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262-X-1-.01 General Information and Definitions.

{1} Purpose: It is the intent of the Legislature and the purpose of the Alabama Crime Victims’
Compensation Commission (ACVCC) to provide financial and other assistance for victims of violent crime
for the allowable expenses that are incurred as a direct result of victimization. Applicants must not have
contributed to their victimization or have been convicted of felonies or acts of viclence against others
after making application for compensation. Other eligibility requirements that must be met are listed in
the following sections.

(2) Program Description: ACVCC provides financial assistance for allowable expenses to victims of violent
crime who have suffered personal injury, psychological injury or death. Compensation may be reduced
or denied based on contribution to one’s own victimization as defined in the following sections. The
program provides compensation for a number of services, which are listed in the following sections.
ACVCC does not award compensation for expenses, which are paid by a collateral source. The program
also has a statutory entitlement to subrogation in instances in which a claimant has received recovery
from a collateral source after having been paid by ACVCC,

{a) The maximum amount of compensation that may be awarded in any one claim is $15,000. Other
limitations for specific categories are addressed in the following chapters. For incidents of criminally
injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, the maximum amoeunt of compensation that
may be awarded in any one claim is {$20,000).

{3) Definitions: As used in these rules the following words shall include but are not limited to the
following meanings unless the context clearly requires a different meaning:

{a) Commission. The Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation Commission as described in Chapter 262-X-
2 of these rules.

{b) Criminally Injuricus Conduct.

(c) An act occurring or attempted within the geographical boundaries of this state which results in
serious personal injury or death to a victim for which punishment by fine, imprisonment or death may
be imposed; or

{d} An act occurring or attempted outside the geographical boundaries of this state in another state of
the United States of America which is punishable by fine, imprisonment or death and which results in
personal injury or death to & citizen of this state; and shall include an act of terrorism, as defined in
Section 2331 of Title 18, United States Code, committed outside of the United States, against a resident
of this state; provided, however, such a citizen at the time such act was committed had a permanent
place of residence in the geographical boundaries of this state, and in addition thereto:

(e} Had a permanent place of employment located within the geographical boundaries of this state; or
{f) Was a member of the regular armed forces of the United States of America; or the United States

Coast Guard; or was a full-time member of the Alabama National Guard, Alabama Air National Guard,
U.5. Army Reserve, U.S. Naval Reserve, U.S. Air Force Reserve; or



{g) Was retired and receiving Social Security or other retirement income; or
{h}) Was 60 years of age or older; or

{i) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of receiving medical
treatment; or

{j) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of performing
employment related duties required by an employer located within the geographical boundaries of this
state as an expressed condition of employment or employee benefits; or

(k) Was temporarily in another state of the United States of America for the purpose of receiving
occupational, vocational or other job-related training or instruction required by an employer located
within the geographical boundaries of this state as an expressed condition of full-time employment or
employee benefits; or

{I} Was a full-time student at an academic institution, college or university located in another state of
the United States of America; or

{m) Had not departed the geographical boundaries of this state for a period exceeding 30 days or with
the intention of becoming a citizen of another state or establishing a permanent place of residence in
another state.

(n) The term 'criminally injurious conduct’ shall not mean: An act committed outside the geographical
boundaries of this state upon a person who was not at the time such act was committed a citizen of the
State of Alabama or an act committed outside the geographical boundaries of this state upon a person
who at the time such act was committed had departed the geographical boundaries of this state for the
purpose of becoming a citizen of another state or for the purpose of establishing a permanent place of
residence in another state,

(o} Victim. A person who suffered serious personal injury, psychological injury as a result of a direct face
to face threat of physical injury or actual physical injury or death as a result of criminally injurious
conduct.

{p) Dependent. A natural person wholly or partially dependent upon the victim for care or support, and
includes a child of the victim born after the death of the victim when the death occurred as the result of
criminally injurious conduct.

{q) Claimant. Any of the following persons applying for compensation under this chapter:

1. A victim;

2. A dependent of a deceased victim, if such victim died as result of criminally injurious conduct; or

3. A person authorized to act on behalf of a victim, or a dependent of a deceased victim if such victim
died as a result of criminally injurious conduct.



(r) Allowance Expense. Charges incurred for needed products, services and accommodations, including
but not limited to, medical care, rehabilitation, rehabilitative occupational training, and other remedial
treatment and care. It also includes a total amount not to exceed $5,000.00 for expenses related to a
funeral, cremation or burial. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October
1, 2014, no more than seven thousand dollars {$7,000.00) may be paid for expenses related to funeral,
cremation, or burial.

{s) Work Loss. Loss of income from work the victim would have performed if such person had not been
injured or died, reduced by any income from substitute work actually performed by the victim or by
income the victim would have earned in available appropriate substitute work which he or she was
capable of performing but unreasonably failed to undertake;

{t) Replacement Services Loss. Expenses reasonably incurred in obtaining ordinary and necessary
services in lieu of those the victim would have performed, not for income, but for the benefit of seif or
family, if the victim had not been injured or died,

{u) Econamic Loss of a Dependent. A loss after the death of the victim of contributions of things of
economic value to the dependent, not including services which would have been received from the
victim if he or she had not suffered the fatal injury, less expenses of the dependent avoided by reason of
death of the victim.

(v} Replacement Services Loss of Dependent. The loss reasonably incurred by dependents after death of
the victim in obtaining ordinary and necessary services in lieu of those that the deceased victim would
have performed for their benefit had the deceased victim not suffered the fatal injury, less expenses of
the dependent avoided by reason of death of the victim and not subtracted in calculating the economic
toss of the dependent.

{w) Economic Loss. Monetary detriment consisting only of allowable expense, work loss, replacement
services loss and, if injury causes death, economic loss and replacement services loss of the dependent,
but shall not include nonecanomic loss, or noneconomic detriment.

{x) Noneconomic Loss or Detriment. Pain, suffering, inconvenience, physical impairment and
ronpecuniary damage.

(y) Collateral Source. The source of income, financial or other benefits or advantages for economic loss
other than the compensation paid by the Compensation Commission which the claimant has received or
is entitled to receive or is readily available to the claimant from any or more of the following:

1. The offender;

2. The government of the United States or any agency thereof, in the form of benefits, such as social
security, medicare and medicaid, a state or any of its subdivisions or an instrumentality of two or more
states, unless the law providing for the benefits or advantages makes them excessive or secondary to

the benefits under this chapter;

3. Any temporary nonoccupational disability insurance;



4. Workman's compensation;
5. Wage continuation programs of any employer;

6. Proceeds of a contract of insurance payable to the claimant for loss which the victim sustained
because of the criminally injurious conduct; or

7. A contract providing prepaid hospital and other health care services or benefits for disability.

{z) Immediate Family. Immediate family for purposes of determining compensation eligibility shall
mean spouse, child, parent/legal guardian, siblings, aunts/uncles, grandparents, and grandchildren.
Except when unusually strong personal ties exist, due to the victim or family member having been
reared by a person of some relationship other than which is provided for in this definition for a period of
twenty-four consecutive months or longer, this relationship may be considered as immediate family at
the discretion of the Commission.

Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones
Statutory Authority: ALA. CODE § 15-23-5(14) (1995)
History: Filed July 8, 2014
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262-X-2-.03 Meetings.

The Commission shall have its principle place of business in the county wherein the state capital is
located. The Commission shall held at its principle place of business regular monthly public meetings en
the second Thursday of each month and other meetings at such times and places as its members may
elect. Any two (2) members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the purposes of transacting
the business of the Commission and two (2) votes in favor shall be necessary for a decision by the
Commission at any meeting of the Commission. The Commission shall meet on the second Thursday of
each month at 9:00 a.m. at the Commission office. Meetings shall be conducted using Roberts Rules of
Order. All meetings of the Commission shall be publicized in accordance with the Alabama Cpen
Meetings Act. Any change to the regular Commission meeting shall be publicized in accordance with the
Alabama Open Meetings Act.

Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones
Statutory Authority: ALA. CODE § 15-23-5(14) (1995)
History: Filed July 8, 2014
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262-X-2-.05 Records.

