The Alabama Crime Victims'
Compensation Commission

, Annual Report p
October 01, 2020 to September 30, 2021

Helping Innocent Victims
of Violent Crime

“




THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK



’,, ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS'
\\/~ COMPENSATION COMMISSION

P.O. Box 231267

COMMISSIONERS
Teresa L. Jones, Ph.D. Mentgomery, AL 36123-1267 Holly Brown-Owens, Ph.D.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Sheriff Jay Jones

Hon. Darlene Hutchinson

TIVE DIRECTOR

Honorable Kay Ivey
Governor of Alabama
Alabama State Capitol
Montgomery, AL 36130

Honorable Members of the State Legislature
State of Alabama

Alabama State House

Montgomery, AL 36130

Dear Governor Ivey, Ladies and Gentlemen:

On behalf of the Commissioners of the Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation Commission
(Commission) and dedicated staff, it is my honor to submit the Annual Report of the Commission for the
period October 1, 2020 through September 30, 2021. This report outlines those areas under the auspices of
the Commission, as well as activities the Commission has endeavored to present and sustain each year.

For the aforementioned period, a total of $1,813,637.02 was provided to victims of violent crimes
for financial losses they incurred as a result of victimization. Since the Commission’s inception in 1984,
$118,455,032 have been provided to assist victims of crime.

As always, we are appreciative of assistance received from law enforcement officers, judges,
district attorneys, victim service officers, victim advocacy groups, and service providers who work in
tandem with us to serve those who have suffered immeasurable loss.

Thank you for supporting the Commission.

Sincerely,

fins L o

Teresa L. Jones, Ph.D.
Executive Director

Reach for our helping hand.

334-290-4420 334-290-4455 [fax)  1-800-541-9388 |victims only)
WwWW.acvec alobama.gov




Annual Report

NOD 40 319V

COMMISSIONETS ...ttt 2
Executive Director . ... 3
Mission and HIiStory ..o 4
FUNAING e 6
ApPPHCAtON .. 8
What HOpPeNSs ... 10
SHat 12
Organizational Chart ... 14
PUblications ... 15

Statistical Data

Financial Report .. ... 16
Initial Claims Received and Paid ............ooooiiiiii 17
Statistical Data ... 18
Approved Initial Claims by Primary Offense ...............cocooiiiiiii, 19
Award Summary in History of Program ... 19
Claims Received by County ... 20
Approved Claims Disbursements by County ..., 21
Claims Processed by Age, Ethnicity, Gender ...................oooiiiini. 22
Breakdown of Not-Approved Claims by Reason .....................ool. 23
Forensic Sexual Assault Exam Kits Paid ... 23
Exhibits
Statute, Code of Alabama 1975, Section 15-23-1 etseq. ....c.oooeiininil. 24
Alabama Administrative Code ..........oviiiiiiiii 30

ANNUAL REPORT 2021 [ THE ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION 1



r. Holly Brown Owens is the Lead Biology Instructor for the Science

Department at Wallace Community College in Selma, Alabama. Prior to

coming to Alabama, Dr. Owens was a Physical Scientist with the National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Charleston, South Carolina. While
in South Carolina, she was afforded the opportunity to travel abroad on many
occasions to present her research as well as meet with past Nobel Laureates in
Germany to discuss the trends of minorities in Science. She received her
Bachelors of Science in Biology from Stillman College and her Masters and
Ph.D. from Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University. Dr. Owens teaching
interests include Anatomy and Physiology as well as Microbiology. Dr. Owens'
work in Selma and Montgomery over the past decade has allowed her to work closely with many
different young people in a variety of settings. She communicates directly with them about their
needs while discovering ways to be most helpful. Dr. Owens resides with her husband and three
children in Montgomery, Alabama.

V)
i
Z
O
£
=
=
O

heriff Jones began his law-enforcement career with the Lee County Sheriff’s

Office in 1975. He has experienced all aspects of the operations of the

Sheriff’s Office. He was first elected Lee County Sheriff in 1998 and is still
serving. His obtained a BS degree from Auburn University in 1976 and a MS
degree from Troy State University in 1980. His professional education and
training includes the FBI National Academy (146th session), FBI Law
Enforcement Executive Development Seminar (58th session), National Sheriff’s
Institute (Class 00-1), Southern Law Enforcement Executive Development
Seminar (1999), and the United States Secret Service Dignitary Protection
Seminar (2003). His professional affiliations include service as a governor’s
appointee to the Advisory Committee on Women in Criminal Justice, the
Alabama Crime Victim’s Compensation Commission, the Alabama Local Government Records
Commission and the Alabama Peace Officers Annuity and Benefit Fund board. His professional
memberships include the FBI National Academy Associates, the Police Futurists International, the
National Sheriff’s Association, the Alabama Sheriff’s Association, the Law Enforcement Executive
Development Association, the Alabama Jail Association, the Alabama Peace Officers’ Association
and the Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #21. Sheriff Jones’ civic involvement includes
membership in the Auburn Rotary Club and the Bleecker Ruritan Club. He has also served as an
adjunct instructor of Criminal Justice at Auburn University.

iriam Shehane was appointed to the original Commission in 1984 for a

four-year term by Governor George Wallace and was re-appointed by

Governor Guy Hunt in 1988. She served until 1992 and was re-appointed
in July 1993 by Governor Jim Folsom, July 1998 by Governor Fob James and
July 2001 by Gov. Siegelman. She is a former banker and has worked as the
Victim Service Officer in the District Attorney's Office in Montgomery and as the
Supervisor of the Attorney General's Office of Victim Assistance. Mrs. Shehane's
dedication to the victims' movement in Alabama has been acknowledged
throughout the nation where she has been asked to speak at national
conferences on victims' issues. Mrs. Shehane was one of the founding members of VOCAL, Victims of
Crime and Leniency, and has served on the Board since its inception in 1982. She found out about
trauma of victimization first hand when her 21 year old daughter Quenette, was murdered in 1976
while enrolled at Birmingham Southern. Mrs. Shehane's son, Jon, passed in January 2012. Miriam
and her husband, Edward, (who passed in 2016), have one child, 7 grandchildren, 8 great-
grandchildren, and reside in Clio, Alabama.
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r. Teresa Jones was appointed as the Commission’s Executive Director

on November 18, 2021. Prior to her appointment, she served as the

Commission’s Deputy Director for nearly eight years and also as its
Victim Service Officer. While serving in her previous roles with the
Commission, she managed and restructured the Sexual Assault Exam
Payment Program. She also coordinated the agency’s outreach efforts, and
acted as the Commission’s representative on local, state and federal human
trafficking, sexual assault, and domestic violence committees and task
forces. Additionally, she planned and organized the Commission’s annual
reception for victims, law enforcement, and social service providers in honor
of the National Crime Victims’ Rights Week observance.
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Along with her experience with the Commission, Dr. Jones worked as a Mental Health
Therapist in the Brief Intensive Treatment division of the East Alabama Mental Health Center. She
also served as Victim Service Officer/Grant Manager for the Alabama Attorney General’s Office
under the Hon. William H. Pryor, Jr.

Dr. Jones is deeply committed to improving the Commission’s delivery of services and fulfilling
its mission to provide timely and compassionate financial assistance to eligible victims of violent
crime.

Dr. Jones received a Ph.D. in Counseling Psychology from Auburn University, an Ed.S. in

Counseling from Northern lllinois University, and M.Ed. in Educational Psychology and B.A. in
Psychology from the University of Mississippi.

NOTE: Dr. Cassie Jones was ACVCC'’s Executive Director during the 2021 fiscal year.
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It is the mission of the Alabama Crime Victims' Compensation
Commission to provide timely and efficient assistance to innocent victims
of violent crime in a confidential manner. The Commission primarily
offers this assistance by providing eligible victims of violent crime with
financial assistance for qualified expenses, while always being mindful
that crime victims have the right to be treated with fairness, compassion
and respect. The Commission also works in conjunction with others in
the victim service community to advocate for victims' rights and other
related issues.
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Creation of the Alabama Crime Victims' Compensation Commission (Commission)

In its wisdom, the Alabama Legislature passed the Alabama Crime Victims” Compensation
Commission Act June 01, 1984, becoming the 40th state to pass a law to compensate victims of
violent crime. The year 2021 marked 37 years of assistance being available to Alabama’s innocent
victims of violent crimes. The Commission provides the only substantial financial compensation to
victims for expenses due to personal injuries. This includes medical expenses, funeral expenses,
counseling expenses, lost wages, moving expenses, prescription expenses, and emergency funds.
All applicants must meet eligibility criteria before compensation may be awarded. Alabama has a
unique program that incorporates the best of many other states' programs, as well as some original
ideas of its own

One of the features of Alabama’s law which makes it unique is the existence of a three-member
Commission, appointed by the Governor. Additionally, there is a requirement to include on the
Commission, either a victim of a crime of violence who suffered serious personal injury or an
immediate family member of a homicide victim. This provision insures that each claim is viewed
through the eyes of a victim. The law also provides that one member must be a law enforcement
officer with a minimum of 10 years experience in or with a law enforcement agency that investigates
violent crimes. This provision lends a great deal of expertise to the decision-making process.

Amendments to the Compensation Law

In 1986, amendments to the ACVCC law passed requiring all persons convicted of a felony pay
a victim assessment fee.

In the 1990 regular session of the Legislature, amendments passed increasing the limits for
funeral expenses from $2,000 to $3,000. This amendment also provides additional funding for
district attorneys to employ at least one victim service officer in each circuit.

e Inthe 1995 regular session of the Alabama Legislature, amendments passed authorizing
payments for sexual assault examinations; further defining reasons for diminishing or
denying compensation awards; and clarifying that additional costs and assessments shall be
assessed in certain juvenile and youthful offender cases.
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1995 was a historic year for crime victims in Alabama because the Alabama Constitution was
amended to include certain rights for victims of crime. This constitutional amendment provides that
within seventy-two hours of the criminal event, the law enforcement agency investigating the crime
will provide the victim with a form to invoke his/her rights pursuant to the constitution. Furthermore,
the form given by the law enforcement officer will inform the victim of the existence and availability
of financial assistance from the Commission. This constitutional amendment makes it possible for
more victims to be notified of the Commission and the benefits it has to offer.

During the 1997/1998 regular session, the Alabama Legislature, amended the ACVCC law
making the following changes:

e Criminally Injurious Conduct shall include the act of terrorism as defined in §2331 of Title
18, United States Code, committed outside of the United States, against a resident of this
state.

e The maximum compensation allowance increased from $10,000 to $15,000.

e Increased the allowable amount for expenses relating to funeral, cremation, or burial from
$3,000 to $5,000.

e Increased compensation for work loss, replacement services loss, and dependents'
replacement service loss from $200 to $400 per week.

e The maximum compensation for future economic loss increased to $5,000.

e Clarifying language added to §15-23-4 to keep the names and addresses of the victim or
claimant confidential.

e Language added to §15-23-12 to clarify the circumstances for filing with the Commission
later than one year after the injury or death upon which the claim is based "unless" the
Commission finds good cause.

e Llanguage added to §15-23-12 to clarify reporting to a law enforcement officer "later than"
seventy-two hours after the crime’s occurrence, unless the Commission finds there was good
cause for the failure to report within that time.

During the 2014 regular session, the Alabama Legislature amended the ACVCC law to make
the following changes:

e The maximum compensation allowance was increased from $15,000 to $20,000.

e Increased the allowable amount for expenses relating to funeral, cremation, or burial from
$5,000 to $7,000.

e Increased compensation for work loss, replacement services loss, and dependents’
replacement services loss from $400 to $600 per week.

e The $5,000 maximum for future economic loss was removed and replaced with maximum
payout.

e Language was added to address loss of income by domestic violence victims who escaped
an abusive relationship.

e A provision for promotional items was added.

IH ANV NOISSIW
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The Commission is funded by the collection of fines, court costs,
restitution, donations, and a federal grant.

Court Costs

The clerk of court for each respective judicial circuit collects the fines, fees, and restitution owed
to the Commission by criminal offenders. The court clerk remits these monies to the Commission
each month. The court clerk is responsible for the important task of maintaining accurate records of
the amounts due the Commission for deposit into the Crime Victims Compensation Fund.
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The Commission receives $2 from each moving traffic violation such as a speeding ticket. For
each misdemeanor or violation of a municipal ordinance an additional court cost of $10 is
collected for the Crime Victims Compensation Fund. If the offense constitutes a felony, $15 in
additional court cost is imposed.

Victim Assessment Fees

Alabama law requires a Victim Assessment Fee be imposed for all felony or misdemeanor
convictions. The minimum victim assessment fees are mandatory; however, the judge does have
discretion to order an amount above the minimum. Judges are required to order the victim
assessment fee for juvenile and youthful offender cases as well as adult cases.

Amended in 1990, the felony victim assessment fee minimum is $50, with a maximum
assessment of $10,000 possible. The Commission receives the first $25 of the assessment. The
Office of Prosecution Services receives the second $25 of the assessment. The Commission receives
any portion of the assessment above the minimum.

The misdemeanor victim assessment fee minimum is $25, with a maximum assessment of
$1,000 possible. The Commission receives the first $12.50 of the assessment. The Office of
Prosecution Services receives the second $12.50 of the assessment. The Commission receives any
portion of the assessment above the minimum.

