reasonableness of the charges for sexual assault examinations performed after 72 hours
will be determined on a case-by-case basis.

(1) The age, mental capacity, and the victim’s ability to seek a sexual assault examination
within 72 hours of the assault will be considered when making a determination
regarding the reasonableness of a sexual assault exam performed more than 72 hours
after the sexual assault.

5) INELIGIBLE EXPENSES

a) The following expenses are not eligible pursuant to the Commission’s Sexual Assault
Examination Payment Program:

i) treatment forinjuries;
ii) medication for any purpose other than the treatment and prevention of venereal disease;
i) hospital admissions.
b) All sexual assault victims should be provided a crime victims’ compensation application.
Expenses that are ineligible pursuant to the Commission’s Sexual Assault Examination Payment
Program may be eligible for crime victims’ compensation benefits.

6) FALSE REPORTS
i. a) The Commission will not compensate for a sexual assault examination if it is determined that a
rape or sexual assault did not occur. Examples of false reports include, but are not limited to,

consensual sexual contact and no sexual contact.

7) SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATIONS CONDUCTED ON ALLEGED PERPETRATORS/OFFENDERS
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{1) The Commission does not provide for the cost of sexual assault examinations performed
on alleged perpetrators/offenders.

8) SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION PAYMENT CATEGORIES

a) Child Sexual Assault Examination Without Medication - $400
i} This fee includes exam, nurse examiner fee, pregnancy test, microscopic sperm screening,
14 Fr Foley Hymenal Exam, and drug screen.
i} If the itemized bill is less than $400, the lesser amount of the itemized bill will be paid.

b} Adult Sexual Assault Examination Without Medication - $400
i} This fee includes exam, nurse examiner fee, pregnancy test, microscopic sperm screening,
14 Fr Foley Hymenal Exam, and drug screen.
i) If the itemized bill is less than $400, the lesser amount of the itemized bill will be paid.
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c) Adult Sexual Assault Examination with Medication - $550
i) This fee includes exam, nurse examiner fee, pregnancy test, microscopic sperm screening,
14 Fr Foley Hymenal Exam, drug screen, and all medications except HIV prophylaxis.
i) If the itemized bill is less than $550, the lesser amount of the itemized bill will be paid.

d) Child Sexual Assault Examination with Medication - $550
i) This fee includes exam, nurse examiner fee, pregnancy test, microscopic sperm screening,
14 Fr Foley Hymenal Exam, drug screen, and all medications except HIV prophylaxis.
i) If the itemized bill is less than $550, the lesser amount of the itemized bill will be paid.

e) Sexual Assault Examinations Conducted Away from Office /Clinic Base - $300
f} Lab Processing Fee - S50
i} Alab processing fee may be paid for testing for venereal diseases for sexual assault
examinations performed at a hospital or SANE Clinic. Documentation of the testing must be
provided in order to issue payment for a lab processing fee.

{1) The Commission does not provide compensation for lab or specimen collection fees.

9) HIV PROPHYLAXIS

a.) The Commission may consider payment for the cost of providing HIV prophylaxis for victims of
sexual violence through its Sexual Assault Examination Payment Program. Payment for HIV prophylaxis
may be reduced when payment is made by insurance or other collateral sources.

i} Ifitis determined that a victim of sexual violence is at risk for exposure to HIV, the
Commission may provide payment for a 28-day drug regimen of HIV prophylaxis to a SANE
facility, hospital, medical clinic, pharmacy, or victim of sexual violence.

ii) The Commission may provide payment for one follow-up medical visit to monitor tolerance

of the HIV prophylaxis by a victim of sexual violence. The amount of payment for this expense
will be decided on a case-by-case basis and it will be determined based on the
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reasonableness of the charges. (Additional medical care may be considered for payment if
the victim of sexual violence files a regular crime victims’ compensation application.)

iii} If a victim of sexual violence has health insurance, the pharmacy, hospital, or medical clinic
filling the prescription for HIV prophylaxis must first seek payment of the expense from the
health insurance provider.

b} The Commission will not reimburse for HIV prophylaxis if the nature of the assault does not
support this treatment protocol.
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c¢) The Commission recognizes that HIV prophylaxis is costly. Sexual assault examinations that
exceed $2,000 must be presented to the three-member Commission for approval pursuant to
section 15-23-5 (13) of the Code of Alabama. Sexual assault examinations that exceed $2,000
may take longer to process for payment.