The chairman of the Commission shall keep a true record of all the proceedings of the meetings of the
Commission. At the call of any member the vote on any pending guestion shall be taken by 'ayes’ and
'nays’, and the same shall be entered in such record. The written minutes of the proceedings shall be
maintained by the agency. The Commission shall meet in Executive Session in compliance with the
Alabama Open Meetings Act. The record of the proceedings of the Commission shall he open to any
member of the Commission and to the public at all times and a copy of such record, certified by the
chairman shall be competent evidence in all courts. Provided, however, the Commission shall decline to
disclose the names and addresses of victims or claimants who have applied for compensation pursuant
to the provisions of this chapter or the facts or circumstances of the criminally injurious conduct
perpetrated against them.

Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones
Statutory Authority: ALA. CODE § 15-23-5{14) {1995)
History: Filed July 8, 2014
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262-X-3-.06 Procedure In Contested Cases.

Authority:

Code of Alabama § 15-23-10{a}{b){c), (1995), which provides:

(a) Every party to a claim shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard and to offer evidence
and argument on any issue relevant to the claim, and to examine witnesses and offer evidence in reply
to any matter of an evidentiary nature in the record relevant to the claim.

(b} In a contested case, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity for a hearing after reasonable notice
pursuant to regulations promulgated by the commission. A record of the proceedings of the hearing in a
contested case shall be made and shall be transcribed upon request of any party who shall pay
transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the commission.

(¢} The commission may, without a hearing, settle a claim by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent
order or default.

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)
(5}

(6)
(7)
(8)

(9)

tn the event that a crime victims’ compensation claim is approved in a medified form, not
approved, or approved - but reduced, the Commission shall notify the claimant by certified mail,
return receipt requested, within ten {10) calendar days of the Commission’s action seftting forth
the basis of the Commission’s decision.

The claimant shall have the right to appeal the Commission’s final decision. The claimant may
appeal the final decision by notifying the Commission’s Executive Director in writing of the
intent to appeal within thirty {30} calendar days of receiving the letter setting forth the
Commission's decision. The appeal request must be received by the Commission within thirty
{30} calendar days. Regular mail is accepted. However, certified mail is strongly recommended.
The claimant must sign the request for a contested case hearing {administrative appeal hearing)
in order for it to be processed.

All contested case hearings shall be held in accordance with the Alabama Administrative
Pracedures Act.

All claimants shall receive a minimum of thirty {30} days notice of the contested case hearing.
Pursuant to §41-22-12(a) Code of Alobama (1975}, the Commission shall deliver to the claimant
the notice of the contested case hearing by first class mail, postage prepaid, to be effective upon
the deposit of the notice in the mail. The notice of the administrative appeal hearing shall also
be delivered to the claimant by certified mail, return receipt requested.

In a contested case hearing, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard.
The claimant may request that subpoenas be issued for the contested case hearing.

The Commission shall render its decision relative to the contested case hearing within ten (10)
calendar days of the formal hearing and the claimant will be notified by certified mail, return
receipt requested.

An impartial governmental hearing officer from a list certified by the State of Alabama Personnel
Department shall be provided by the Commission to preside over all contested case hearings
and perform such parliamentary functions as he/she deems necessary. The Commission shall
render the final decision in the claim. A certified court reporter shall be used to transcribe each
appeal hearing. A record of the proceedings shall be made and shall be transcribed upcn



request of any party, who shall pay transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the
Commission.

{10)The claimant’s contested case hearing will be dismissed if he/she fails to appear without good
cause.

Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones
Statutory Authority: ALA. CODF § 15-23-5(14) {1995)
History: Filed July 8, 2014
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262-X-4-.01 Filing Of Claims.

{1} A claim must be filed with the Commission within one (1) year after the death or injury upon which
the claim is based or the Commission finds that there was good cause for the failure to file within that
time. The date on which each claim is received by the Commission shall be documented. A completed
and signed ACVCC application must be submitted in order for a compensation request to be processed.
In the event that information is needed by the Commission that is not contained in the claim, said
information shall be furnished to the Commission within 45 days of request of same. Failure to provide
information within the time prescribed by these rules may, at the Commission’s discretion, result in the
dismissat of that claim.

(2) Separate claims may be filed for individual family members who are victims.
Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones

Statutory Authority: ALA. CODE § 15-23-5(14) (1995}
History: Filed July 8, 2014
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262-X-4-.02  Eligibility Criteria Generally,

o

10.
i1

12

13

The incident must have occurred on or after June 1, 1984.

The incident must have been reported within 72 hours after its occurrence or the Commission
must find there was good cause for the failure to report within that time. Good cause includes,
but is not Emited to the minority, infirmity or incapacity of the claimant.

The application must be filed within one (1) year of the incident unless the Commission finds
there was good cause for the failure 1o report within that time.

The victim must have suffered bodily injury, psychological injury as the result of a direct, face to
face threat of physical injury, or actual physical injury or death as a result of the criminal actions
of another,

The claimant or victim must cooperate fully with law enforcement and the Commission staff. If
law enforcement officials or Commission staff is not satisfied with the victim's or claimant’s
cooperation, the Commission may deny, reduce or declare the claim ineligible.

Requested expenses shall not be eligible for compensation in the event that they have been
paid by a collateral source.

The victim or claimant must not be the offender or an accomplice of the offender.

No portion of the compensation shall benefit the offender or accomplice.

If the applicant, after making application for compensation to the Commission, then perpetrates
any criminally injurious conduct or is convicted of a felony, the applicant

shall be ineligible for compensation.

The claimant must submit an original signed and notarized claim application

The victim's presence in the United States of America must be lawful.

An alien who is defined as an eligible alien pursuant to 8 U.S.C. §1621{a) or 8 U.5.C. § 1641, or
certified as a victim of human tracking pursuant to 22 U.S.C. §7105 may be eligible for
compensation benefits.

Proof of U.S. citizenship, legal presence in the U.S., or proof of being an alien eligible for public
benefits must be provided for every claimant/victim.

a. Anoriginal or certified copy of the following documents is evidence of U.S. citizenship:
i. A birth certificate issued in or by a city, county, state, or other governmental
entity within the United States or its outlying possessions.
ii. AU.S. Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545, DS-135) or a Report of Birth Abroad of
a U.S. Citizen (FS-240).
iii. A birth certificate or passport issued from:
1. Puerto Rico, on or after January 13, 1941,
Guam, on or after April 10, 1898;
1.5, Virgin Islands, on or after February 25, 1927;
Northern Mariana islands, after November 4, 1986;
American Samoa;
Swains Island; or
7. District of Columbia.
. An unexpired LJ.S. passport.
v. Certificate of Naturalization {N-550, N-57, N-578).
vi. Certificate of Citizenship (N-560, N-561, N-645}.
vii. U.S. Citizen Identification Card (1-179, 1-197}.
viii. Free Alabama Photo Voter Identification Card,
b. A person is presumed to not be an alien who is unlawfully present in the U.S. if the
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person provides the original of one of the following documents to the Commission for
inspection:
i. A valid, unexpired Alabama driver’s license.

ii. A valid, unexpired Alabama nondriver indentification card.

iil. A valid tribal enroliment card or other form of tribal identification bearing a
photograph or other biometric identifier.

iv. Any valid United States federal or state government issued identification
document hearing a photograph or other biometric identifier, if issued by an
entity that requires proof of lawful presence in the United States before
issuance.

v. A foreign passport issued by a visa walver country with the corresponding entry
stamp and unexpired duration of stay annotation or an |-94W form by the
United States Department of Homeland Security indicating the bearer’s
admission to the United States,

c. Submission of a copy of one of the following documents and subsequent positive
verification in the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) system is proof
of legal presence:;

i. 1327 {Reentry Permit)

ii. 1-551 (Permanent Resident Card)

iitl. 1-571 (Refugee Travel Document)

iv. 1-766 (Employment Authorization Card)

v. Certificate of Citizenship

vi. Naturalization Certificate

vii. Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language)

viii. Temporary 1-551 Stamp {on Passport or I-94)

ix. 1-94 {Arrival/Departure Record)

% 1-94 {Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport

xi. Unexpired Foreign Passport

xii. |-20 {Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant {F-1) Student Status)

xiii. DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status)
xiv. Documents not included in this list will be examined on a case-by-case basis.

d. Failure to provide this documentation within the requested time shall result in the non-
approval of the compensation claim.

e. This rule shall be effective upon the filing date and apply to claims pending
and/or claims received on or after the filing date.

Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones
Statutory Authority: ALA, CODE § 15-23-5(14) (1995}
History: Filed fuly 8, 2014



ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION
P.C. BOX 231267

If you have limited English proficiency, you MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36123-1267 Si usted ha limitado la pericia inglesa, ustedl
have the right to language assistance and {334) 250-4420 tiene el derecho a la ayuda del idiomay
this language assistance will be provided to 1-800-541-9388 (VICTIMS ONLY) esta ayuda del idioma sera
you free of charge. FAX (334) 290-4455 proporcionado a usted libre de la carga.

www.acvee.alabama.gov

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS
Please carefully read these instructions before completing the application.

1. When completing this form, please type or print legibly, in ink.
2. i you need help with this form, please contact the Victim Service Officer (VSO) at your local District Attorney's office or the ACVCC at
the number{s) listed above.

3. Only send copies of hills and expenses related to the victimization. Include coples of bills, receipts, and insurance or benefit statements
related to the victimization with the application. You may send coples of additional medical bills as treatment continues.
Until necessary documentation is received, that portion of your claim cannot be processed.

4. Your claim cannot be processed without a police report, The ACVCC will request a copy of the incident report from law enforcement.
i you have a copy of the incident repert, sending it in with your application may shorten the processing time for your claim.

5. Promptly mall the application and all documents to the ACYVCC at the above address.
There is a one-year deadline from the date of the crime for filing your claim.

6. [f the ACVCC asks you for additional information, you should send it immediately.
If the requested information is not received within forty-flve (45) days, your claim may be not approved.

7. The contact information in SECTION 1 or SECTION 2 must be completed in order to process your claim.
if the ACVCC is unable to contact you or there is no response to correspondence, your claim may be not approved.

8. The demographic information requested In SECTION 1 {shaded box) is OPTIONAL. This information is coltected for statistical purposes.
You do not have to provide this information.

3. SECTION 2 should only be completed if someone other than the victim is filing a claim. A claimant may apply in cases where the victim
is deceased, incapacitated, or is a minor. The claimant must be the person legally authorized to act on the behalf of the victim,
Documentation of this authority must be provided. in Alabama, unless you are married or an emancipated minor, you must be a
minimum age of 19 to file your own claim.

16. The questions in SECTION 3 must be answered for the ACVCC to process your claim.

11. The applicable information in SECTION 4 should be completed to the best of your ability.
The questions In SECTION 4 must be answered for the ACVCC to process your claim.

12. The applicable information in SECTION 5 should be completed for any medical expenses incurred as a result of your victimization.

13. The applicable information in SECTION & should be completed if you want consideration of lost wages or economic loss incurred as a
result of your victimization. You must provide a doctor's excuse to be eligible for lost wages.

14. The applicable information in SECTION 7 and SECTION 9 should be completed to the best of your ability.
15. The information in SECTION 8 should only be completed if the victim is deceased.

16. Complete SECTION 10 if you need emergency financial assistance. Emergency awards are for cases of dire economic need that result
from violent crime victimization. These awards are usually granted for loss of income, moving expenses, prescriptions, or crime scene
clean-up. If you are requesting an emergency award for loss of income, please attach a statement from your emplaoyer stating the time
lost from work and your net (take-home} weekly pay. If you are requesting an emergency award for moving expenses, you must attach
estimates or receipts for the requested items. Emergency awards are not usually considered for medical bills unless a service provider
has refused treatment pending payment. Please have the service provider write a letter noting this, and provide a copy of the estimate.
If you do not include these items, it will take longer to process your emergency award. There Is a maximum of $1,000.00.

17. For SECTION 11, either provide the contact information for your attorney OR check the box stating that you have NOT filed any civil
lawsuits in connection with this victimization.

The ACVCC must receive the signed, dated, and notarized original forms in order to process your claim.
Unsigned or non-notarized forms may be returned to you for signature(s), delaying the processing of your claim.

Please note that the Claim Authorization form must be notarized.

A claim filed on behalf of a minor victim or by the next-of-kin of a homicide victim cannot be processed without a
completed and notarized Affidavit of the Parent or Legal Guardian of a Crime Victim (if a minor victim)
or Affidavit for the Surviving Spouse or Next-of-Kin (if a homicide victim),




ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION
P.C. BOX 231267 S
If you have limited English proficiency, you MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36123-1267 Si usted ha limitado la pericia inglesa, usted

have the right to language assistance and (334} 290-4420 tiene el derecho a la ayuda del idioma v
this language assistance will be provided to 1-800-541-9388 (VICTIMS ONLY) esta ayuda def idioma serd %
you free of charge. FAX (334) 290-4455 proporcianado a usted libre de la carga, |

www . acvec.alabama.gov

THE COMMISSION DOES NOT PROVIDE COMPENSATION FOR
PROPERTY CRIMES, ACCIDENTS, IDENTITY THEFT, PAIN & SUFFERING OR ATTORNEY'S FEES,
The Commission can only provide compensation for actual expenses.

No more than §15,000.00 {$20,000.00 for crimes occurring on and after 10/01/2014) may be awarded for any compensation claim.
COMPENSATION MAY BE AWARDED FOR:
A) Medical expenses—including doctor and hospital care, dental expenses, prescriptions, medical supplies, inpatient psychiatric care,

etc. This does not include expenses covered by insurance, Victims may be eligible to receive 100% reimbursement for medical
expenses he/she has paid for out-of-pocket.

B} Rehabilitation expenses—including vocational or physical therapy, if not covered by ancther source,

€} Counseling expenses-includes counselor, psychologist and/or psychiatrist fees for counseling services that are related to the
victimization, Mental heaith providers must be properly licensed by the appropriate regulatory body in order for the Commission to
consider thair services for payment. Counseling is limited to 50 sessions per claim uniess the Commission determines exigent
circumstances exist. Single counseling sessions may be reimbursed at: $80.00 per hour for licensed counselors and social workers;
$100.00 per hour for psychologists; $125.00 per hour for psychiatrists; and $60.00 per hour for group therapy.

D} Work loss— work the claimant/victim missed due to the crime. Replacement services loss - expense that the claimant/victim
would not have incurred if the victim had not been injured or died. The maximum award for work foss and replacement services toss
is $400.00 per week, For crimes occurring on or after October 1, 2014, the maximum award for worl loss and replacement services
loss is $600.00 per week. Work toss and replacement services loss are limited to 52 weeks,

E} Funeral expenses—inciuding funeral home expenses, cremation, burial expenses including monument. There is a maximum of
$5,000.00. For crimes occurring on or after October 1, 2014, the maximum award is $7,000.00.

F} Property expenses-—Compensation may be awarded for eligible property that was damaged during victimization. Security
enhancements installed after victimization may be eligible. The maximum award is $2,000.00, which incfudes a $500.60 maximum
for damaged clothing. Please cantact the Commission for a list of specific items that may be eligible,

G) Moving expenses—including security deposits, utitity deposits and the costs to move. it does not include rent payments. Thisis
ondy cansidered in extreme circumstances in which the victim is in imminent physical danger and when the offense occurred at
home, There is a maximum of $1,000,00.

H) Future economic loss—-future or additional expenses or loss to victim or victim's dependents. Must be justified with explanation of
how tosses were calculated, There is a maximum of $5,000.00. For crimes accurring on or after October 1, 2014, the maximum
award is $20,000.00.

1} Guardianship fees - reimbursement for legal fees incurred by claimant to obtain guardianship of disabled or minor victim, if
guardianship is awarded. There is a maximum of $1000.00 .

YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR COMPENSATION IF:

A} The crime was reported to law enforcement within seventy-two hours (urdess good cause can be shown for not doing so). Good
cause must be submitted in writing.

B) The claim is filed within one year of the date of the incident {unless good cause can be shown for not doing so). Good cause must be
submitted in writing.

C) The victim suffered serious personal injury or death as a result of a criminal act.

B} The victim/claimant cooperated with law enforcement officials, the prosecutor's office, the courts, and the Commission.

E) The claimant/victim was not the offender, or an accomplice of the offender, or encouraged or participated in the crime in any way.
F} The compensation award would not unjustly benefit the offender.

G) The victim/claimant was not convicted of a felony and/or did not perpetrate criminally injuricus conduct after applying for
compensation.