Subrogation

Under Alabama law, the Commission is automatically subrogated to the victim's or claimant's
rights to recover compensation from collateral sources; such as, insurance payments, civil suit
recoveries, restitution orders, or settlements. Alabama law requires a victim or claimant who initiates
any legal proceeding to recover restitution or damages related to the victimization, provide the
Commission written notice of the action within fifteen days of filing the action. The Commission is
subrogated to the extent of any compensation awards resulting from the given victimization.

Restitution

Judges may order defendants to pay restitution to the victim for expenses incurred as a result of
the victimization. In cases where the Commission has awarded compensation, restitution may be
ordered directly to the Commission as reimbursement.
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Federal Grant

In 1984, the United States Congress passed The Victims of Crime Act (VOCA). The U.S.
Department of Justice, as mandated by the VOCA legislation, collects fines and fees from offenders
convicted of federal violations. Each year these federal funds are made available to the various
states' crime victims’ compensation programs in the form of federal grants. The Commission makes
application for reimbursement funds in an amount not to exceed 60% of the total dollars paid as
compensation to violent crime victims.
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The staff of the U.S. Attorneys Office, the Federal Bureau of Prisons, the Federal Probation
Office, and the Victims of Crime Fund have our thanks for their diligence in collecting the federal
fines and disbursing those awards to the states. These federal funds make it possible for the
Commission to provide compensation benefits to all eligible victims of violent crime in Alabama.

Donations

Alabama law allows the Commission to accept gifts and donations. The Commission is grateful
to those who have generously chosen to donate to the Alabama Crime Victims” Compensation
Fund.
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How to Apply

A crime victim or their representative (claimant) makes application by completing and signing a
compensation application. An application may be obtained by calling (334) 290-4420 or toll-free
at 1-800-541-9388 (victims only). The application and other information about compensation is
available on the Commission website, www.acvcc.alabama.gov. Applications and brochures are
generally available at district attorneys' offices, sheriffs' offices, and police departments. Each district
attorney's office has a victim service officer (VSO) available to inform and assist victims with
compensation applications. The Commission's staff is also available to answer questions and assist
in completing the application. The application is available in English and Spanish. The Commission
offers free language assistance to persons with limited English proficiency.

Eligibility

Any person who is an innocent victim of criminally injurious conduct and who has sustained
personal injuries as a result, a surviving spouse or child of a victim who died as a result of criminally
injurious conduct, or a person authorized to act on behalf of a victim or a dependent may be

eligible for compensation. Applicants must meet all eligibility criteria before compensation may be
awarded.
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Compensation May Include

Prior to July 09, 2020, the maximum compensation was $20,000. Currently, the maximum
compensation is $15,000 with limitations on certain expenses. The compensation may cover the
following:

e Medical care—including doctor and hospital care, dental expenses, prescriptions, medical
supplies, inpatient psychiatric care, etc. This does not include expenses covered by
insurance. Medical expenses are reimbursed at a reduced rate.

e Counseling—including counselor, psychologist or psychiatric fees for counseling, unless
covered by another source. There is a maximum of fifty sessions or $6,250, however, up to
$8,000 may be available for exigent circumstances. As of July 09, 2020, exigent
circumstances cannot be considered. Payments are limited to $80 per hour for licensed
professional counselors and social workers; $100 per hour for psychologists; and $125 per
hour for psychiatrists. The rate for group therapy is $60 per hour.

e Funeral expenses—including funeral home expenses, cremation, burial expenses, and
monument up to $7,000 combined. As of July 09, 2020, the limit is $5,000.

e Work Loss—including the victim, claimant, or immediate family member's net (take-home)
weekly pay for a reasonable length of absence from work. There is a maximum of $600 per
week for work loss, annual leave, sick leave, personal leave or holiday, up to fifty-two weeks
may be considered. As of July 09, 2020, the maximum is $400 per week for work loss.

e Rehabilitation—including vocational or physical therapy, if not covered by another source.
e Property—only property damaged as the result of the violent crime is eligible. This does not
include automobile repairs, insurance deductibles, appliances, or money. A maximum of
$3,000 may be awarded for eligible property expenses, with clothing limited to a $500
maximum. As of July 09, 2020, a maximum of $1,500 maybe awarded for eligible

property.
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e  Moving—up to $2,000 total for security deposits, utility deposits, or moving costs may be
available in extreme circumstances when the victim is in imminent physical danger and the
offense occurred at the victim’s home. Exigent circumstances may allow up to $3,000. On
February 24, 2020, exigent circumstances decreased to $2,000 and moving expenses
decreased to $1,000. As of July 09, 2020, exigent circumstances cannot be considered.

e Future economic loss—future expenses or losses to the victim or victim's dependents
resulting from the victimization. Losses must be justified with an explanation of how losses
were calculated.

e Replacement services loss—expenses the claimant would not have suffered had the victim
lived may not exceed $600 per week and is limited to a maximum of 52 weeks. As of
July 09, 2020, replacement services loss may not exceed two hundred $200 per week for
a maximum of 26 weeks.

e Travel—expense incurred to obtain out-of-town medical or psychiatric care, to attend court
proceedings related to the victimization, or attend the victim’s funeral. Compensation is
based on current State of Alabama, in-state travel guidelines.
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Supplemental Compensation

Provision is made for supplemental compensation, within the defined maximums, as additional
expenses arise. The victim or claimant need only submit the expense and the Commission will
review the supplemental request for eligibility. In instances where the supplemental compensation
request is $1,000 or less, the Executive Director may determine eligibility.

Travel expenses to a parole hearing may also be considered as supplemental compensation. In
order to be eligible, the victim or claimant must have a timely, approved compensation claim.

Emergency Compensation

Provision is made for disbursement of emergency compensation, up to $2,000, in cases where
urgent need is substantiated and critical services cannot be obtained without payment. The
maximum award for emergency awards with an incident date of July 09, 2020, or later is $1,000.

Sexual Assault Exams

In July of 1995, Alabama law was amended to allow medical providers to submit bills for the
charges of medical examinations for the purpose of gathering evidence and treatment for
preventing venereal disease in sexual assault crimes. The Commission also pays for the HIV
prophylaxis. When medical personnel evaluate a sexual assault victim, a forensic evidence kit is
collected. The bill for these services is then submitted to the Commission for payment consideration.
This provision ensures sexual assault victims do not have to pay for the collection of forensic
evidence.

Sexual assault victims may be compensated for other eligible expenses incurred and are
encouraged to make application using the regular compensation application.
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Application Received

The processing of a compensation claim begins with the receipt of an application. The
application is date-stamped and given to an Administrative Support Assistant (ASA). The ASA enters
the application information in a claims management system and assigns a claim number. The ASA
reviews the application for completeness and mails a letter to the claimant confirming receipt of the
application. If additional information is needed from the claimant, it is requested in the receipt
confirmation letter. The claim is then given to a Crime Victim Compensation Specialist (Specialist)
for the verification process.

Verification

The Specialist verifies what happened to the victim and if the claim meets the eligibility criteria
set forth in the Code of Alabama and the Commission's administrative code. All bills submitted for
payment are verified with the medical/service provider for accuracy. Other investigations relating to
the crime such as forensics evaluation, law enforcement investigative reports, and other relevant
information are requested. The Specialist uses this information to make an informed
recommendation to the Commission about the claim’s eligibility. A determination of the criminal
charges against the defendant and status of the criminal case is made as well. This is needed to
ascertain whether restitution or other court costs have been accessed. When the verification is
complete, a summary statement of the victimization is presented to the three-member Commission
for eligibility determination. The Commission has authorized the Executive Director to determine
eligibility of initial claims where the total compensation requested is $2,000 or less and of
supplemental requests of $1,000 or less.
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Commission Meetings

The Commission holds an open, public meeting, at its office, on the second Thursday of each
month. Meetings are scheduled for 10:00 a.m. Other meetings may be held at such times and
places as its members elect. From time to time, the Commission must change the regularly
scheduled meetings. All updates will be made on the Alabama Secretary of State's website.

For each claim on the non-consent docket, the Commissioners discuss the summary of facts
and render a decision on eligibility based on the facts presented. If the request for compensation is
approved as eligible, a letter is sent to the claimant informing them of the approval and any
payment(s) made.

The Commission may determine only a portion of the request is eligible or that actions of the
victim warrant a reduction of the compensation. If the compensation is reduced, a certified letter is
sent to the claimant explaining the reason for the reduction and any payment(s) made.

If the request for compensation is not approved as eligible, a certified letfter is sent to the
claimant explaining the reason for the determination.

Notification of the eligibility determination and payment(s) is also sent to the appropriate district

attorney’s office, probation office, and court clerk’s office. This information is provided to assist at
any restitution hearings related to the victimization.
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Eligibility Criteria

e The victim must have suffered bodily injury or psychological injury as the result of a direct,
face-to-face threat of physical injury, or actual physical injury or death as a result of the
criminal actions of another.

e The incident must have occurred on or after June 01, 1984.

e The claimant must submit a signed and notarized claim application.

e The claimant/victim must be a United States citizen, legally present in the United States, or
an alien eligible for public benefits. Victims of domestic violence and victims of human
tracking are considered aliens eligible for public benefits.

e Proof of U.S. citizenship, legal presence in the U.S., or proof of being an alien eligible for
public benefits must be provided for every claimant/victim.

e The incident must have been reported within 72 hours after its occurrence or the
Commission must find there was good cause for the failure to report within that time.

e The application must be filed within one (1) year of the incident unless the Commission finds
there was good cause for the failure to report within that time.

e The claimant or victim must cooperate fully with law enforcement and the Commission staff.

e The Commission will not pay for expenses covered by a collateral source. For example,
insurance, and/or restitution from the offender.

e The victim or claimant must not be the offender or an accomplice of the offender. For
example, a victim who was committing a robbery when he/she was injured would not be
eligible for compensation benefits.

e No portion of the compensation benefits shall benefit the offender or accomplice.

e Applicants who commit criminally injurious conduct or are convicted of a felony after
making application for compensation benefits are ineligible for compensation benefits.

e A claim may be reduced or denied if it is determined that the claimant/victim contributed to
the criminally injurious conduct.
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Appeal

If a claimant disagrees with the Commission's decision regarding his/her claim’s eligibility, the
claimant may request an appeal. The request for an appeal must be made to the Commission in
writing and must be signed by the claimant. The Commission must receive the appeal request within
thirty days of the claimant's notification of the decision.

When a timely request for an appeal is received, the claim is placed on the Commission's
appeal docket. The Commission sends the claimant notice of the hearing via certified and regular
mail. The Notice of Administrative Appeal Hearing advises the claimant of the procedure for the
hearing and the Commission's assertions of fact and law.

The hearings are presided over by a governmental hearing officer; however, the three-member
Commission renders the final decision in the appeal hearing. After the Commission renders its final
decision, a Final Order, detailing the Commission's findings is prepared and sent to the claimant
via certified mail.
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Administrative Division

The Commission's Administration section oversees the day-to-day operations of the agency.
Administration is composed of the Executive Director's office, Deputy Director, Staff Attorney/
Personnel officer, Executive Secretary, Restitution Recovery, Victim Service Officer, and Reception.
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The Executive Director reviews all claims prior to the monthly commission meeting and renders
decisions on claims up to $2,000. The Director is accountable for the efficiency of the office to the
Commission Board Members.

The Deputy Director assists the Executive Director with the Commission's daily operations.

The Executive Secretary functions as an assistant to both the Executive Director and the Legal/
Personnel Department. This position provides crucial support services in both areas.

Legal/Personnel is responsible for agency legal matters and representation, including appeal
hearings and court appearances. The attorney manages all agency personnel matters and
promulgates rules, regulations, and polices and procedures, at the Commission's request.

The Restitution Recovery Unit is charged with seeking ways to improve the collection of
restitution, subrogation monies, and court ordered fees. The role of the Restitution Recovery Officer
is to:

e Work with District Attorneys and Circuit Clerks to ensure Alabama courts order restitution to
the Commission.

e  Work with District Attorneys and Circuit Clerks to amend existing restitution orders to the
Commission.

e Provide information to Victim Service Officers and Restitution Officers to assist them in
collecting outstanding restitution.

e Provide training to court officials, various agencies, and the general public.

e Notify the Parole Board of outstanding restitution owed by inmates scheduled for a parole
hearing.

e Notify victims and civil attorneys of the Commission's subrogation rights when civil suits arise
as a result of the violent crime.

The Victim Service Officer (VSO) educates the general public regarding the services available to
victims and claimants at the Commission. In addition, the VSO provides direct services to victims,
such as accompanying them to court proceedings and parole hearings.

The Receptionist answers incoming calls to the agency. The Receptionist is often a victim's first
contact with the Commission. This position distributes all mail received, routes incoming fax
communications, and distributes compensation applications and literature requested by victims, law
enforcement, other service agencies, etc.