d) HIV Prophylaxis Payment Limitations

i} Truvada (28-day supply): $1,546.52
ii) Isentress 400 mg (28-day supply): $1,473.72
iii} Retrovir (28-day supply): $554.60
iv) Epivir (28-day supply): 5498

v) Tivicay (28-day supply): $1825.99

262-X-11-.02 Eligibility Criteria for Sexual Assault Payments. — REPEALED

CHAPTER 262-X-12 DOMESTIC VIOLENCE -REPEALED

262-X-13 SPECIAL SERVICES

262-X-13-.01 Persons with Limited English Proficiency

Purpose: The ACVCC is committed to providing all victims/claimants with meaningful access to its
services. The ACVCC shall provide at no cost to the victims/claimants, timely and accurate language
assistance and communication assistance to persons with limited English proficiency (LEP). Language
assistance will likely be needed during the submission of the application, claim investigation and appeal
hearing. The ACVCC is committed to providing language assistance without delay, at every contact
point.

(1) Definitions:

(a) Limited-English-Proficient Persons: Individuals with a primary or home language other
than English who must, due to limited fluency in English, communicate in that primary
or home language if the individuals are to have an equal opportunity to participate
effectively in or benefit from any aid, service or benefit provided by the ACVCC.

(b) Appropriately trained:
(1) Proficiency in both English and the language spoken by the LEP individual;
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(2) Orientation or training that includes the ethics of interpreting; and

(3) Fundamental knowledge in both languages of specialized terms and
concepts.

(c) Vital documents: Documents that individuals applying for compensation benefits must
understand, respond to or complete in order to access the crime victims compensation
program. Vital documents also include documents that inform the victim/claimant of
his/her rights.

(2) Language Assistance Procedure
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(a) Oral Language Interpretation
(1) ACVCC will provide competent interpreters and other language assistance in a
timely manner.

(b) Interpreter Sources: ACVCC will use a variety of resources that include:
(1) Outside interpreter services;

(2) Voluntary community interpreters who are trained and competent in the skill of
interpreting;

(3) A telephone language interpreter service.

(3) Certified/Qualified Interpreters: The ACVCC does not certify individuals as interpreters. However,
any person may serve as an interpreter for LEP persons if the individual meets the following
requirements:

(a) The individual has been certified pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1827 (B)(1) or found to be
otherwise qualified pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1827 (B){2) in the LEP individual’s primary or
home language by the Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts;
or

(b) Is currently certified by any state, regional or national interpreting association,
board or body as proficient in the LEP individual’s language.

(4) Non-Certified Qualified Interpreters: ACVCC recognizes that a victim/claimant may choose to utilize
the services of an interpreter who is not certified, such as a family member or friend. When this occurs,
ACVCC will ensure informed choice by taking the following steps:

(a) ACVCC will inform the victim/claimant that the agency will provide an interpreter at no
cost to the victim/claimant.

(b) If the victim/claimant makes an informed choice to use an interpreter who is not
qualified, ACVCC will have the victim/claimant sign a form documenting that choice.

(c) The interpreter will sign an acknowledgement of his/her responsibility and provide an
oral translation of the informed choice statement to the victim/claimant.
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(d) These actions will be documented in the victim’s/claimant’s file with copies of the
signed documents.

(e) ACVCC will utilize the services of a qualified interpreter to ensure accurate
interpretation, when the victim/claimant’s chooses to utilize the services of a non-

certified qualified interpreter.

(5) Translation of Written Materials
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(a) ACVCC shall provide all vital documents, including the claim application, in Spanish in
hard copy and on the ACVCC website, if appropriate.

(b) The ACVCC shall review the LEP policy, frequency of contact with LEP individuals, and
general population data for the state of Alabama at the beginning of each fiscal year in
order to determine if the LEP population demographics have changed to include a
significant number of LEP individuals who require translation/interpretation services in
some language other than Spanish.

(c) In the instance that an LEP victim/claimant requires vital documents and an interpreter
in a language other than Spanish, the ACVCC shall make all vital documents available to
the victim/claimant in his/her language as soon as possible, without delay. A telephone
translation service will be utilized immediately to communicate with the victim/claimant
and advise him/her that the vital documents will soon be available in his/her language.

{6) Notice to LEP Individuals: ACVCC will provide effective notice to LEP individuals that they have
the right to language assistance and that such assistance is free of charge.
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PO Box 231267
MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36123-1267
(334) 290-4420
(800) 541-9388 (VICTIMS ONLY)
FAX (334) 290-4455
HTTPS://ACVCC.ALABAMA.GOV/
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