H) The victim/claimant did not contribute to the victimization,

1) The victim's/claimant's presence in the United States of America was lawful. (Claimants/victims who are certified by federal
authorities as victims of human trafficking shali be eligible for compensation benefits. Victims of domestic violence who were ilegal
at the time of the victimization may also qualify for compensation benefits)

J)  Your expenses were not paid by a collateral source {another source of payment).
Fevision Date - iday 2012




ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION

If you have limited English proficiency, you MON?GOM%??\},B;giéigigéI23—1267 !Si usted ha limitado la pericia inglesa, usted
have the right to language assistance and (334) 200-4420 | tiene el derecho ala ayuda del idioma y

this language assistance will be provided to 1-800-541-9388 (VICTIMS ONLY) esta ayuda delidioma serd '
you free of charge. FAX (334) 290-4455 ! proporcionado a usted libre de la carga,

www.acvec.alabama.gov

ACCEPTABLE DOCUMENTATION FOR PROOF OF LEGAL PRESENCE

If you are an U.S. citizen, please provide the Commission with an original or certified copy of one of the following decuments:
- A birth certificate issued in or by a city, county, state, or other governmental entity within the United States or its outlying possessions
- A US. Certificate of Birth Abroad {FS-545, DS-135) or a Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen {F$-240)

- A birth certificate or passport issued from:
1. Puerto Rico, on or after January 13, 1841
2.U.S, Virgin Islands, on or after February 25, 1927
3. American Samoa
4. District of Columbia
5.Guam, on or after April 10, 1898
6. Northern Martana Islands, after November 4, 1986
7. Swains Island
- An unexpired US. passport
- Certificate of Naturalization (N-550, N-57, N-578)}
- Certificate of Citizenship (N-560, N-561, N-645)
4.8, Citizen ldentification Card (-179, 1-197)
- Free Alabama Photo Voter ldentification Card

The Commission will return your original or certified copy of your proof of U.S. citizenship via the United States Postal Service (USP5).
However, the Commission cannot guarantee the USPS's return of your document{s}. If you obtain{ed) your birth certificate after the date
of your victimization, the Commission will reimburse you for the cost of the birth certificate if your claim is approved. The Commission
does not reimburse for passports.

If you are not a U.S. citizen, you must provide proof of legal presence. Submission of a copy of one of the following documents and
subsequent positive verification in the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) system is proof of legal presence:

- 1-327 {Reentry Permit)

-1-551 {(Permanent Resident Card)

- I-571 {Refugee Travel Document)

- 1-766 (Employment Authorization Card)

- Certificate of Citizenship

- Naturalization Certificate

- Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language)

-Temporary -551 Stamp {(on Passport or 1-94)

-1-94 (Arrival/Departure Record)

- 1-94 {Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport

- Unexpired Foreign Passport

-1-20 {Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status)

- D52019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status)

- Documents not included in this list will be examined on a case-by-case basis

Your fegai presence will be verified by the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) system,

You will be presumed to not be an alien who is uniawfully present in the U.S. if you provide the original of one of the foliowing documents
to the Commission for inspection: {A copy of the document is not acceptable.)
« A valid, unexpired Alabama driver's license.
- A valid, unexpired Alabama nan-driver identification card.
- A valid tribal enroliment card or other form of tribal identification bearing a photograph or other biometric identifier,
. Any valid United States federal or state government issued identification document bearing a photograph or other biometric identifier,
if issued by an entity that requires proof of lawful presence in the United States before issuance.

Proof of citizenship or legal presence must be provided for the victim and the daimantif you are filing on someone else’s behalf.

Revisian Date - May 2014



You must fill out each section DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE
completely to have your claim

processed. You must include all CLAIM &
necessary attachments, DATE RECEIVED

ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION
P.0.BOX 231267 + MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36123-1267
{334) 290-4420
1-800-541-9388 {VICTIMS ONLY)
FAX (334) 290-4455

HOW DID YOU FIRST LEARN ABOUT YHE ALABAMA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION COMMISSION?

(O)Police Department  ()Sheriffs Office () District Attorney (O Lawyer  (OMedia (TV, Radlo, Newspaperetc) (O other

SECTION 1. VICTIM INFORMATION

Social Security Number*  Date of Birth First Name Middle Name/Maiden Name Last Name

Street Address City State ZiP Code

Hon;évl;ﬂg;; - Work Phane Wirelass/Cell Phone Other Phone

Marital Status Dependantis) Please list their name(s), age(s), and how related to victim

(O singte (O widowed () Married Spouse's Name - S

(O separated () Divorced

HE Fi HEORMATION I ' S TIC S F TAR S ONLY 1O
[Tor the pupossss of This apOICIton, 8 NaNGICADEEd Person 1 one GENDER _ RACEETHICITY ‘5
111 has i ke o mance! imodirment which imits the capecity to work; O Whits OM |
2) has a record of wuch impairment: T () Male ; ,
3 's perceived a3 having such an Impaiment. () ) female L) Natie () Hispanic
IWAS THE VICTIM HANDICAPPED PAIOR TO THE CHME! 9 () AvansPacific iander () Ot
SECTION 2. CLAIMANT INFORMATION
Only complete if someone other than victim Is filing claim.

Social Security Number * - Date of Birth First Name Middle Name/Maider Name Last Name

Street Address City State ZIP Code

Home Phone Work Phone Wireless/Cell Phane Other Phone Relationship to Victim

SECTION 3. ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

Was the incident reported to law enforcernent within 72 hours? Did the victim have any ciminal charges pending against him/her at the time of the crime?

O YES O NO  if NO, pisase explain why nat. O YES O NO  If YES, please explain,

|

Did you file this claim within one (1) year of the crime? Was the victim under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs at the ime of the crlme?

(OYEs (ONO  (1NO, please explain why not. (O YES (N0 I YES, please explain.

—— e e F A S R~ T I S

You must notify the ACVCC of any address change, CLAIMS MAY BE CLOSED WHEN THERE IS NO RESPONSE TO CORRESPONDENCE.

* Submission of your social security number is voluntary, Soclal securily numbers see requested to verify eligibiity pursuant to ALA CODE 54 15-23-1 < 15-23-23.F
Fallure to submit your sikial securlty number may resultin slower processing of your claim. fevislon Date - May 2014




SECTION 4. CRIME, INJURIES, AND RELATED INFORMATION

Type of crime Date of injury to victim  Date of death of victim
O Assault OSexuai Offense O purder O Vehicular O Domestic Viclence O Other
Location where %Y County State

crime occurred

In your own words, please provide a brief description of the crime, Attach additional sheets if needed.

Offender(s] - Please Hst name, birth date, and Social Security Number If known Witness(es) - Please fist name, address, and phone number

Law enforcement agency to which crime was re;vangthed Agenicy phone number  Date reported Time reported  Name of investigating officer(s
Was the victim living in the same house as the offender at the time of the crime? is the victim living in the same house as the offender now?
Oves Ono Oyves (OnNo
Has a warrant been signed? Did the victim know the offender?
O YES (NG if MO, please explain why not. O YES O NO | ¥ES, please explain,
Has an arrest been made? is the offender reiated to the victim?
(OYES (D NO i ND, pleass explain why not. {f known) Oves (ONO i ves, please expiain,

SECTION 5. MEDICAL/PSYCHIATRIC EXPENSES

Copies of all itemized bilis and insurance statements must be sent to the AQYCC

Describe injuries the victim received

List all medical, psychiatric, dentist, ambulance, doctor, hospital, counselor, and other medical expenses related to Injuries received
Bifler's Name Biller's Phone Biller's Address Charge Insurance Paid 1 Claimant Paid Victim Paid Balance Due

SECTION 6. EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION
See instruction sheet for eligibility criteria. This section must be completed if lost wages are requested. A DOCTOR'S EXCUSE MUST BE PROVIDED TO THE ACVCC,
By completing this section you are giving the ACVCC permission to contact these employers to verify employment information and wages.

Employment information for O Claimant O Victim Employment information for OCéaimam O Victim

Job Title Job Titde ...