Accounting Division

The Accounting Division is composed of a Staff Accountant, Accountant, Accounting Technician
and an Account Clerk. The section is responsible for:

e Disbursement of checks to victims, claimants, and service providers.
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¢ Managing accounts payable and receivable.

e Preparing the agency budget for the Commission.

e Preparing monthly financial reports for the Commission.

e Maintaining the agency property inventory.

e Receipt and deposit of fines collected by municipal or circuit courts, restitution monies, and
subrogation monies.

e Management of federal grant.

e Maintaining the agency supplies and consumables.
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Very few compensation programs in America have the advantage of having an accounting
division within the compensation program. The opportunity to totally process a claim, from
beginning to conclusion, within the agency is beneficial to victims. The Commission is an
autonomous state agency. This eliminates the need for outsourcing most needs and expedites
services to violent crime victims.

Information Technology Division

The Information Technology Division of the Commission manages the technology used by the
staff of the ACVCC in providing services to victims. There are two staff in the IT Division; the IT
System Specialist and an IT Systems Specialist, Associate. Among this divisions’ duties are:

e Serve as the agency contact with outside vendors and other state/federal entities for issues
involving technology.

e Establish hardware and software requirements of the Commission and recommend product
purchases to meet these needs.

e Provide training, serve as the technical training contact, and provide technical assistance to
Commission staff as needed.

e Serve as the database administrator which includes overseeing design, implementation, and

mining of compensation data to ensure accurate production of documentation,

correspondence and statistics.

Act as the Commission's contact for the Alabama Consolidated Email service.

Maintain all backup materials of the Commission's database and network.

Maintain the Commission website.

Design and print materials used by the Commission.

Claims Division

The Claims Division is separated into three subdivisions; Claim A, Claims B and Claims C. Each
has a Claims Manager, multiple Crime Victims Compensation Specialist, and multiple
Administrative Support Assistants (ASA). Administrative Support Assistants receive new claims, enter
claims information into the database, and do preliminary work to establish the eligibility of the
claim. Claims are then assigned to a Crime Victims Compensation Specialist for eligibility
verification. The specialists determine eligibility of each claim based on the Code of Alabama and
the Administrative Code of Alabama.

In addition to verifying eligibility of claims, claims staff assist victims of violent crime in obtaining
needed services from other entities. Through their personal contact with victims, the claims staff
discern what the victims'/c1aimants'/survivors' needs are, and whenever possible, refer them to
community resources for other assistance.
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Commission Publications

The Commission publishes numerous brochures about victims’ rights and issues. Some of these
were created by the Commission and some were made available by a grant from the Office for
Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Many brochures are also
available in Spanish. The Commission also publishes the book, What's Left After Crime2 HOPE!!
(Revised 2011). Publications may be obtained by contacting the Commission's office, downloading
them from acvcc.alabama.gov, or attending the Commission's training events. The publications are
provided to claimants, victims, and allied professionals free of charge.

-
-
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-
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.
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Z
W

A Guide to Survival

After the Trial

Assault Victimization

Child Abuse Victimization 12-16

Child Abuse Victimization 6-11

Domestic Violence Victimization

Drunk Driving Victimization

Homicide Co-Victimization

Robbery Victimization

Sexual Assault Victimization

Stalking Victimization

Victim Responsibilities

What is Teen Dating Violence

Victimas de agresidn (Spanish)

Maltrato infantil 12-16 (Spanish)

Maltrato infantil 6-11 (Spanish)

Victimas del la Violencia Doméstica (Spanish)
Victimas de quienes conducen ebrios (Spanish
Victimas del robo (Spanish)

Victimas del acecho (Spanish)

Persons with Limited English Proficiency

The Commission provides Persons with Limited English Proficiency with meaningful access to its
services. Free language assistance is provided during every stage of the compensation process.
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FINANCIAL SUMMARY

OCTOBER 01, 2020 TO SEPTEMBER 30, 2021

TISTICAL DATA

RECEIPTS
Court Fees - City 858,452 .62
Court Fees - County 83214131
Restitution 209 462 62
Victim Assessment Fees 764 241.59
Civil Suits 15,821.90
Interest from Investment Holdings 638 897.75
General Fund Transfer - Appropriated 100,000.00
Federal VOCA Funds 1,150,000.00
Miscellaneous 125.00

TOTAL 4,569,142.79

DISBURSEMENTS
Awards Paid to Victims of Violent Cnime 1,813,637.02
Prior Year Expenditures 21,839.13
Federal Expenditures 0.00
Bank Charges/Fees 23,343.87
Unclaimed Property 1,574.43
Miscellaneous Expenditures 518.76

Administrative Costs

Personnel Costs 1,248,667.80
Employee Benefits 507,259.04
Trawvel - In-state 1,681.21
Travel - out of state 0.00
Repairs & Maintenance 6,903.78
Rentals & Leases 8,503.65
Utilities & Communication 56,703.19
Professional Senices 73,468 96
Office Supplies 32,630.26
Transportation Costs 1,783.92
Grants and Benefits 100,025.00
Capital Qutlay 0.00
Transportation Equipment 0.00
Office Equipment 26,567 27
Total Administrative Costs 2,064,194.08
TOTAL 3,925,107.29
Surplus/Shortage 644,035.50
CASH BALANCE
Balance as of October 1, 2020 4.820,210.11
Surplus/Shortage of Receipts over Disbursements 644,035 50
BALANCE AS OF SEPTEMBER 30, 2021 5,464,245.61
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INITIAL CLAIMS RECEIVED & PAID
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RECEIVED DOLLARS PAID
96/97 1,712 3,387,091
97/98 1,716 3,209,107
98/99 1,819 9,962,583
99/00 1,889 3,948,364
00/01 2,508 5,105,190
01/02 2,997 6,207,440
02/03 2,793 3,510,262
03/04 2,806 3,235,164
04/05 2,893 2,977,545
05/06 2,498 4,034,993
06/07 2,761 6,001,443
07/08 2,902 3,913,670
08/09 2,827 4,917,233
09/10 2,648 4,386,510
10/11 2,643 2,231,223
11/12 2,643 2,193,474
12/13 2,290 2,801,424
13/14 2,091 2,866,179
14/15 2,102 2,644,237
15/16 2,454 2,325,687
16/17 2,571 3,244,156
17/18 2,562 9,065,340
18/19 2,743 2,717,728
19/20 2,201 2,045,088
20/21 2,185 1,813,637

61,254 90,764,783
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STATISTICAL DATA

OCTOBER 1, 2020 TO SEPTEMBER 30, 2021

Claims Received

ATISTCAL DATA

Regular 708
Homicide 461
Sexual Assault 1016
TOTAL 2185

Claims Approved

Regular 254
Homicide 238
Sexual Assault 1021
TOTAL 1513

Claims Not Approved

Regular 375

Homicide 94

Sexual Assault 46

TOTAL 515
Claims Processed (Does not include claims the Commission Held for Trial/Information)

Regular 629

Homicide 332

Sexual Assault 1067

TOTAL 2028
Emergency Awards Issued 86
Claims Pending at Fiscal Year-end 1671
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APPROVED INITIAL CLAIMS

BY PRIMARY OFFENSE

Y IVDILSILYLS

Sexual Assault Exam 1018 |Burglary o}
Murder - Non-Family 168  |Attempted Murder - Family 2
Assault - Non-Family 82 Child Sodomy - Family 2
Attempted Murder - Non-Family 28 Criminally Negligent Homicide 2
Domestic Violence 27 Other 2
Robbery 14 Vehicular Homicide 2
Capital Murder 14 Adult Rape 2
Sexual Assault 14 Leaving Scene of Accident 2
Murder - Family 14 Human Trafficking 1
Assault - Family 10 Child Sexual Abuse - Nonfamily 1
Manslaughter 8 Arson 1
Vehicular Assault 7 Child Sexual Abuse - Family 1
Shoot Occupd Vehicle-Dwelling

AWARD SUMMARY IN HISTORY OF PROGRAM

Millions

1996|1997 1998|1999|2000|2001|2002|2003|2004|2005|2006|2007|2008|2009(2010|2011|2012|2013|2014|2015|2016|2017|2018)|2019|2020

19971928199 2000|2001|2002|2003|2004|2005| 2006|2007 |2008|2009|2010|2011|2012|2013|2014|2015|2016|2017|2018|2019|2020(2021
|Mi|liom 3.393.21|5.96|3.95|5.11|6.00|3.51|3.26|298|403|6.00|3.93|2.87|2.41|223|2.19|2.80|287|2.64|2.33|3.24|5.07|2.72|2.05|1.81
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CLAIMS RECEIVED BY COUNTY
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DOLLARS APPROVED BY COUNTY
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APPROVED INITIAL CLAIMS

BY AGE, ETHNICITY, & GENDER

White
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Hispanic .
3.34% Amencan_/AIaskan
Indian
0.50%
Asian/Pacific Islander Other
0.50% 1.61%
65 and over
51 thru 64 214%
7.30%
18 and under
26.58%
31thru 50
27.90%

19 thru 30
36.08%
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W
NON-APPROVED INITIAL CLAIMS :[_>I
BY REASON* —
Lack of Cooperation-ACVCC 228 m
Lack of Cooperation-LE/FTP 134 —I
Non-Criminally Injurious Conduct 118 —
Contribution 105 m
Other 63 j>
Past 1-Year Deadline 61 —
Not Reported within 72 Hours 54
Felony Exclusion/Victim 47 U
lllegal Activity 31
Collateral Source 30 >
Not Legal Claimant 9 _I
False Information 8
Application Withdrawn 7
Benefit Alleged Offender 2
CIC Conviction/Claimant 1
CIC Conviction/Victim 1
Felony Exclusion/Claimant 1

* - Claims with multiple reasons for non-opproval are counted once in each reoson category.

FORENSIC SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAM KITS PAID

FY RECEIVED DOLLARS PAID
96/97 166 59,051

97/98 221 83,414
98/99 280 99,514
99/00 372 140,320
00/01 332 120,215
01/02 490 202,079
02/03 651 313,697
03/04 773 356,952
04/05 887 367,950
05/06 777 309,459
06/07 972 402,687
07/08 730 293,358
08/09 870 388,386
09/10 886 381,803
10/11 834 335,965
11/12 860 356,163
12/13 805 381,542
13/14 808 417,851

14/15 796 520,571

15/16 1,024 411,943
16/17 1,086 627,542
17/18 1,054 600,208
18/19 1,198 588,704
19/20 1,095 490,878
20/21 1,015 594,785
TOTAL 16,872 8,845,037
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Section 1523-1

Short title.

This article shall be known and may be cited as the "Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Act.”

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §1.)

Section 1523-2

Legislative findings, etc.

The Legislature hereby finds, determines and declares that victims of violent crime are often reduced to bereft and destitute circumstances asa
result of the criminal acts perpetrated against them, that the financial or economic resources of such victims and their dependents are in many
instances distressed or depleted as a result of injuries inflicted upon them by violent criminals.

That the general social and economic welfare of such victims and their dependents is and ought to be intimately affected with the public interest,
that the deplorable plight of these unfortunate citizens should not go unnoticed by our institutions and agencies of government.

The Legislature hereby further finds, determines and declares that it is to the benefit of all that victims of violence and their dependents be
assisted financially and socially whenever possible.

To this end the Legislature intends to provide a means whereby victims of violent crime and their dependents may be provided compensation in
the amount of actual expenses incurred as a direct result of criminal acts of other persons.

The provisions of this article are to be construed so as to accomplish this purpose and to promote the same which is hereby declared to be the
public policy of this state.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §2.)

Section 1523 3

Definitions.

Asused in this article the following words shall include, but are not limited to the following meanings unless the context clearly requires a
different meaning:

(1) COMMISSION. The Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission as created by Section 15-23-4.

(2) CRIMINALLY INJURIOUS CONDUCT. Criminally injurious conduct includes any of the following acts:

a. An act occurring or attempted within the geographical boundaries of this state which results in serious personal injury or death to a victim for
which punishment by fine, imprisonment, or death may be imposed.

b. An act oceurring or attempted outside the geographical boundaries of this state in another state of the United States of America which is
punishable by fine, imprisonment, or death and which results in personal injury or death to a citizen of this state, and shall include an act of
terrorism, as defined in Section 2331 of Title 18, United States Code, committed outside of the United States, against a resident of this state;
provided however, the citizen at the time such act was committed had a permanent place of residence within the geographical boundaries of this
state, and in addition thereto any of the following circumstances apply, that the citizen:

1. Had a permanent place of employment located within the geographical boundaries of this state.

2. Was a member of the regular Armed Forees of the United States of America; or the United States Coast Guard; or was a full-time member of
the Alabama National Guard, Alabama Air National Guard, U.S. Army Reserve, U.S. Naval Reserve, or U.S. Air Force Reserve.

3. Was retired and receiving Social Security or other retirement income.

4. Was 60 years of age or older.

5. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of receiving medical treatment.

6. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of performing employment-related duties required by an
employer located within the geographical boundaries of this state as an express condition of employment or employee benefits.

7. Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of receiving occupational, vocational, or other job-related
training or instruction required by an employer located within the geographical boundaries of this state as an express condition of employment or
employee benefits.

8. Was a full-time student at an academic institution, college, or university located in another state of the United States of America.

9. Had not departed the geographical boundaries of this state for a period exceeding 30 days or with the intention of becoming a citizen of another
state or establishing a permanent place of residence in another state.

The term "criminally injurious conduct” shall not mean: An act committed outside the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who
was not at the time a citizen of Alabama, or an act committed outside the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who at the time had
departed the geographical boundaries of this state for the purpose of becoming a citizen of, or establishing a permanent place of residence in,
another state.

(3) VICTIM. A person who suffered serious personal injury or death as a result of criminally injurious conduct.

(4) DEPENDENT. A natural person wholly or partially dependent upon the victim for care or support, and includes a child of the victim born
after the death of the victim where the death occurred as a result of criminally injurious conduct.

(5) CLAIMANT. Any of the following persons applying for compensation under this article:

a. A victim.

b. A dependent of a deceased victim, if such victim died as a result of criminally injurious conduct.

c. A person authorized to act on behalf of a victim or a dependent of a deceased victim if such victim died as aresult of criminally injurious
conduct.

(6) ALLOWANCE EXPENSE. Charges incurred for needed products, services, and accommodations, including, but not limited to, medical care,
rehabilitation, rehabilitative occupational rehabilitation, rehabilitative occupational training, and other remedial treatment and care. It also
includes a total charge not in excess of seven thousand dollars ($7,000) for expenses related to funeral, cremation, or burial.

(7) WORK LOSS. Loss of income from work the victim or claimant would have performed if the victim had not been injured or died, reduced by
any income from substitute work actually performed by the victim or claimant or by income the victim or claimant would have earned in
available appropriate substitute work which he or she was capable of performing but unreasonably failed to undertake. Work loss also includes
loss of income of an offender charged with domestic violence under Sections 13A-6-130, 13A-6-131, and 13 A-6-132 when the victim was
residing with the offender at the time of commission of the offense and the offender's income was a significant source of direct support for the
victim.

(8) REPLACEMENT SERVICES LOSS. Expenses reasonably incurred in obtaining ordinary and necessary services in lieu of those the victim
would have performed, not for income, but for the benefit of self or family, if the victim had not been injured or died.
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(%) ECONOMIC LOSS OF A DEPENDENT. A loss after the death or injury of the victim of contributions of things of economic value to the
dependent, not including services which would have been received from the victim if he or she had not suffered the fatal injury, less expenses of
the dependent avoided by reason of death or injury of the victim.

(10) REPLACEMENT SERVICES LOSS OF DEPENDENT. The loss reasonably incurred by dependents after death of the victim in obtaining
ordinary and necessary services in lieu of those the deceased victim would have performed for their benefit had the deceased victim not suffered
the fatal injury, less expenses of the dependent avoided by reason of death of the victim and not subtracted in calculating the economic loss of the
dependent.

(11) ECONOMIC LOSS. Monetary detriment consisting only of allowable expense, work loss, replacement services loss and, if injury causes
death, economic loss and replacement services loss of a dependent, but shall not include noneconomic loss or noneconomic detriment.

(12) NONECONOMIC LOSS or DETRIMENT. Pain, suffering, inconvenience, physical impairment, and nonpecuniary damage.

(13) COLLATERAL SOURCE. Source of income, financial or other benefits or advantages for economic loss other than the compensation paid
by the compensation commission which the claimant has received or is entitled to receive or is readily available to the claimant, from any one or
more of the following:

a. The offender.

b. The government of the United States or any agency thereof, in the form of benefits, such as Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid, a state or
any of its political subdivisions or an instrumentality of two or more states, unless the law providing for the benefits or advantages makes them
excessive or secondary to benefits under this article.

<. Any temporary nonoccupational disability insurance.

d. Workers' compensation.

¢. Wage continuation programs of any employer.

f. Proceeds of a contract of insurance payable to the claimant for loss which the victim sustained because of the criminally injurious conduct.

2. A contract providing prepaid hospital and other health care services or benefits for disability.

(14) OFFICE OF PROSECUTION SERVICES. The Office of Prosecution Services as established by Section 12-17-230.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1368, §3; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 993, §1; Acts 1990, No. 90-476, p. 677, §1; Act 98-492, p. 945, §1; Act 2014-
335, p. 1232, §1)

Section 15-23-4

Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission - Created; composition; meetings; rules and regulations; bond; compensation.

(a) There is hereby created the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission, which shall be composed of three citizens of the State of
Alabama, who shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, for terms of four years each or until their successors
are appointed and qualified. Provided however, initial appointments shall be as follows: One member shall be appointed for two years, one
member shall be appointed for three years and one member shall be appointed for four years. All appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the
duration of the unexpired term and subsequent appointments shall be for four-year terms. The membership of the board shall be inclusive and
reflect the racial, gender, geographic, urban/tural, and economic diversity of the state.

(b) At least one member shall be a law enforcement officer with a minimum of 10 years' experience in or with a law enforcement agency which
has among its primary duties and responsibilities the investigation of violent crimes and the apprehension or arrest of the perpetrators thereof.
(c) At least one member shall be a victim of a crime of violence who suffered serious personal injury as a result thereof, or a member of such
victim's immediate family or a member of a deceased victim's immediate family if such deceased victim died as a result of a crime of violence, or
an officer of a nonprofit, charitable crime victims organization established pursuant to the laws of Alabama.

() Each year the commission shall elect a chairman from its membership.

(¢) The commission may appoint an executive director who shall serve at the pleasure of the commission and shall be paid a salary in an amount
to be determined by the commission.

(f) The commission shall have its principal place of business in the county wherein the State Capitol is located.

(z) The commission shall hold at its principal place of business regular monthly public meetings on the second Thursday of each month and other
meetings at such times and places as its members may elect.

(h) Any two members of the commission shall constitute a quorum for purposes of transacting the business of the commission and two votes in
favor shall be necessary for a decision by the commission at any meeting of the commission.

(i) From time to time the commission shall establish rules and regulations for the administration of its duties and responsibilities pursuant to this
chapter.

(j) The chairman of the commission shall keep a true record of all of the proceedings of the meetings of the commission. At the call of any
member the vote on any pending question shall be taken by ayes and nays, and the same shall be entered in such record, the record of the
proceedings of the commission shall be open to any member of the commission and to the public at all times and a copy of such record, certified
by the chairman, shall be competent evidence in all courts.

The commission shall decline to disclose the names and addresses of victims or claimants who have applied for compensation pursuant to this
article or the facts or circumstances of the criminally injurious conduct perpetrated against them.

(k) All members and employees of the commission handling money or exercising authority over any property shall, before entering the discharge
of their duties, give bond with a surety company authorized to do business in the State of Alabama, as surety, payable to the commission in an
amount or amounts sufficient to protect the commission against any loss with respect to the funds, money, or property handled, conditioned for
the faithful discharge of their duties and responsibilities and further conditioned upon their faithfully accounting for all moneys, funds, or
properties coming into their possession in the capacity of their employment.

(I) The Attorney General or the district attorney of the county wherein the State Capitol is located shall, upon written request by the commission
represent the commission in all litigation to which the commission is a party or in which the commission has an interest. The Attorney General
shall serve as a legal advisor to the commission.

(m) All commission members shall be paid two hundred fifty dollars ($250) per day and mileage for attendance of commission meetings. Mileage
and per diem shall be the same as allowed state employees when a commission member is traveling on official business of the commission and
shall be paid from the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Fund.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-638, p. 1308, §4; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 993, §2; Act 98-492, p. 945, §1; Act 2009-749, p. 2268, §1.)

Section 15-23-5

Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission - Powers and duties.

The commission shall have all the powers and privileges of a corporation and all of its business shall be transacted in the name of the
commission. In addition to any other powers and duties specified elsewhere in this article, the commission shall have the power to:
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(1) Regulate its own procedures except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

(2) Define any term not defined in this article.

(3) Prescribe forms necessary to carry out the purposes of this article.

(4) Obtain access to investigative reports made by law enforcement officers or law enforcement agencies which may be necessary to assist the
commission in making a determination of eligibility for compensation under this article; provided however, the reports and the information
contained herein, when received by the commission, shall be confidential and under no circumstances shall the commission disclose the same
except to a grand jury.

(5) Take judicial notice of general, technical, and scientific facts within their specialized knowledge.

(6) Publicize the availability of compensation and information regarding the filing of claims therefor.

(7) Collect all moneys provided by this article to be collected by the commission.

(8) Provide for and maintain all necessary administrative facilities and personnel.

(9) Provide for payment of all administrative salaries, fees, and expenses.

(10) Cause its moneys to be invested and its investments sold or exchanged and the proceeds and income collected.

(11) Determine who is a victim or dependent.

(12) Pass upon all applications for compensation or other benefits provided for in this article.

(13) Authorize executive director to pass upon all supplemental applications for compensation in an amount not to exceed one thousand dollars
(31,000) and to pass upon all original applications for claims in an amount not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000).

(14) Adopt rules and regulations as may be necessary or desirable to expedite the administration of the affairs of the commission not inconsistent
with this article.

(15) Provide deseriptive literature and promotional items respecting the commission and its duties.

(16) Pay all compensation or other benefits that may be determined to be due under this article and under the rules and regulations of the
commission.

(17) Employ such agents, attorneys, actuaries, and other specialized personnel as shall be necessary or desirable to enable the commission to
carry on its functions in a proper and sound manner.

(18) Receive by gift, grant, devise, or bequest any moneys or properties of any nature or description.

(19) Accept and administer loans, grants, and donations from the federal government, its agencies, and all other sources, public and private, for
carrying out any of its functions.

(20) Develop a comprehensive analysis of the problems regarding victims of erime within the eriminal justice system or systems of this state and
formulate model programs, plans, or methods for lessening the physical, mental, or financial burdens placed on innocent crime victims by the
operation of the criminal justice system both on the state and local level.

(21) Identify laws, rules, or regulations proposed or adopted by any agency or institution of this state or any political subdivision thereof which
have orwill have a significant adverse or beneficial impact upon crime victims and to advocate the adoption, repeal, or modification thereof in
the interest of innocent victims of crime.

(22) Collect, develop, and maintain statistical information, records, and reports as the commission may determine relevant or necessary to carry
out its powers, duties, or functions pursuant to this article. All agencies and institutions of this state or the political subdivisions thereof shall,
upon a written request by the commission, furnish to the commission statistical information or data as the commission shall deem necessary to
fulfill its duties and responsibilities.

(23) Award loans or grants of money, equipment, or personnel to public or private nonprofit corporations or associations, agencies of the State of
Alabama or political subdivisions thereof, or to state, county, or municipal law enforcement, prosecutorial or judicial agencies upon terms and
conditions as the commission may deem proper for the purpose of developing, enhancing, or establishing bona fide model crime victims service
programs which emphasize the collection of restitution from criminals as an integral part of the criminal justice process, but the loans or grants
shall only be awarded when sufficient funds are available in excess of reasonably anticipated or projected claims for compensation.

(24) Provide for the cost of medical examinations for the purpose of gathering evidence and treatment for preventing venereal disease in sexual
abuse crimes and offenses.

(25) Carry out any powers expressly granted elsewhere in this article to the commission.

(26) All other powers necessary for the proper administration of this article.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §3; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 993, §3; Acts 1990, No. 90-470, p. 677, §2; Acts 1995, No. 95-494, p. 994, §1;
Act 2014-335, p. 1232, §1)

Section 15-23-6

Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission - Annual report required.

The commission shall publish annually a report showing the fiscal transactions of the commission for the preceding year, the amount of the
accumulated cash and securities of the commission and a balance sheet showing the financial condition of the commission by means of an
actuarial evaluation of the assets and liabilities of the commission.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §6.)

Section 15-23-7

Audit of financial afTairs of commission authorized.

The Director of the Department of Examiners of Public Accounts shall at least once a year and at such other times as such director shall deem
appropriate cause to be performed a detailed audit of the financial affairs of the commission and shall promptly notify the appropriate grand jury
as to any possible violations of law.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §7.)

Section 15-23-8

Compensation for economic loss resulting from criminal conduct - Authorized; procedure.

(a) The commission may award compensation for economic loss arising from criminally injurious conduct if satisfied by a preponderance of the
evidence that the requirements for compensation have been met.

(b) The commission shall hear and determine all matters relating to claims for compensation, and shall have the power to reinvestigate or reopen
claims without regard to statutes of limitation.

(c) The commission shall have the power to subpoena witnesses, compel their attendance, require the production of records and other evidence,
administer oaths or affirmations, conduct hearings and receive relevant evidence.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §8.)

Section 1523 9
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Compensation for economic loss resulting from criminal conduct - Collateral source contribution not required.

The commission shall not require any claimant to seek or accept any collateral source contribution, unless the claimant was receiving or was
entitled to receive such benefits prior to the occurrence giving rise to the claim under the provisions of this article; provided, however, no
applicant shall be denied compensation solely because such applicant is entitled to income from a collateral source.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-638, p. 1308, §9)

Section 152310

Compensation for economic loss resulting from criminal conduct - Hearing required generally; procedure in contested cases; settlement
by consent order, etc.

(a) Every party to a claim shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard and to offer evidence and argument on any issue relevant to the
claim, and to examine witnesses and offer evidence in reply to any matter of an evidentiary nature in the record relevant to the claim.