EMplover NAM@ ... s cssmansssrn oo . Employer Name

EMployer COPACT s sresmmsss s - . 1 Employer Contact

Street Address - Street Address

City .. State e ZP City State o ZAP,
Phone EAX Phone FAX

Date Left Work e Date RETUINEC 10 WOrK v | Date Left Work e . Date Returned to Work ...

i seif-ernployed, submit mest recent income tax returns and other proof such as
stataments from those for whom work was performed showing amountis paid and date(s) worked for 2 period of at least 60 days prior to injury.
Reviston Date - May 2014




SECTION 7. INSURANCE AND OTHER COLLATERAL SCURCE INFORMATION

Name of insurance Company Fhone

Name of Insurance Cornpany Phene

Name of Agent Policy Number

Name of Agent

Paolicy Number

Type of Insurance Ouife Opuwial (OMedical () Auto () Other

Type of Insurance OLEfe OBuréal rorm;&edical (O Ao () Other

Name of Insurance Company Phone

Name of Agent Policy Number

Name of insurance Company Phone

Name of Agent Policy Number

Typeefl“n;;_irance. OLife .O“Bun"al OMecficaE OAuto OOther

O Other

Typeofinsurance  (Tyife  (DBurial (OMedical () Auto

if you received income from any of the following sources, please indicate the amouny received each month.

Sociat Security Social Security Disability Welfare Ald to Dependant Children  Workman's Compensatlon Other
SECTION 8. FUNERAL/BURIAL EXPENSES
Attach copies of ALL funeral/burial bills.
If funeral/burial expenses were paid by any of the following sources, please indicate the amount each paid.
Claimant Social Security Burial Insurance Life insurance Yeterans insurance Other

Name of funeral home, cemetery, or menument company . N'ame of funeral home, cemeter};:gr moﬁun{éﬁt é;mpany

Street Aééress i Street Address

City State ZIP Code Phone City State ZiP Code Phone

SECTICN 9. OTHER EXPENSES

See instruction sheet for details on what may be requested. All expenses are subject to approval by the ACVEC.

FUTURE ECONOMIC LOSS - If the victim or victim's dependents will have additional
future {osses as a result of the crime, please list what you think those losses might
include and an estimate of the cost of those losses.

Expense Amount Expense Amount

REPLACEMENT SERVICES - if the victin or victim's dependents have had financial
losses which they would not have had if the crime had not occurred, please list the
sepvice and the cost of replacement.

Expense Amount Expense Amount

MOVING EXPENSES - In order to qualify for an award pursuant to this category,
staying in your home must place you in direct danger of cause you Lo reasonably
helieve that you are in direct danger.

PROPERTY LOSS - If the victim had preperty damaged during the victimization,
please list the property and an estimate of its value.

Expense Amount Expense Amount Expense Amount Expense Amourt
Expense Amount Expense B A%ount Expense ‘ Amoum Expense Amoun;.
SECTION 10. EMERGENCY AWARD

if you want to request emergency funds, please indicate the amount needed and expla

in why an emergency award is needed (51,000 maximum}.

SECTION 11, LAWSUIT RECOVERY

Ovyes (OHnNo

Is a civit lawsuit being considered in connection with this case? () YES O NO

——

Has a civit awsuit been filed in connection with this case?

If you answered YES to either question above, you MUST provide contact
information for the attorney handling the civil suit.

Alabama law requires
days of inititing an | proceeding to recover restitution or damages, or prior 10 any atternpt by chalmant te
reach a pegotiated settiement.

ALABAMA CODE § 15-23-140c/,

hat you tive the Alabama Cripee Victims' Comigensation Commission written sotice within 15

Attorney Name

Street Address

City State W Code  Phone

Revizsion Date - May 2014




CLAIM AUTHORIZATION

Information Release: | hereby authorize any financial institution, any social service agency, any funeral provider, any insurance company,
any medical or mental health service provider or any state or federal governmental agency to release information concerning my financial
status to the ACVCC. [hereby authorize my employer or former employer to refease my employment information to the ACVCC,

Criminal Background Check: | understand that as a victim/claimant, | will be subject to & criminal background check in order to verify my
eligibility for compensation benefits.

Subrogation Agreement: | hereby agree to give the ACVCC written notice within 15 days of initiating any legal proceeding to recover
restituition of damages that is related to my victimization. | agree to repay the ACVCC the amount of compensation that { have received in
the event that my economic loss is recouped from any coliateral source. | understand that failure to comply with this agreement may
result in legal action being taken against me.

Service Provider Information Release: | hereby give permission to the ACVCC to release information or records about my application for
assistance to service providers and their authorized representatives who represent information about the status of my pending claim. |
understand that this release is for the limited purpose of helping service providers determine the status of the claim in order to receive
payment for services rendered.

Sign here if you DO NOT authorize the release of status
information to service provider(s).

Victim or Claimant Signature Date

Authorized Parties: | hereby agree that the parties listed below are authorized to discuss this claim.
Narne Phone Relationship Name Phone Relationship

authorized representatives and agents from any and all legal
responsibility/liability which may arise from the release of any of the above information,

By signing this document | affirm that the information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

F understand that if there is any credible evidence that | submitted a false claim for grant funds I will be promptly referred to the United
States Department of Justice, Office of Inspector General for investigation.

X

Victim or Claimant Signature

STATEOF )

COUNTY

I, , @ Notary Public in and for said County and State, hereby certify that, he/she, whose name
is signed to the foregoing affidavit, and who is known to me, acknowledged before me on this date that, being informed of the contents
of said affidavit, he or she executed the same voluntarily on the day the same bears date.

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND OFFICIAL SEAL OF OFFICE at County, State of , on this the day

of , 20

Notary Public
My Commission expires:

Revision Date - May 2014



PATIENT AUTHORIZATION FOR USE AND DISCLOSURE OF PROTECTED HEALTH INFORMATION

Name:

Date of Birth:

Soctal Security Number:

Subsnission of your sodial security member is voluntary. However, not having your seclat security numbier may slow processing of your claim.

1.

| hereby authorize the Alabama Crime Victims' Compensation Commission (ACVCC) to obtain and use my heaith, medical,
psychiatric and billing information for the purpose of processing my compensation claim.

| authorize any and all service providers, inchuding physicians, hospitals, clinics, laboratories, psychologists, psychiatrists, nurses,
physician assistants and counselors, to release my heaith, medical, psychiatric and billing information, which includes discharge
summaty, laboratory reports, history and physical, aperative procedure, pathology reports and billing information to the ACVCC
and its agents and employees who are acting within the scope of their employment.

| understand that this authorization is for any and all health, medical, psychiatric and billing information related to my
victimization, which occurred on:

| understand that such medical records may contain information concerning psychological, drug, and/or alcohol conditions, and/
or diagnosis, treatment and care of sexually transmitted diseases or complications related to the same, including but not limited
to HIV testing and results. | understand that the health, medical, psychiatric and billing information to be released may be subject
to re-disclosure by the recipient of the health, medical and billing information and no longer be protected by the Federal Privacy
Rules.

t understand that this authorization is voluntary, | also understand that I may revoke this authorization at any time by notifying
the ACVCC in writing. if| do revoke authorization, it will not have any effect on uses and disclosures made before the receipt of
the revocation.

in the event that this authorization is being signed by a personal representative of the patient, a description of such individual’s
authority to do so must be attached to this document along with proper documentation of this authority.

This autherization shall be valid for the entire duration of the processing of my compensation claim at the ACVCC and shall
terminate at such time the ACVCC has closed my compensation claim.

Patient Signature or Personal Representative Date

fevision Jate - May 2014



CERTIFICATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
FILED WITH THE LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE SERVICE
JERRY L. BASSETT, DIRECTOR

(Pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, €41-22-6, as amended).

I certify that the attached is/are correct copy/coples of rule/s
as promulgated and adopted on the 8th day of July .
20 14 , and filed with the agency secretary on the gth day of

July , 20 14 .

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Crime Victimg’ Compensation Commission

X Amendment New Repeal (Mark appropriate space;

Rule No. 262~-¥~-4-.03
{1f amended rule, give specific paragraph, subparagraphs, etc.,
keing amended)

Rule Title: Contribution to Offense.

ACTICON TAKEN: State whether the rule was adopted with or without changes from
the proposal due to written or oral comments:

The rule was adopted without changes from the proposal.

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION PUBLISHED IN VOLUME KXXIT ;
ISSUE NO. g ,AAM, DATED May 30 ;20 14

Statutory Rulemaking Authority: Ala. Code § 15-23-5(14; (1995)

(Date Filed)
{For LRS Use Only)

/}Z} . P -
Certifying Officer or his or her
Deputy Cassie T. Jones, Ed.D.

Executive Director

(NOTE: In accordance with $41-22-6(b), as amended, a proposed rule is
reguired to be certified within 90 days after completion of the notice.



262-X-4-.03 Contribution To Offense.

Authority:
Code of Alabama § 15-23-12(b) (1995), which provides:

Compensation otherwise payable to a claimant may be diminished or denied to the extent that the
economic loss is recouped from collateral sources; or to the extent that the degree of responsibility for
the cause of the injury or death is attributable to the victim as determined by the commission.

(a) Compensation may be reduced or denied based on the victim’s degree of contribution to
the offense. The reduction or denial will be based on the extent of the degree of
responsibility for the cause of injury or death attributable to the victim/claimant’s actions
and/or involvement in the events that led to the crime. Compensation may be reduced in
whole or in part if contributory conduct is determined.

(b) Eligibility for compensation can be affected by a victim/claimant’s involvement in the events
that led to the crime. The victim/claimant’s actions do not have to be illegal to be deemed
contributory conduct. Such actions must relate significantly to the occurrence that caused
the victimization and be such that a reasonable or prudent person would know that the
actions could lead to their victimization.

{c) Contributory conduct is a voluntary action by the victim, which directly or indirectly,
produced the victim’'s injury at the time of the victimization which gives rise to the
compensation claim, This action may include, but is not limited to, provecation, drug use,
alcohol intoxication, consent, or incitement by the victim,

(d) Contributory conduct is a factor when the victim knowingly participated in conduct that
(1) Caused, resulted in, or reasonably could have led to the specific crime
which caused the victimization; or
{2) Was itself clearly wrongful or illegal, thereby placing him/herself in a
position to be victimized; or
(3) Clearly put himself/herself into a situation where the c¢rime was

reasonably expected and/or a prudent person would have avoided.

{e) Contributory conduct to the offense may be determined by the victim’s actions or nature of the
victim’s involvement in the events leading up to victimization. The following factors may be
considered in the determination of contributory conduct:

{1} Alcohol intoxication that resulted in the use of poor judgment by the
victim;

{2) Drug use that resulted in the use of poor judgment by the victim;

(3) if the offender verbally insulted the victim and the victim failed to
retreat, a contribution factor may be assessed;

{4) i it appears the victim was injured as a result of poor judgment or as a

result of his/her conduct being less than that of a prudent person in the
same situation, a contribution factor may be assessed;



(5)

If it appears that the victim first physically assaulted the offender, the
victim’s claim for compensation may be denied.

(f} The Commission may consider all information relevant to the circumstances, including, but not

limited to:

Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones

Level of responsibility of the victim’s conduct;

Foreseeability of the consequences of such conduct;

Ability to avoid the situation (Victim’s failure to retreat or withdraw
from situation where an option to do so existed.)

Whether there is a direct causal relationship hetween the victim's
actions and his/her victimization.

Whether the criminally injurious conduct made the basis of the
compensation claim occurred at a place known for illegal activity (shot
house, house of gambling, house of prostitution or drug house} or arose
out of acts involving violation(s) of federal, state, or municipal laws. A
contribution factor shall not be accessed for persons who were in such
areas for a legitimate purpose and not involved in any type of illegal
activity.

Contribution to the offense will be determined by the actions of the
victim at the time of or immediately preceding the crime.

Statutory Authority: ALA. CODE § 15-23-5(14) (1995}

History: Filed July 8, 2014
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CERTIFICATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
FILED WITH THE LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE SERVICE
JERRY L. BASSETT, DIRECTCR

(Pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, §41-22-6, as amended).

I certify that the attached is/are correct copy/copies of rule/s
2s promulgated and adopted on the 8th day of July ,
20 14 , and filed with the agency secretary on the Bth day of
July , 20_14 .

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation Commission

X Amendment New Repeal (Mark appropriate space)

Rule No. 262-¥~4~_04
{If amended rule, give specific paragraph, subparagraphs, etc.,
being amended)

Rule Title: Compensation Awards - Amounts and Methods of Payment.

ACTION TAKEN: State whether the rule was adopted with or without changes from
the proposal due to written or oral comments:

The rule was adopted without changes from the proposal.

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION PUBLISHED IN VOLUME KAATL ;
IS5UE NO. 8 _,ARM, DATED May 30 L, 20 14
Statutory Rulemaking Authority: Ala. Code § 15-23-5(14){1995)

{Date Filed)
(For LRS Use Only) .
Sl . G

; /
Y -
(A A 8wt AT IL A
Certifying Officer or his or her
Deputy Cassie T. Jones, Ed.D.

Executive Director

{(NOTE: In accordance with §41-22-6{k), as amended, a proposed ruls is
reguired to be certified within 90 days after completion of the notice.



262-X-4-.04 Compensation Awards - Amounts and Methods of Payment.

(1) Compensation payable to a victim or claimant sustaining economic loss due to injury or death may
not exceed a total of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000.00). For incidents of criminally injurious conduct
occurring on or after October 1, 2014, compensation payable to a victim or claimant sustaining
economic loss due to injury or death may not exceed a total of twenty thousand dollars (§20,000).

(2) Compensation for lost wages may not exceed four hundred ($400.00) dollars per week. For incidents
of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, compensation for lost wages may
not exceed six hundred ($600.00) dollars per week.

(3) The Commission may provide for the payment to a claimantin a lump sum or instaliments or the
Commission may choose to make payments directly to the service provider. Compensation payable to
service providers for medical treatment shall be compensated at a reduced rate. Outstanding charges
for medical treatment, excluding psychiatric care, dental treatment and counseling, shall be
compensated at a reduced rate of fifty percent (50%) for eligible charges up to a maximum amount of
seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500). For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on
or after October 1, 2014, outstanding charges for medical treatment, excluding psychiatric care, dental
treatment and counseling, shall be compensated at a reduced rate of fifty percent (50%) for eligible
charges up to a maximum amount of ten thousand dollars ($10,000). Ininstances in which the
victim/claimant has already paid out-of-pocket for medical treatment and services, the victim/claimant
shall be fully reimbursed for all eligible expenses.

(4) Future Economic Loss.

(a) The maximum award for future economic loss is $5,000 per claim. For incidents of criminally
injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, the maximum award for future economic loss is
$20,000 per claim. Future economic loss may only be awarded in instances in which the victim’s loss of
future earning capacity is verifiable through his/her employment history. Future economic loss may be
awarded in the following circumstances:

(1) The victim was employed at the time of his/her victimization and the employment is
verifiable;
(2) The victim was not employed at the time of his/her victimization but worked at least sixty-

five weeks in the 104 weeks preceding victimization and the employment is verifiable. When there
is proof the victim suffered an injury or iliness during the 104 week period that prevented him/her
from working, future economic loss may be considered when it is verifiable that the only reason
the victim did not work sixty-five weeks was due to the injury/iliness.

(b) All awards for future economic loss shall be diminished or denied to the extent that the future economic
loss is recouped from a collateral source.

(c) Atthe discretion of the Commission, future economic loss may be paid in a lump sum, but only upon a
finding that the lump sum award will promote the best interest of the claimant.

(d) Anaward payable in instaliments for future economic loss may be made only for a period as to
which the Commission can reasonably determine future economic loss. An award payable in



installiments for future economic loss may be modified by the Commission upon its finding that a
material and substantial change of circumstances has occurred.

(5) No more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) may be paid for expenses related to funeral,
cremation, or burial. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014,
no more than seven thousand dollars ($7,000.00) may be paid for expenses related to funeral,
cremation, or burial.

(6) Approved claims will be paid in the order of their approval by the Commission as funds become
available,

(7) Payments may be made in lump sums or in installments.

(8) Lost wages shall be verified by obtaining written documentation from the employer or by
submission of a W2 tax document. A tax transcript from the IRS is required if the person seeking
reimbursement of his/her lost wages is self-employed or the employer indicated that taxes are not
deducted from the person’s wages. Proof must be provided that the person seeking reimbursement of
his/her lost wages paid federal and state income taxes for the period of time applicable to the requested
lost wages.

(9) The claimant may, with the Commission's approval, elect to be paid for lost wages, future economic
losses, replacement services loss, etc., before the service providers are paid.

(10) Annual leave, sick leave, personal leave or holidays shall not be considered a collateral source and
may be reimbursed by the Commission.