(b) In a contested case, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity for hearing after reasonable notice pursuant to regulations promulgated by the
commission. A record of the proceedings of the hearing in a contested case shall be made and shall be transeribed upon request of any party who
shall pay transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the commission.

(c) The commission may, without a hearing, settle a claim by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order or default.

{Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §10.)

Section 1523-11

Filing claim under article constitutes waiver of physician-patient privilege.

(a) Any person filing a claim under the provisions of this article shall be deemed to have waived any physician-patient privilege as to
communications or records relevant to an issue of the physical, mental or emetional conditions of the claimant.

(b) If the mental, physical or emotional condition of a claimant is material to a claim, the commission upon physical examination may order an
autopsy of a deceased victim. The order shall specify the time, place, manner, conditions and scope of the examination or autopsy and the person
by whom it is to be made. The order shall also require the person to file with the commission a detailed written report of the examination or
autopsy. The report shall set out the findings of the person making the report, including results of all tests made, diagnoses, prognoses and other
conclusions and reports of carlier examinations of the same conditions.

{c) The commission, upon request, shall furnish the victim a copy of such report. If the victim is deceased, the commission, on request, shall
furnish a copy of the report to the claimant.

{(d) The commission may require the claimant to supply any additional medical or psychological reports available relating to the injury or death
for which compensation is claimed.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §11.)

Section 15-23-12

‘When compensation not awarded, diminished, etc.; reconsideration of award.

(a) Compensation shall not be awarded in any of the following circumstances:

(1) A claim has been filed with the commission later than one year after the injury or death upon which the claim is based, unless the commission
finds there was good cause for the failure to file within that time.

(2) To a claimant who was the offender, or an accomplice of the offender, or who encouraged or in any way participated in the criminally
injurious conduct.

(3) If the award would unjustly benefit the offender or accomplice of the offender.

(4) The criminally injurious conduct resulting in injury or death was reported to a law enforcement officer later than 72 hours after its occurrence,
unless the commission finds there was good cause for the failure to report within that time.

(b) Compensation otherwise payable to a claimant may be diminished or denied to the extent that the economic loss is recouped from collateral
sources; or to the extent that the degree of responsibility for the cause of the injury or death is attributable to the victim as determined by the
commission.

{(c) The commission, upon finding that the claimant or victim has not fully cooperated with appropriate law enforcement agencies, may deny,
withdraw, or reduce an award of compensation.

(d) The commission, on its own motion or on request of the claimant, may reconsider a decision granting or denying an award or determining its
amount. An order on reconsideration of an award shall not require a refund of amounts previously paid, unless the award was obtained by fraud.
The right of reconsideration does not affect the finality of a commission decision for the purpose of judicial review.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §12; Acts 1996, No. 96-470, p. 677, §3; Acts 1995, No. 95-494, p. 994, §2; Act 98-492, p. 945, §1.)

Section 15-23-13

Award not contingent on prosecution or conviction of offender; effect of proof of conviction; suspension of proceedings under article.
Except as provided elsewhere in this article, an award may be made whether or not any person is prosecuted or convicted. Proof of conviction of
a person whose acts give rise to a claim is conclusive evidence that the crime was committed, unless an application for rehearing, an appeal of the
conviction or certiorari is pending, or a rehearing or new trial has been ordered. The commission may suspend the proceedings pending
disposition of criminal prosecution that has been commenced or is imminent, but may make a tentative award under this section.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §13)

Section 15-23-14

Award of compensation subrogates commission to rights of claimant as to collateral source; funds recovered from collateral source held
in trust for commission; disposition of trust funds; notice of action to recover damages; restitution hearings.

(a) If compensation is awarded, the commission shall be subrogated to all the rights of a claimant to receive or recover from a collateral source to
the extent that compensation was awarded.

(b) In the event the claimant recovers compensation, other than under the provisions of this article, for injuries or death resulting from criminally
injurious conduct, the claimant shall retain, as trustee for the commission, so much of the recovered funds as necessary to reimburse the Alabama
Crime Victims Compensation Fund to the extent that compensation was awarded to the claimant from that fund. The funds retained in trust shall
be promptly paid over to the commission and deposited in the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Fund.

Whenever the commission shall deem it necessary to protect, maintain or enforce the commission's right to subrogation or to exercise any of its
powers or to carry out any of its duties or responsibilities the commission may initiate legal proceedings or intervene in legal proceedings.

(c) If a claimant initiates any legal proceeding to recover restitution or damages related to the criminally injurious conduct upon which
compensation is claimed or awarded, the claimant shall give the commission written notice within 15 days of the filing of the action. The
commission may intervene in the proceeding as a complainant to recover the compensation awarded. If a claimant fails to give such written
notice to the commission within the stated time period, or prior to any attempt by claimant to reach a negotiated settlement of claims for recovery
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of damages related to the criminally injurious conduet, the commission's right of subrogation to receive or recover funds from claimant, to the
extent that compensation was awarded by the commission, shall not be reduced in any amount or percentage by the costs incurred by claimant
attributable to such legal proceedings or settlement; including, but not limited to, attorney's fee, expert witness fees, investigative costs or cost of
court. If such notice is given, attorney fees may be awarded in an amount not to exceed 15 percent of the amount subrogated to the commission.
(d) Whenever compensation is awarded to a claimant who is entitled to restitution from a criminal defendant, the commission may initiate
restitution hearings in such criminal proceedings or intervene in the same. The commission shall be entitled to receive restitution in such
proceedings to the extent that compensation was awarded. The commission shall be subrogated to all the rights and remedies of such claimant for
the collection of restitution to the extent compensation was awarded; provided however, the commission shall be exempt from the payment of any
fees or other charges for the recording of restitution orders in the offices of the judges of probate.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §14; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 993, §4; Acts 1990, No. 90470, p. 677, §4.)

Section 1523-15

Amount and method of compensation; future economic loss generally; exemption from state and local taxes, etc.

(a) Compensation for work loss, replacement services loss, dependent's economic loss, and dependent's replacement services loss may not exceed
six hundred dollars ($600) per week.

(b) Compensation payable to a victim and to all other claimants sustaining economic loss because of injury to or death of that victim may not
exceed twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) in the aggregate.

(c) The commission may provide for the payment to a claimant in a lump sum or in installments. At the request of the claimant, the commission
may convert future economic loss, other than allowable expense, to a lump sum, but only upon a finding by the commission that the award in a
lump sum will promote the interests of the claimant.

() An award payable in installments for future economic loss may be made only for a period as to which the commission can reasonably
determine future economic loss. An award payable in installments for future economic loss may be modified by the commission upon its findings
that a material and substantial change of circumstances has occurred.

(e) An award shall not be subject to state or municipal taxation or to execution, attachment, or gamishment, except as the same may pertain to an
obligation for the support of dependent children or as the same may pertain to a creditor which has provided products, services, or
accommodations, the costs of which are included in the award.

(f) An assignment by the claimant to any future award under the provisions of this article is unenforceable, except any of the following
assignments:

(1) An assignment of any award for work loss to assure payment of court-ordered child support.

(2) An assignment of any award for an allowable expense to the extent that the benefits are for the cost of products, services, or accommodations
necessitated by the injury or death on which the claim is based and are provided or to be provided by the assignee.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §15; Acts 1990, No. 90-470, p. 677, §5; Act 98-492, p. 945, §1; Act 2014-335, p. 1232, §1.)

Section 15-23-16

Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Fund; created; purposes; composition; administered or managed by commission.

(a) There is hereby established a special fund to be known as the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Fund.

(b) The fund shall be placed under the management or administration of the Alabama Crime Vietims Compensation Commission for purposes of
providing compensation or other benefits to crime victims and for purposes of implementing this article.

(c) The fund shall consist of all moneys collected or received by the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission from any source.

(d) The commission shall have control of the funds not inconsistent with this article and with the laws of Alabama.

(¢) All moneys of the commission shall be covered into the State Treasury or deposited in a special trust account and may be withdrawn
therefrom by vouchers or check signed by the chair of the commission pursuant to authorization given by the commissioner. All investments of
moneys in the fund shall be either deposited with the State Treasurer for safekeeping upon receipt of the State Treasurer therefor or deposited
with the bank in a custodial account. The commission shall have authority to expend moneys in the fund in accordance with this article and to
invest any moneys so received pending other needs therefor in any investments which are legal investments for insurance companies under the
laws of the state.

(f) No member of the commission shall have any interest in the investments or receive any commission with respect thereto.

(g) It shall be the duty of the commission to keep detailed permanent records of all expenditures and disbursements from the fund.

(h) The commission is authorized to accept and use funds available to it from all sources, such as grants, appropriations, gifts, donations, and
other sources for purposes of implementing this article.

(i) The commission may not award any moneys for the six months immediately following passage of this article.

(j) The commission may not award or promise to award more moneys than are available in the fund.

(k) The commission shall not spend more than 25 percent of its funds for administrative costs.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §16; Acts 1995, No. 95-494, p. 994, §3.)

Section 15-23-17

Assessment of additional costs and penalties; collection and disposition of additional assessments, etc.

(a) In all criminal and quasi-criminal proceedings for the violation of laws of the state or municipal ordinances which are tried in any court or
tribunal in this state, wherein the defendant is adjudged guilty or pleads guilty, or is adjudicated a juvenile delinquent or youthful offender, or
wherein a bond is forfeited and the result of the forfeiture is a final disposition of the case or wherein any penalty is imposed, there is imposed an
additional cost of court in the amount of two dollars ($2) for each traffic infraction, ten dollars ($10) in each proceeding where the offense
constitutes a misdemeanor and/or a violation of a municipal ordinance other than traffic infractions, and fifteen dollars ($15) in each proceeding
where the offense constitutes a felony , but there shall be no additional costs imposed for violations relating to parking of vehicles.

The amount of all costs shall be remitted by the person or authority collecting the costs to the chair of the commission on the tenth day of each
month next succeeding that in which the cost is paid. It shall be the duty of the clerk or other authority collecting the court costs to keep accurate
records of the amounts due the commission for the benefit of the fund under this section.

(b) In addition to the imposition of any other costs, penalties, or fines imposed pursuant to law, any person convicted or pleading guilty to a
felony or a misdemeanor or a violation for which the person is adjudicated a juvenile delinquent, or a youthful offender, shall be ordered to pay a
victim compensation assessment of not less than fifty dollars ($50), nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), for each felony for which the
person was convicted or adjudicated and not less than twenty-five dollars ($25), nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), for each
misdemeanor or violation for which the person was convicted, adjudicated, or otherwise disposed of when the court orders that costs be paid. In
imposing this penalty, the court shall consider factors such as the severity of the crime, the prior criminal record, and the ability of the defendant
to pay, as well as the economic impact of the victim compensation assessment on the dependents of the defendant. Any person adjudicated a
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juvenile delinquent shall be ordered to pay a victim compensation assessment of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25), nor more than one
thousand dollars ($1,000), for each adjudication, regardless of the underlying charge, but the assessment or penalty authorized by this subsection
shall not be assessed or collected for any conservation, forestry, or water safety offense, nor any traffic offense, except those that are punishable
as a felony offense or involve the operation or actual physical control of any vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs, or reckless
driving. If a court fails to specifically impose an assessment required by this section, the clerk of court shall automatically assess a victim
compensation assessment in the minimum amount provided herein. The additional assessment or penalty shall be collected by the clerk of court
insuring that the first twenty-five dollars ($25) of each felony assessment and twelve dollars and fifty cents ($12.50) of each misdemeanor
assessment shall be promptly paid over to the commission. The second twenty-five dollars ($25) of each felony assessment and twelve dollars
and fifty cents ($12.50) of each misdemeanor assessment shall be promptly paid to the Office of Prosecution Services. Any victim assessment
fees ordered above the minimum shall be paid to the commission fund.

(c) The Office of Prosecution Services shall create a Victim Services Fund and the assessments received by the Office of Prosecution Services
shall be deposited into the Victim Services Fund. The funds received by the Office of Prosecution Services shall be distributed by the Executive
Committee of the Alabama District Attorneys Association to the various district attorneys' offices to employ a minimum of one full-time victim
service officer in each circuit and to provide other direct services to victims as needed.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §17; Acts 1986, No. 86-510, p. 510, §5; Acts 1990, No. 90-470, p. 677, §6; Acty 1995, No. 95-494, p. 994, §4)
Section 15-23-18

Penalties - Influence peddling.

(a) Any person who confers, offers, or agrees to confer anything of value upon a member, agent or employee of the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission with the intent that such member's or agent's or employee's vote, opinien, judgment or exercise of discretion or other
action in such member's or agent's or emplovee's official capacity will thereby be influenced shall be guilty of a Class B felony.

(b) Any member, agent or employee of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission who shall solicit, accept, or agree to solicit or
accept anything of value upon an agreement or understanding that such member's or agent's or employee's vote, opinion, judgment or exercise of
discretion or other action as such member, agent, or employee will thereby be influenced shall be guilty of a Class B felony.

(c) It shall not be a defense to a prosecution under this section that the member, agent or employee sought to be influenced was not qualified to
act in the desired way because of a lack of jurisdiction or for any other reason.

{Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §18.)

Section 15-23-19

Penalties - Failure of commission member to disclose conflict of interest.

(a) A member, agent or employee of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission commits the crime of failing to disclose a conflict
of interest if such member, agent or employee exercises any discretionary function in connection with a commission contract, purchase, payment
or other pecuniary transaction pertaining to the commission without advance public disclosure of a known potential conflicting interest in the
transaction.

(b) A "potential conflicting interest” exists, but is not limited to, when the member, agent or employee of the commission is a director, president,
general manager or similar executive officer, or owns directly or indirectly a substantial portion of any nongovemmental entity participating in
the transaction.

{c) Public disclosure shall mean a public announcement and written notification to the Attomey General.

(dy Failing to disclose a conflict of interest is a Class C felony.

{Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §19)

Section 15-23-20

Penalties - Alteration of commission records, etc.

Any member, agent or employee of the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission who shall knowingly make a false entry or falsely
alter any commission record; or who shall intentionally destroy, mutilate, conceal, remove or otherwise impair the verity or availability of any
commission record with the knowledge of a lack of authority to do so; or who shall possess a record of the commission and refuse to deliver up
such record upon proper request of a person lawfully entitled to receive the same shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

{Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §20.)

Section 15-23-21

Penalties - Furnishing lalse information; lailure to disclose material fact, etc.

(a) Any person who shall knowingly furnish any false information to the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission or to any member,
agent or employee thereof with the intent to defraud the said commission; or with the intent to obtain an award of compensation for a person not
entitled to receive the same shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

(b) Any person who shall knowingly fail or omit to disclose a material fact or circumstance to the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation
Commission or to any member, agent or employee thereof which is material to a claim for an award of compensation with the intent to defraud
the commission or with the intent to cause a person to obtain or receive an award of compensation to which such person is not entitled shall be
guilty of a Class C felony.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §21,)

Section 15-23-22

Penalties - Unauthorized control over money or securities of commission.

(a) Any person who shall knowingly obtain or exert any unauthorized control over any money or securities held on behalf of or in trust for the
Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission with intent to deprive such commission of such money or securities shall be guilty of a Class
Cfelony.

(b) Anyyperson who shall knowingly obtain by deception any control over any money or securities held on behalf of or in trust for the Alabama
Crime Victims Compensation Commission with intent to deprive such commission of such money or securities shall be guilty of a Class C
felony.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §22.)

Section 15-23-23

Certain persons deemed ineligible for compensation.

Any person who shall perpetrate any criminally injurious conduct on the person of another or who shall be convicted of a felony after making
application to the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission for compensation shall not be eligible or entitled to receive compensation
pursuant to any provision of this article.

(Acts 1984, No. 84-658, p. 1308, §23.)
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CHAPTER 262-X-1 DEFINITIONS

CHAPTER 262-X-2 THE COMMISSION AND ITS MEMBERS

62-X-1-.01 General Information and Definitions.

(1) Purpose: It is the intent of the Legislature and the purpose of the Alabama Crime Victims’
Compensation Commission (ACVCC) to provide financial and other assistance for victims of
violent crime for the allowable expenses that are incurred as a direct result of victimization.
Eligibility requirements are listed in the following sections:

NIWAY YWYEVTY

(2) Program Description: ACVCC provides financial assistance for allowable expenses to victims
of violent crime who have suffered personal injury, psychological injury or death. Compensation
may be reduced or denied based on contribution to one’s own victimization as defined in the
following sections. The program provides compensation for a number of services, which are
listed in the following sections. ACVCC does not award compensation for expenses which are
paid by a collateral source. The program also has a statutory entitlement to subrogation when a
claimant has received recovery from a collateral source after having been paid by ACVCC.

(a) Other limitations for specific categories are addressed in the following chapters. For
incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, through
July 8, 2020, the maximum amount of compensation that may be awarded in any one
claim is ($20,000). For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after July
9, 2020, the maximum amount of compensation that may be awarded in any one claim
is $15,000.

(3) The public may obtain information about the Commission by visiting its website at
www.acvcc.alabama.gov or calling the Commission at 334.290.4420. Submissions to the agency
should be mailed to PO Box 231267; Montgomery, AL 36123-1267 or emailed to
info@acvcc.alabama.gov. Requests for public records should be directed to the Commission’s
Access Officer. Public records will be provided at the Commission’s cost.

(4) The Commission will maintain a Departmental Forms Index. The Departmental Forms Index
(Appendix A) contains a listing of all forms a claimant/victim may be required to complete and
submit in order to receive compensation benefits.

(a) The Index will be updated when forms are added or removed.

(b) A copy of forms may be obtained by following the guidelines in 262-X-1-.01(3).

(c) A list of internal forms excluded from the Departmental Forms Index may be
obtained by following the guidelines in 262-X-1-.01(3).
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(5) Definitions: As used in these rules the following words shall include, but are not limited to,
the following meanings unless the context clearly requires a different meaning:

(a) Commission. The Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation Commission as described in
Chapter 262-X-2 of these rules.

(b) Criminally Injurious Conduct: Criminally injurious conduct includes any of the
following acts:
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1. An act occurring or attempted within the geographical boundaries of this state
which results in serious personal injury or death to a victim for which
punishment by fine, imprisonment or death may be imposed; or

2. An act occurring or attempted outside the geographical boundaries of this
state in another state of the United States of America which is punishable by
fine, imprisonment or death and which results in personal injury or death to a
citizen of this state; and shall include an act of terrorism, as defined in Section
2331 of Title 18, United States Code, committed outside of the United States,
against a resident of this state; provided, however, such a citizen at the time
such act was committed had a permanent place of residence in the geographical
boundaries of this state, and in addition thereto:

(a) Had a permanent place of employment located within the
geographical boundaries of this state; or

(b) Was a member of the regular armed forces of the United States of
America; or the United States Coast Guard; or was a full-time member of
the Alabama National Guard, Alabama Air National Guard, U.S. Army
Reserve, U.S. Naval Reserve, U.S. Air Force Reserve; or

(c) Was retired and receiving Social Security or other retirement income;
or

(d) Was 60 years of age or older; or

(e) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for
the purpose of receiving medical treatment; or

(f) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for
the purpose of performing employment related duties required by an
employer located within the geographical boundaries of this state as an
expressed condition of employment or employee benefits; or
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(g) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for
the purpose of receiving occupational, vocational or other job-related
training or instruction required by an employer located within the
geographical boundaries of this state as an expressed condition of full-
time employment or employee benefits; or

(h) Was a full-time student at an academic institution, college or
university located in another state of the United States of America; or
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(i) Had not departed the geographical boundaries of this state for a
period exceeding 30 days or with the intention of becoming a citizen of
another state or establishing a permanent place of residence in another
state.

The term 'criminally injurious conduct' shall not mean: An act committed outside
the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who was not at the time
such act was committed a citizen of the State of Alabama or an act committed
outside the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person who at the time
such act was committed had departed the geographical boundaries of this state
for the purpose of becoming a citizen of another state or for the purpose of
establishing a permanent place of residence in another state.

(c) Victim. A person who suffered serious personal injury, psychological injury as a result
of a direct face-to-face threat of physical injury, or actual physical injury, or death as a
result of criminally injurious conduct.

(d) Dependent. A natural person wholly or partially dependent upon the victim for care
or support, and includes a child of the victim born after the death of the victim when the

death occurred as the result of criminally injurious conduct.

(e) Claimant. Any of the following persons applying for compensation under this
chapter:

1. A victim;

2. A dependent of a deceased victim, if such victim died as result of criminally
injurious conduct; or

3. A person authorized to act on behalf of a victim, or a dependent of a deceased
victim if such victim died as a result of criminally injurious conduct.

(f) Dependent spouse. The spouse of a deceased victim, unless it is shown that he/she

was voluntarily living apart from the deceased victim for the twelve (12) months
immediately preceding the criminally injurious conduct that caused the victim’s death
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and it is shown that the deceased victim was not in any way contributing support to the
spouse.

(g) Dependent child. An unmarried child under the age of nineteen (19) years for whom
the deceased victim was a significant source of direct support to the minor child in the
twelve (12) months immediately preceding the criminally injurious conduct that caused
the victim’s death. A dependent child is also one over the age of nineteen (19) who is
physically or mentally incapacitated from earning and it is shown that the deceased
victim was a significant source of direct support to the adult child in the twelve (12)
months immediately preceding the criminally injurious conduct that caused the victim’s
death. A dependent child is also one over the age of nineteen (19), but under the age of
twenty-six (26), who is enrolled in college, technical school, or vocational school and it is
shown that the deceased victim was a significant source of direct support to the adult
child in the twelve (12) months immediately preceding the criminally injurious conduct
that caused the victim’s death.
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(h) Allowance Expense. Charges incurred for needed products, services and
accommodations, including but not limited to, medical care, rehabilitation,
rehabilitative occupational training, and other remedial treatment and care. For
incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, through
July 8, 2020, no more than seven thousand dollars ($7,000.00) may be paid for expenses
related to funeral, cremation, or burial. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct
occurring on or after July 9, 2020, no more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) may
be paid for expenses related to funeral, cremation, or burial.

(i) Work Loss. Loss of income from work the victim would have performed if such person
had not been injured or died, reduced by any income from substitute work actually
performed by the victim or by income the victim would have earned in available
appropriate substitute work which he or she was capable of performing but
unreasonably failed to undertake. Work loss also includes loss of income of an offender
charged with domestic violence under Sections 13A-6-130, 13A-6-131, and 13A-6-132
when the victim was residing with the offender at the time of commission of the offense
and the offender's income was a significant source of direct support for the victim.

(j) Replacement Services Loss. Expenses reasonably incurred in obtaining ordinary and
necessary services in lieu of those the victim would have performed, not for income, but
for the benefit of self or family, if the victim had not been injured or died.

(k) Economic Loss of a Dependent. A loss after the death of the victim of contributions
of things of economic value to the dependent, not including services which would have
been received from the victim if he or she had not suffered the fatal injury, less
expenses of the dependent avoided by reason of death of the victim.
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() Replacement Services Loss of Dependent. The loss reasonably incurred by
dependents after death of the victim in obtaining ordinary and necessary services in lieu
of those that the deceased victim would have performed for their benefit had the
deceased victim not suffered the fatal injury, less expenses of the dependent avoided by
reason of death of the victim and not subtracted in calculating the economic loss of the
dependent.

(m) Economic Loss. Monetary detriment consisting only of allowable expense, work loss,
replacement services loss and, if injury causes death, economic loss and replacement
services loss of the dependent, but shall not include noneconomic loss, or noneconomic
detriment.
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(n) Noneconomic Loss or Detriment. Pain, suffering, inconvenience, physical impairment
and nonpecuniary damage.

(o) Collateral Source. The source of income, financial or other benefits or advantages for
economic loss other than the compensation paid by the Compensation Commission
which the claimant has received or is entitled to receive or is readily available to the
claimant from any or more of the following:

1. The offender;

2. The government of the United States or any agency thereof, in the form of
benefits, such as social security, medicare and medicaid, a state or any of its
subdivisions or an instrumentality of two or more states, unless the law
providing for the benefits or advantages makes them excessive or secondary to
the benefits under this chapter;

3. Any temporary nonoccupational disability insurance;

4. Workman's compensation;

5. Wage continuation programs of any employer;

6. Proceeds of a contract of insurance payable to the claimant for loss which the
victim sustained because of the criminally injurious conduct; or

7. A contract providing prepaid hospital and other health care services or
benefits for disability.

(p) Immediate Family. Immediate family for purposes of determining compensation
eligibility shall mean spouse, child, parent/legal guardian, siblings, aunts/uncles,
grandparents, and grandchildren. Except when unusually strong personal ties exist, due
to the victim or family member having been reared by a person of some relationship
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other than which is provided for in this definition for a period of twenty-four
consecutive months or longer, this relationship may be considered as immediate family
at the discretion of the Commission.

262-X-2-.01 Composition.

(1) There is hereby created the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission, which shall be
composed of three citizens of the State of Alabama, who shall be appointed by the Governor with the
advice and consent of the Senate, for terms of four (4) years each or until their successors are appointed
and qualified. Provided, however, initial appointments shall be as follows: One member shall be
appointed for two (2) years and one member shall be appointed for three (3) years and one member
shall be appointed for four (4) years. All appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the duration of the
unexpired term and subsequent appointments shall be for four-year terms. The membership of the
board shall be inclusive and reflect the racial, gender, geographic, urban/rural, and economic diversity of
the state.
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(2) At least one member shall be a law enforcement officer with a minimum of 10 years experience in or
with a law enforcement agency which has among its primary duties and responsibilities the investigation
of violent crimes and the apprehension or arrest of the perpetrators thereof.

(3) At least one member shall be a victim of a crime of violence who suffered serious personal injury as a
result thereof, or a member of such victim's immediate family or a member of a deceased victim's
immediate family if such deceased victim died as a result of a crime of violence, or an officer of a
nonprofit, charitable crime victims organization established pursuant to the laws of Alabama.

262-X-2-.02 Officers. Each year the Commission shall elect a chairman from its membership.
Chairperson elections shall be held in the month of June. The Commission may appoint an executive
director who shall serve at the pleasure of the Commission and shall be paid a salary in an amount to be
determined by the Commission.

262-X-2-.03 Meetings.