(11) Lost wages may be considered for the victim, claimant and immediate family members at a
prorated amount. If the victim was not employed but is now disabled as a result of the crime, the
claimant may apply for his/her lost wages only if the claimant took time from work to care for the
victim. If the victim died as a result of the crime, the claimant may apply for the victim's lost wages for
up to 52 weeks. Anticipated work may be considered for compensation when accompanied by
documentation certifying a definite start date.

(12) Lost wages are limited to $400.00 per week for a maximum of 52 weeks. The maximum award for
lost wages is $15,000. For incidents of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014,
lost wages are limited to $600.00 per week for a maximum of 52 weeks. For incidents of criminally
injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, the maximum award for lost wages is $20,000.
Life insurance shall be considered a collateral source for all claims. In the event that life insurance does
not fully compensate the victim for the eligible expenses he/she incurred as a result of the victimization,
the remaining eligible expenses may be eligible for compensation.

(13) Collateral Source
a. Life insurance shall be considered a collateral source for compensation.

b. Charitable donations shall not be considered a collateral source for compensation, unless the
donation is specifically designated for an expense. Examples of charitable donations designated for a



specific expense include, but are not limited to the following: funeral/burial expenses; medical/dental
expenses; and counseling.

(14) The maximum award for moving expenses is $1,000.00. Written estimates for moving expenses and
receipts shall be required. The Commission may award the $1000 maximum for moving expenses in
cases in which the crime occurred in the victim’s home, the victim has a reasonable fear for his/her life if
he/she does not move from the home, or moving the victim’s personal belongings is necessary.

(15) Travel Expenses.
(a) Airline tickets or mileage at the State of Alabama’s current rate for state employees and the current

State of Alabama per diem rate and lost wages may be provided for eligible travel expenses. Travel
expenses for the victim and one family member, or person of the victim’s choosing, may be awarded to
travel out of town to attend the victim's trial, or any post judgment proceeding. When the victim is
deceased, travel may be awarded to two immediate family members. Travel may be allowed for two
immediate family members to travel out of town to-attend the victim's trial-or any post judgment
proceeding. When the prosecutor’s office or any other entity pays for all or part of the victim’s or
immediate family member’s travel expenses, that amount shall be deducted from the compensation
award for travel expenses. Out of town travel may be allowed for medical and psychological treatment
that is needed as a result of the victimization. Out of town travel required to procure needed services
may be considered for the victim, claimant and immediate family members at a prorated amount. Out
of town travel expenses may be awarded for emergency circumstances, as determined by the
Commission.

(b) Travel expenses and lost wages for the victim and one family member, or person of the victim’s
choosing, may be awarded for the victim to attend his or her offender’s parole hearing. When the
victim is deceased, travel expenses and lost wages may be awarded to two immediate family members
or victim representatives. Eligible travel expenses shall be reimbursed at the current State of Alabama
per diem rate, and airline tickets or mileage at the State of Alabama’s current rate for state employees.
These requests will only be considered as a supplemental to an original claim. (There must be a timely,
approved compensation claim in order for parole travel expenses to be considered. The Commission
will not consider parole travel expenses filed as an original claim.) Eligible parole travel expenses will be
reimbursed at the current State of Alabama per diem rate, and airline tickets or mileage at the State of
Alabama’s current rate for state employees. 262-X-4-.04 (15)(b) shall be retroactive to the date of the
Commission’s inception.

(c) Travel expenses for immediate family members to travel out of town to attend the victim's funeral
may be considered for reimbursement. Eligible funeral travel expenses may be reimbursed at the
current State of Alabama per diem rate, and airline tickets or mileage at the State of Alabama’s current
rate for state employees.

(d) In order to qualify for reimbursement for out of town travel, the destination must be greater than
ten miles from the home of the person requesting compensation.

(e) Rental Cars. When the person requesting compensation has rented an automobile for eligible travel
expenses, the person may be reimbursed for mileage or a daily rental car fee of $35. Under no
circumstances shall the requesting person receive both.

(16) Property Reimbursement and Replacement. Eligible damaged property may be replaced or
restored to its condition immediately prior to victimization. Stolen property shall not be eligible for
reimbursement. Compensation may be awarded for eligible property taken as evidence by law
enforcement. In order for damaged property to be eligible for reimbursement it must be listed in the
law enforcement incident/offense report.



1) The maximum award for property reimbursement and replacement is $2,000 per claim.
2) The claimant shall provide estimates or receipts for the damaged property for which
reimbursement is requested.

3) The maximum reimbursement for damaged clothing is $500. This shall be considered as
part of the $2,000 maximum award for damaged property. Damaged clothing may be
reimbursed as follows:

Pants, jeans or skirt - $60 maximum per item;
Shorts or capri pants - $40 maximum per item;
Dresses - $80 maximum per item;

Shirts and tops - $50 maximum per item;
Footwear - $100 maximum per pair;

Jacket, coat or blazer - $100 maximum per item;
Underwear - $10 maximum per item;

Socks and hosiery - $8 maximum per pair;
Sleepwear - $30 maximum;

Bra- $25

Purse - $25

) Wallet-$15

m) Belt-$30
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4) Additional property eligible for reimbursement:

a) Security enhancement - alarm systems, fencing, security doors and burglar bars for real
property owned by the claimant/victim; repair of rental property leased by the
claimant/victim when the claimant/victim is financially responsible for repair(s) to the
leased property;

b) Prescription eyeglasses and contact lenses. The maximum award for damaged
prescription eyeglasses is $350. A receipt/estimate must be provided for the eyeglasses.
The maximum award for damaged prescription contact lenses is $10.

c) Medically necessitated hairpieces used by the victim because he/she suffers from a
condition such as alopecia, or he/she sustained hair loss due to an injury to the scalp or
he/she received or is receiving medical treatment that resulted/results in hair loss.
Documentation from a licensed health care provider substantiating the victim’s hair loss
is required;

d) Furniture, appliances and bedding damaged during the victimization. Damaged
furniture, appliances and bedding may be reimbursed as follows:

1) Sofa/couch - $ 650 maximum;

2) Loveseat/chair and a half - $350 maximum;
3) Upholstered chair/recliner - $300 maximum;
4) Coffee table - $150 maximum;

5) End table/side table - $100 maximum;

6) Bed - $500 maximum;

7) Dresser/armoire/chest of drawers - $300 maximum;
8) Nightstand - $100 maximum;



9) Mattress set - $800 maximum;

10) Sheet Set - $40 maximum;

11) Pillow - $15 maximum;

12) Comforter/bedspread - $65 maximum;

13) Blanket - $30 maximum;

14) Dinette/dining set - $300 maximum;

15) Lamp - $40 maximum;

16) Refrigerator -$500 maximum;

17) Microwave - $100;

18) Eligible property in this category that is not specifically addressed shall

be reimbursed at a reasonable rate as determined by the Commission.
5) The following property shall not be eligible for reimbursement:

Guard dogs;

Weapons of any type;

Automobile repair or replacement costs;

Cash and/or checks;

Computers, telephones, Blackberries, I-pods and other similar devices;
Jewelry;

All-terrain vehicles and similar devices;

Bicycles, scooters and similar devices;

Toys;

Hairpieces that were not obtained due to hair loss;

Televisions, DVD players and discs, VCRs and tapes, stereos, CD players and discs,
cameras, video-recorders, game systems and other similar devices.
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(17) Exclusion from Payment. The following expenses shall not be eligible for compensation:

a) Any expense related to the prosecution of the criminal case. (Examples: expert testimony and
witnesses; DNA testing and analysis; evidence photographs and videos; blood samples and travel
expenses for witnesses subpoenaed to testify.) However, compensation may be awarded for eligible
property taken as evidence by law enforcement;

b) All legal fees shall be excluded from payment except legal fees incurred to establish a legal guardian
for the victim as defined by Alabama Administrative Code (ACVCC) 262-X-4-.04(22).

(18) Replacement services loss may not exceed four hundred ($400.00) dollars per week. For incidents
of criminally injurious conduct occurring on or after October 1, 2014, compensation for replacement
services loss may not exceed six hundred ($600.00) dollars per week. Replacement services loss is
limited to a maximum of 52 weeks.

(19) Supplemental awards: The expenses submitted in the supplemental claim must be related to the
original injury and must be supported by documentation.