The Commission shall have its principle place of business in the county wherein the state capital is
located. The Commission shall hold at its principle place of business regular monthly public meetings on
the second Thursday of each month and other meetings at such times and places as its members may
elect. Any two (2) members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the purposes of transacting
the business of the Commission and two (2) votes in favor shall be necessary for a decision by the
Commission at any meeting of the Commission. The Commission shall meet on the second Thursday of
each month at 10:00 a.m. at the Commission office. Meetings shall be conducted using Roberts Rules of
Order. All meetings of the Commission shall be publicized in accordance with the Alabama Open
Meetings Act. Any change to the regular Commission meeting shall be publicized in accordance with the
Alabama Open Meetings Act.

262-X-2-.04 Rulemaking.

(a) From time to time the Commission shall establish rules and regulations for the administration of its
duties and responsibilities pursuant to this chapter. All rules shall be passed by a majority vote of the
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three member Commission. A copy of the current rules shall be published in each year’s annual report
and shall be made available to the public upon request.

(b) Petitions for Adoption, Repeal, or Change of Rule

1. Any person may petition the Commission for the adoption of a new rule or for the repeal or
change of any existing rule.

2. Action by the Commission on any such petition shall be as provided in ALA. CODE § 41-22-8.
3. In order to be considered, a petition for a rule change must be in writing and contain the
following minimum information:
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(a) A title reflecting that the petition seeks the adoption of a new rule, or the
modification or repeal of an existing rule or rules.

(b) The petitioner's name, address, and telephone number.

(c) A statement identifying all rules or statutes that may be involved should the relief
sought in the petition be granted in whole or in part.

(d) A clear and concise statement or narrative as to why the new rule, or modification or
repeal of an existing rule is needed, specifying:

(i) the persons or class of persons it would affect and how it would affect them;
(i) the benefits and disadvantages of the proposed rule, modification or repeal;
(iii) the estimated cost or cost savings to the Commission;

(iv) any other reasons why the rule, modification, or repeal should be accepted
by the Commission;

(v) the legal authority for the proposed rule, modification or change;

(vi) the names and complete addresses of any persons, firms, organizations, and
the identity of any class of persons known to the petitioner who would be or
could be adversely affected by the proposed rule, modification, or repeal.

(e) The reason for submitting the petition, if the reason is not apparent from the face of
the petition.

(f) Full disclosure of the petitioner's interest.

(g) A statement as to whether the issues presented by the petition are presently under
consideration by the Commission or by any judicial or quasi-judicial body in any pending
proceedings, and if so, before which body they are pending.

(h) A certification by the petitioner that the information contained in the petition is
true and correct to the best of petitioner's knowledge, and that the petition

has not been filed for any improper purposes, or for delay or harassment. The
certification must be signed by the petitioner and the petitioner’s signature must be
notarized.

(c) Declaratory Rulings.

1. Any person substantially affected by a rule may petition the Commission for a declaratory
ruling with respect to the validity of a rule or the applicability to any person, property or state of
facts of any rule or statute enforceable by it or with respect to the meaning and scope of any
order of the Commission.
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2. The petition shall be in writing and shall include:

(a) The name and address of the petitioner;

(b) A statement of facts sufficient to show that the person seeking relief is

substantially affected by the rule;

(c) The rule, statute, or order and the exact question(s) to which an answer is requested;
(d) The reason(s) for submitting the petition;

(e) Full disclosure of the petitioner's interest(s);

(f) Statement as to whether the petitioner's case is presently under consideration by the
Commission or in any pending proceeding;

(g) A certification by the petitioner that the information contained in the petition is true
and correct to the best of petitioner's knowledge, and that the petition has not been
filed for any improper purposes, or for delay or harassment. The certification must be
signed by the petitioner and the petitioner’s signature must be notarized.
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3. Failure of the Commission to issue a declaratory ruling within forty-five days of date of
receipt of request shall constitute a denial of the request.

4. Circumstances in which rulings shall not be issued include, but are not necessarily limited to:

(a) Lack of jurisdiction;

(b) Lack of clarity of the issue presented;

(c) No clear answer determinable;

(d) On a petition which seeks the immediate payment or non-payment of benefits under
the Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation Act;

(e) If petitioned for by a person not a party to the contested case if the matter is
involved in a contested case;

(f) On matters in litigation.

262-X-2-.05 Records.

The chairman of the Commission shall keep a true record of all the proceedings of the meetings of the
Commission. At the call of any member the vote on any pending question shall be taken by 'ayes' and
'nays', and the same shall be entered in such record. The written minutes of the proceedings shall be
maintained by the agency. The Commission shall meet in Executive Session in compliance with the
Alabama Open Meetings Act. The record of the proceedings of the Commission shall be open to any
member of the Commission and to the public at all times and a copy of such record, certified by the
chairman shall be competent evidence in all courts. Provided, however, the Commission shall decline to
disclose the names and addresses of victims or claimants who have applied for compensation pursuant
to the provisions of this chapter or the facts or circumstances of the criminally injurious conduct
perpetrated against them.

262-X-2-.06 Bond.

All members and employees of the Commission handling money or exercising authority over any
property shall, before entering the discharge of their duties, give bond with a surety company
authorized to do business in the State of Alabama, a surety, payable to the Commission in an amount or
amounts sufficient to protect the Commission against any loss with respect to the funds, money or
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property handled, conditioned for the faithful discharge of their duties and responsibilities and further
conditioned upon their faithfully accounting for all monies, funds, or properties coming into their
possession in the capacity of their employment.

262-X-2-.07 Duties of the Attorney General.

The attorney general or the district attorney of the county wherein the state capital is located shall,
upon written request by the Commission represent the Commission in all litigation to which the
Commission is a party or in which the Commission has an interest. The attorney general shall serve as
legal advisor to the Commission.
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262-X-2-.08 Compensation of Commission Members.

All Commission members shall be paid and reimbursed for expenses as established by the Code of
Alabama.

CHAPTER 262-X-3
THE COMMISSION - POWERS AND DUTIES

262-X-3-.01 The Commission-General Powers And Duties. The Commission shall have all the powers
and privileges of a corporation and all of its business shall be transacted in the name of the Commission.
In addition to any other powers and duties specified elsewhere in this chapter, the Commission shall
have the power to:

(a) Regulate its own procedures except as otherwise provided in this chapter;

(b) Define any term not defined in this chapter;

(c) Prescribe forms necessary to carry out the purposes of this chapter;

(d) Obtain access to investigative reports made by law enforcement officers or law

enforcement agencies which may be necessary to assist the Commission in making a determination of
eligibility for compensation under the provisions of this chapter; provided, however, such reports and
the information contained therein, when received by the Commission, shall be confidential and under
no circumstances shall the Commission disclose the same except to a grand jury;

(e) Take judicial notice of general, technical and scientific facts within their
specialized knowledge;

(f) Publicize the availability of compensation and information regarding the filing of
claims therefore;

(g) Collect all monies provided by this chapter to be collected by the Commission;
(h) Provide for and maintain all necessary administrative facilities and personnel;
(i) Provide for payment of all administrative salaries, fees, and expenses;
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() Cause its monies to be invested and its investments sold or exchanged and the
proceeds and income collected;

(k) Determine who is a victim or dependent;

(1 Pass upon all applications for compensation or other benefits provided for in
this chapter;

(m) Authorize executive director to pass upon all supplemental applications for
compensation in an amount not to exceed $1000 and to pass upon all original applications for claims in
an amount not to exceed $2000.
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(n) Pay all compensation or other benefits that may be determined to be due under
this chapter and under the rules and regulations of the Commission;

(o) Employ such agents, attorneys, actuaries and other specialized personnel that
shall be necessary or desirable to enable the Commission to carry on its functions in a proper and sound
manner;

(p) Receive by gift, grant, devise or bequest any monies or property of any nature

or description;

(q) Accept and administer loans, grants, and donations from the federal
government, its agencies and all other sources, public and private, for carrying out any of its functions;

(r) Develop a comprehensive analysis of the problems regarding victims of crime
within the criminal justice system or systems of this state and formulate model programs, plans or
methods for lessening the physical, mental or financial burdens placed on innocent crime victims by the
operation of the criminal justice system, both on the state and local level;

(s) Identify laws, rules or regulations proposed or adopted by any agencies or
institution of this state or any political subdivision thereof which have or will have a significant adverse
or beneficial impact upon crime victims and to advocate the adoption, repeal, or modification thereof in
the interest of innocent victims of crime;

(t) Collect, develop and maintain statistical information, records and reports as the
Commission may determine relevant or necessary to carry out its powers, duties or functions, pursuant
to the provisions of this chapter. All agencies and institutions of this state or the political subdivisions
thereof shall, upon written request by the Commission, furnish to the Commission such statistical
information or data as the Commission shall deem necessary to fulfill its duties and responsibilities;

(u) Award loans or grants of money, equipment or personnel to public or private
nonprofit corporations or associations, agencies of the State of Alabama or political subdivisions
thereof, or to state, county, or municipal law enforcement, prosecutorial or judicial agencies upon such
terms and conditions as the Commission may deem proper for the purpose of developing, enhancing or
establishing bona fide model crime victims service programs which emphasize the collection of
restitution from criminals as an integral part of the criminal justice process; provided, however, such
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loans or grants shall only be awarded when sufficient funds are available in excess of reasonably
anticipated or projected claims for compensation;

(v) Carry out any powers expressly granted elsewhere in this chapter to the
Commission; and

(w) All other powers necessary for the proper administration of the provisions of
this chapter.
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262-X-3-.02 Annual Report Required.

The Commission shall publish annually a report showing the fiscal transactions of the Commission for
the preceding year, the amount of the accumulated cash, and securities of the Commission and a
balance sheet showing the financial condition of the Commission by means of an actuarial evaluation of
the assets and liabilities of the Commission. The current agency administrative code shall be published
in each year’s annual report.

262-X-3-.03 Audit Of Financial Affairs Of Commission Authorized.

The Director of the Department of Examiners of Public Accounts shall at least once every other year and
at such other times as such director shall deem appropriate cause to be performed a detailed audit of
the financial affairs of the Commission and shall promptly notify the appropriate grand jury as to any
possible violations of law.

262-X-3-.04 Compensation For Economic Loss Resulting From Criminal Conduct-Authorized;
Procedure.

(1) The Commission may award compensation for economic loss arising from criminally injurious
conduct as satisfied by a preponderance of the evidence that the requirements for
compensation have been met.

(2) The Commission shall hear and determine all matters relating to claims for compensation,
and shall have the power to reinvestigate or reopen claims without regard to statutes of
limitation.

(3) The Commission shall have the power to subpoena witnesses, compel their attendance,
require the production of records and other evidence, administer oaths or affirmations, conduct
hearings and receive relevant evidence.

262-X-3-.05 Collateral Source Contribution Not Required.

The Commission shall not require any claimant to seek or accept any collateral source contribution,
unless the claimant was receiving or was entitled to receive such benefits prior to the occurrence giving
rise to the claim under the provisions of this chapter; provided, however, no applicant shall be denied
compensation solely because such applicant is entitled to income from a collateral source. All claimants
filing a civil suit for damages resulting from the victimization for which they filed for compensation must
promptly report the filing of such suit to the Commission.
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262-X-3-.06 Procedure In Contested Cases.

Authority: Code of Alabama § 15-23-10(a)(b)(c), (1995), which provides:

(a) Every party to a claim shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard and to offer evidence
and argument on any issue relevant to the claim, and to examine witnesses and offer evidence in reply
to any matter of an evidentiary nature in the record relevant to the claim.

(b) In a contested case, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity for a hearing after reasonable notice
pursuant to regulations promulgated by the commission. A record of the proceedings of the hearingin a
contested case shall be made and shall be transcribed upon request of any party who shall pay
transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the commission.
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(c) The commission may, without a hearing, settle a claim by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent
order or default.

(1) In the event that a crime victims’ compensation claim is approved in a modified form, not
approved, or approved - but reduced, the Commission shall notify the claimant by certified
mail, return receipt requested, within ten (10) calendar days of the Commission’s action setting
forth the basis of the Commission’s decision.

(2) The claimant shall have the right to appeal the Commission’s final decision. The claimant may
appeal the final decision by notifying the Commission’s Executive Director in writing of the
intent to appeal within thirty (30) calendar days of receiving the letter setting forth the
Commission's decision. The appeal request must be received by the Commission within thirty
(30) calendar days. Regular mail is accepted. However, certified mail is strongly
recommended. The claimant must sign the request for a contested case hearing (administrative
appeal hearing) in order for it to be processed.

(3) All contested case hearings shall be held in accordance with the Alabama Administrative
Procedures Act.

(4) All claimants shall receive a minimum of thirty (30) days notice of the contested case hearing.
(5) Pursuant to §41-22-12(a) Code of Alabama (1975), the Commission shall deliver to the claimant
the notice of the contested case hearing by first class mail, postage prepaid, to be effective
upon the deposit of the notice in the mail. The notice of the administrative appeal hearing

shall also be delivered to the claimant by certified mail, return receipt requested.

(6)In a contested case hearing, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard.

(7) The claimant may request that subpoenas be issued for the contested case hearing.

(8) The Commission shall render its decision relative to the contested case hearing within ten (10)
calendar days of the formal hearing and the claimant will be notified by certified mail, return
receipt requested.

(9) An impartial governmental hearing officer from a list certified by the State of Alabama Personnel
Department shall be provided by the Commission to preside over all contested case hearings
and perform such parliamentary functions as he/she deems necessary. The Commission shall
render the final decision in the claim. A certified court reporter shall be used to transcribe each
appeal hearing. A record of the proceedings shall be made and shall be transcribed upon
request of any party, who shall pay transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the
Commission.
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(10)The claimant’s contested case hearing will be dismissed if he/she fails to appear without good
cause.

262-X-4-.01 Filing of Claims.

(1) A claim may be filed by the victim, a dependent of a deceased victim, or a person legally
authorized to act on behalf of a deceased victim. When the victim is a minor, a parent or legal
guardian may file on his/her behalf. A guardian, conservator, or other person legally authorized to
act on behalf of an incapacitated victim may file a claim on his/her behalf.
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(2) A claim must be filed with the Commission within one (1) year after the death or injury upon
which the claim is based or the Commission finds that there was good cause for the failure to file
within that time.

(3) The date on which each claim is received by the Commission shall be documented. An ACVCC
application that has been signed by either facsimile signature or electronic signature must be
submitted for a compensation request to be processed. If the Commission is not satisfied that the
facsimile signature or the electronic signature is authentic, it may request an original, notarized
signature from the claimant.

(4) The Commission will make written request to the claimant for needed
information/documentation. The claimant shall have forty-five (45) days to submit the requested
information/documentation to the Commission. Failure to provide information/documentation
within forty-five (45) days may, at the Commission's discretion, result in the non-approval of the
claim.

(5) Separate claims may be filed for individual family members who are victims.

262-X-4-.02 Eligibility Criteria Generally.

(1) The incident must have occurred on or after June 1, 1984.

(2) The incident must have been reported within 72 hours after its occurrence or the Commission
must find there was good cause for the failure to report within that time. Good cause includes,
but is not limited to the minority, infirmity or incapacity of the claimant.

(3) The application must be filed within one (1) year of the incident unless the Commission finds
there was good cause for the failure to report within that time.

(4) The victim must have suffered bodily injury, psychological injury as the result of a direct, face to
face threat of physical injury, or actual physical injury or death as a result of the criminal actions
of another.

(5) The claimant or victim must cooperate fully with law enforcement and the Commission staff. If
law enforcement officials or Commission staff are not satisfied with the victim's or claimant's
cooperation, the Commission may “not approve” the claim.

(6) Requested expenses shall not be eligible for compensation if they have been paid by a collateral
source.

(7) The victim or claimant must not be the offender or an accomplice of the offender.

(8) No portion of the compensation shall benefit the offender or accomplice.
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(9) If the applicant, after making application for compensation to the Commission, then perpetrates
any criminally injurious conduct or is convicted of a felony, the applicant shall be ineligible for
compensation.

(10)The claimant must submit an application that has been signed by either facsimile signature or
electronic signature. If the Commission is not satisfied that the facsimile signature or the
electronic signature is authentic, it may request an original, notarized signature from the
claimant.

(11)A person must be a U.S. citizen, a person who is legally present in the U.S., or an alien eligible for
public benefits in order to receive compensation benefits.

(12)An alien who is defined as an eligible alien pursuant to 8 U.S.C. §1621(a) or 8 U.S.C. § 1641, or
certified as a victim of human tracking pursuant to 22 U.S.C. §7105 may be eligible for
compensation benefits.

(13)Proof of U.S. citizenship, legal presence in the U.S., or proof of being an alien eligible for public
benefits must be provided for every claimant/victim.
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a. A copy of one of the following documents may be accepted as evidence of U.S.
citizenship:
i. A birth certificate issued in or by a city, county, state, or other governmental
entity within the United States or its outlying possessions.
ii. A U.S. Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545, DS-135) or a Report of Birth Abroad of
a U.S. Citizen (FS-240).
iii. A birth certificate or passport issued from:
1. Puerto Rico, on or after January 13, 1941;
Guam, on or after April 10, 1898;
U.S. Virgin Islands, on or after February 25, 1927;
Northern Mariana Islands, after November 4, 1986;
American Samoa;
Swains Island; or
7. District of Columbia.
iv. An unexpired U.S. passport.
v. Certificate of Naturalization (N-550, N-57, N-578).
vi. Certificate of Citizenship (N-560, N-561, N-645).
vii. U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-179, 1-197).
viii. Free Alabama Photo Voter Identification Card.
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If the Commission is not satisfied with the authenticity of a copy of one of the
documents in 262-X-4-.02 (13) a, it may request that the original be submitted for
inspection.

b. A person may be presumed to not be an alien who is unlawfully present in the U.S. if the
person provides a copy of one of the following documents to the Commission for
inspection:

i. Avalid, unexpired Alabama driver’s license.
ii. Avalid, unexpired Alabama nondriver identification card.
iii. A valid tribal enrollment card or other form of tribal identification bearing a
photograph or other biometric identifier.
iv. Any valid United States federal or state government issued identification
document bearing a photograph or other biometric identifier, if issued by an
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entity that requires proof of lawful presence in the United States before
issuance.
v. A foreign passport issued by a visa waiver country with the corresponding entry
stamp and unexpired duration of stay annotation or an 1-94W form by the
United States Department of Homeland Security indicating the bearer’s
admission to the United States.
If the Commission is not satisfied with the authenticity of a copy of one of the
documents in 262-X-4-.02 (13) b, it may request that the original be submitted for
inspection.
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c. Submission of a copy of one of the following documents and subsequent positive
verification in the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) system is proof
of legal presence:

i. 1-327 (Reentry Permit)

ii. 1-551 (Permanent Resident Card)

iii. 1-571 (Refugee Travel Document)

iv. 1-766 (Employment Authorization Card)

v. Certificate of Citizenship

vi. Naturalization Certificate
vii. Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language)
viii. Temporary I-551 Stamp (on Passport or |-94)

ix. 1-94 (Arrival/Departure Record)

X. 1-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport

xi. Unexpired Foreign Passport

xii. 1-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status)
xiii. DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status)
xiv. Documents not included in this list will be examined on a case-by-case basis.

d. Failure to provide this documentation within the requested time shall result in the non-
approval of the compensation claim.

e. This rule shall be effective upon the filing date and apply to claims pending
and/or claims received on or after the filing date.

262-X-4-.03 Contribution To Offense.

Authority:
Code of Alabama § 15-23-12(b) (1995), which provides:

Compensation otherwise payable to a claimant may be diminished or denied to the extent that the
economic loss is recouped from collateral sources; or to the extent that the degree of responsibility for
the cause of the injury or death is attributable to the victim as determined by the commission.

(a) Compensation may be reduced or denied based on the victim’s degree of contribution to
the offense. The reduction or denial will be based on the extent of the degree of
responsibility for the cause of injury or death attributable to the victim/claimant’s actions
and/or involvement in the events that led to the crime. Compensation may be reduced in
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whole or in part if contributory conduct is determined.

Eligibility for compensation can be affected by a victim/claimant’s involvement in the events
that led to the crime. The victim/claimant’s actions do not have to be illegal to be deemed
contributory conduct. Such actions must relate significantly to the occurrence that caused
the victimization and be such that a reasonable or prudent person would know that the
actions could lead to their victimization.

(c) Contributory conduct is a voluntary action by the victim, which directly or indirectly,

ISTRATIVE CODE

(1)
(2)
(3)

(1)

(5)

produced the victim’s injury at the time of the victimization which gives rise to the
compensation claim. This action may include, but is not limited to, provocation, drug use,
alcohol intoxication, consent, or incitement by the victim.

(d) Contributory conduct is a factor when the victim knowingly participated in conduct that:

Caused, resulted in, or reasonably could have led to the specific crime
which caused the victimization; or

Was itself clearly wrongful or illegal, thereby placing him/herself in a
position to be victimized; or

Clearly put himself/herself into a situation where the crime was
reasonably expected and/or a prudent person would have avoided.

(e) Contributory conduct to the offense may be determined by the victim’s actions or nature of the
victim’s involvement in the events leading up to victimization. The following factors may be
considered in the determination of contributory conduct:

Alcohol intoxication that resulted in the use of poor judgment by the
victim;

Drug use that resulted in the use of poor judgment by the victim;

If the offender verbally insulted the victim and the victim failed to
retreat, a contribution factor may be assessed;

If it appears the victim was injured as a result of poor judgment or as a
result of his/her conduct being less than that of a prudent person in the
same situation, a contribution factor may be assessed;

If it appears that the victim first physically assaulted the offender, the
victim’s claim for compensation may be denied.

(f) The Commission may consider all information relevant to the circumstances, including, but not

limited to:
(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)

(5)

Level of responsibility of the victim’s conduct;

Foreseeability of the consequences of such conduct;

Ability to avoid the situation (Victim’s failure to retreat or withdraw
from situation where an option to do so existed.)

Whether there is a direct causal relationship between the victim's
actions and his/her victimization.

Whether the criminally injurious conduct made the basis of the
compensation claim occurred at a place known for illegal activity (shot
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house, house of gambling, house of prostitution or drug house) or arose
out of acts involving violation(s) of federal, state, or municipal laws. A
contribution factor shall not be accessed for persons who were in such
areas for a legitimate purpose and not involved in any type of illegal
activity.

(6) Contribution to the offense will be determined by the actions of the
victim at the time of or immediately preceding the crime.

262-X-4-.04 Compensation Awards - Amounts and Methods of Payment.
(1) Compensation payable to a victim or claimant sustaining economic loss due to injury or
death may not exceed a total of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000.00). For incidents of
criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, through July 8, 2020,
compensation payable to a victim or claimant sustaining economic loss due to injury or death
may not exceed a total of twenty thousand dollars ($20,000). For incidents of criminally
injurious conduct occurring on or after July 9, 2020, compensation payable to a victim or
claimant sustaining economic loss due to injury or death may not exceed a total of fifteen
thousand dollars (515,000.00).
(2) Compensation for lost wages may not exceed four hundred ($400.00) dollars per week. For
incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, through July 8,
2020, compensation for lost wages may not exceed six hundred ($600.00) dollars per week.
For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after July 9, 2020, compensation
for lost wages may not exceed four hundred ($400.00) dollars per week.
(3) The Commission may provide for the payment to a claimant in a lump sum or installments.
Outstanding eligible expenses will be paid directly to the service provider. Compensation
payable to service providers for medical treatment may be compensated at a reduced rate.
Outstanding charges for medical treatment, excluding psychiatric care, counseling, and dental
treatment, may be compensated at a reduced rate of thirty percent (30%) of eligible charges up
to a maximum amount of six thousand dollars ($6,000). When the claimant has already paid
out-of-pocket for medical treatment and services, the claimant may be fully reimbursed for all
eligible expenses.
(4) Future Economic Loss.
(a For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014,
through July 8, 2020, the maximum award for future economic loss is $20,000 per claim. For
incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on July 9,2020, through March 10, 2021,
the maximum award for future economic loss is $15,000 per claim. For incidents of
criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after March 11, 2021, future economic loss is
limited to $400.00 per week for a maximum of 26 weeks. Future economic loss may be
awarded if the victim was employed at the time of his/her victimization and the employment is
verifiable.
(b) If the deceased victim leaves a dependent spouse and no dependent children, the total
amount of the future economic loss may be paid to the dependent spouse.
(c) If the deceased victim leaves a dependent spouse and a dependent child or dependent
children and the dependent spouse is the parent of all the victim’s dependent children, then
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the total amount of the future economic loss may be paid to the dependent spouse for the
benefit of himself/herself and the dependent child or dependent children.
(d) If the deceased victim does not leave a dependent spouse, but leaves dependent children,
funeral/burial expenses may be paid prior to the payment of future economic loss for a
dependent child or dependent children. After the payment of funeral/burial expenses,
twenty-five percent (25%) of the remaining compensation benefits may be used for the
compensation of the claimant’s eligible expenses. The remaining compensation benefits will
be apportioned equally among the dependent children for whom a request for future
economic loss is made within the one-year filing deadline. Dependent children who request
future economic loss after the one-year filing deadline may not receive compensation
benefits. If there are compensation funds remaining after the one-year filing deadline, they
may be equally apportioned and distributed to the deceased victim’s dependent children
who made a request for future economic loss prior to the expiration of the one-year filing
deadline.
(e) If the deceased victim leaves a dependent spouse and a dependent child or dependent
children for whom the parent or legal guardian is someone other than the dependent
spouse, funeral/burial expenses may be paid prior to the payment of future economic loss
for a dependent child or dependent children. After the payment of funeral/burial expenses,
fifty percent (50%) of the remaining compensation benefits may be used for the
compensation of the dependent spouse’s eligible expenses. The remaining compensation
benefits will be apportioned equally among the dependent children for whom a request for
future economic loss is made within the one-yea<ns1:XMLFault xmlns:ns1="http://cxf.apache.org/bindings/xformat"><ns1:faultstring xmlns:ns1="http://cxf.apache.org/bindings/xformat">java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space</ns1:faultstring></ns1:XMLFault>