(20) Checks issued by the ACVCC may contain the following language: “Cashing this check constitutes
payment in full.” This shall not be construed to apply to future compensation benefits for which the
victim/claimant may be eligible. It shall be the responsibility of the victim/claimant to assert this defense



in any type of collection proceeding against him/her. In the event that the service provider refuses the
check, the compensation shall be paid directly to the victim/claimant.

(21) When a victim/claimant is approved for charity by a service provider, the charity approval shall be
considered a collateral source and compensation shall not be paid to the service provider.

(22) When the claimant must seek legal guardianship of a minor and/or disabled victim in order to
qualify for crime victims’ compensation benefits, the Commission may consider reimbursement of legal
fees incurred for obtaining guardianship. The maximum that may be awarded for legal fees is $1,000.
Legal fees incurred for any reason other than obtaining guardianship shall not be eligible for
reimbursement. The Commission shall not reimburse legal fees in the instance the claimant is not
granted guardianship of the victim.

(23) Bereavement Leave. Bereavement leave may only be granted to the victim’s immediate family
members. A victim’s immediate family member may be granted compensation for a maximum of four
weeks of lost wages without a doctor’s excuse. A doctor’s excuse must be provided for lost wages in
excess of four weeks to be considered for reimbursement. Employer verification is required for all
bereavement leave requests.

(24) Crime Scene Clean-Up. The Commission may provide compensation to an individual or to the
service provider if the expense is outstanding, for the reasonable costs to clean the scene of the crime in
an amount not to exceed $2,500. The service provider must be certified, licensed, and in compliance
with all applicable federal and state regulations. Crime scene clean-up expenses may only be awarded
for the cleaning and removal of biohazards.

(25) Birth Certificates. Reimbursement may be provided for one certified copy of the claimant’s and/or
victim’s birth certificate(s) obtained after the date of the criminally injurious conduct made the basis of
the claim. The birth certificate(s) must have been obtained for the purpose of applying for crime victims’
compensation benefits.

(26) Government-Issued Photo Identification. Reimbursement may be provided for one state-issued
driver’s license or one state-issued non-driver’s ID obtained after the date of the criminally injurious
conduct made the basis of the claim.

(27) Reimbursement may be provided for certified victims of human trafficking and all qualified victims
of violent crime for the removal/cover-up of tattoos that were physically forced on them by the alleged
offender in the incident made the basis of the compensation claim. The Commission shall decide
reasonable reimbursement on a case-by-case basis. The provider must be licensed by the appropriate
governmental body to perform the service rendered in order to qualify for payment/reimbursement.

(28) Lost Wages for Victims of Sexual Assault. A victim of sexual assault may be granted compensation
for a maximum of two weeks of lost wages without a doctor’s excuse. A doctor’s excuse must be
provided for lost wages in excess of two weeks to be considered for reimbursement. Employer
verification is required for all lost wages requests.

(29) Payment to Non-Claimants. A claimant may assign compensation benefits to a person for allowable
expense to the extent that the compensation benefits are for the cost of products, services, or
accommodations necessitated by the criminally injurious conduct made the basis of the claim. The



claimant must submit a completed Permission for Another Individual to Receive Payments on a Limited
Basis form in order for payment to be issued to the person who incurred the expense.

Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones
Statutory Authority: ALA. CODE § 15-23-5(14) (1995)
History: Filed July 8, 2014



STATE OF ) ACVOC CLAIM NO.:
SOUNTY OF )

PERMISSION FOR ANOTHER INDIVIDUAL TO RECEIVE
PAYMENTS ON A LIMITED BASIS

Fa

assign

iname of person to be pald compensation Senefits {non-claimanty)
the legal right to receive reimbursement from the Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation

Commission for

(3tate the type of expense for which the ner-claimant is (o receive reimbursament)

expenses (sihe incurred as & result of the criminally injuricus conduct made the basis of this claim,

lunderstand that payment to

(name of person lo be paid compensation beneﬁis(ncn-claimsnt})

will be deducted from the maximum amount available for compensation benefits,

This is a fimited assignment of rights solely for the purpose of compensating the above-namad
nen-claimant for the above-listed out-of-pocket expense(s; (sjihe incurred as a result of the
criminally injurious conduct made the basis of this claim. | specifically do not assign, and thereby
reserve all other rights associated with ACVCC claim number . .

The assignment shail be binding upon the Claimant and non-claimant, and to their successors,
assigns, and persanal representatives. This assignment for this one payment is IRREVOCABLE
when payment is issued.

THIS LIMITED ASSIGNMENT OF COMPENSATION BENEFITS IS VOLUNTARY, AND MADE
WITHCUT DURESS OR COERCION.

STATE OF }
COUNTY OF )

Claimant’s sianature

I a Notary Pubiic in and for said County and Stats,
hereby certify that, he/she whose name i signed to the foregoing assignment, and who js known 1o
me, acknowledged before me on this date that, being informed of the contents of said assignment,
he/she executed the same voluntarily on the day the same bears date.

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND OFFICIAL SEAL OF OFFICE at County,
State of , on this the day of , 20 .
Motary Pubiic

My Commission expires:
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CERTIFICATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
FILED WITH THE LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE SERVICE
JERRY L. BASSETT, DIRECTOR

{Pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, 841-22-6, as amended).

I certify that the attached is/are correct copy/copies of rule/s
as promulgated and adopted on the gth day of July ,
206 14 , and filed with the agency secretary on the gth day of

July , 20 14 .

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation Commission

Amendment X New Rapeal (Mark appropriate space)

Ruie No. 262-%X-4-,10
{If amended rule, give specific paragraph, subparagraphs, etc.,
being amended)

Rule Title: Reconsideration of Claims Filed on Behalf of Minor Victims,
Incompetent Victims, or Deceased Victims,

ACTION TAKEN: State whether the rule was adopted with or without changes from
the propesal due to written or oral commenis;

The rule was adopted without changes from the proposal.

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION PUBLISHED IN VOLUME XXAIT ,
ISSUE NC. 8 fAAM, DATED May 30 ;20 14

tatuteory Rulemaking Authority: Rla. Code § 15-23-5{14)(1995)

{Date Filed)
{For LRS Use Oniy}
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eDerd d e A, O
Certifying Officer or his or her
Deputy Cassie T. Jones, Ed4.D.

Executive Director

(NOTE: In accordance with §41-22-6(b), as amended, a proposed rule is
reguired to be certified within 90 days after completion of the notice.



262-x-4-.10 Reconsideration of Claims Filed on Behalf of Minor Victims, Incompetent Victims, or
Deceased Victims

1. AUTHORITY
Code of Alabama § 15-23-12(d) {1995}, which provides:

The commission, on its own motion or on request of the claimant, may
reconsider a decision granting or denying an award or determining its
amount. An order on reconsideration of an award shall not require a
refund of amounts previously paid, unless the award was obtained by
fraud. The right of reconsideration does not affect the finality of a
commission decision for the purpose of judicial review.

2. Compensation cannot be paid to a claimant who is ineligible for compensation benefits.
When an ineligible claimant files for compensation benefits on behalf of a minor victim,
incompetent victim, or deceased victim, the claim must be not approved.

3. The Commission may reconsider a decision denying or reducing a compensation award
for a minor victim, incompetent victim, or deceased victim due to the ineligibility of the
claimant, in the event of either of the following:

a. The minor victim reaches the age of majority, or can otherwise legally act on
his/her own hehalf;

b. A person (other than the ineligible claimant) who is legally authorized to act on
behalf of a minor victim, incompetent victim, or deceased victim files for
compensation benefits on behalf of the victim.

Author: Dr. Cassie T, Jones
Statutory Authority: ALA. CODE § 15-23-5(14}{1995)
History: Filed July 8, 2014
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CERTIFICATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
FILED WITH THE LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE SERVICE
JERRY L. BASSETT, DIRECTOR

{Pursuant to Code of Alabams 1975, $41-22-6, as amended).

I certify that the attached is/are correct copy/copies of rule/s
as promulgated and adopted on the 8th day of July P
20 14 , and filed with the agency secretary on the 8th day of

July , 20 14 |

AGENCY NAME: Alabama Crime Victims’ Compensation Commission

Amendment New X Repeal (Mark appropriate space)

Rule No. 202-X~9~_01
{If amended rule, give specific paragraph, subparagraphs, etc.,
being amended)

Ruiule Title: Appeals Procedure.

ACTION TAKEN: State whether the rule was adopted with or without changes from
the proposal due to written or oral comments:

The rule was adopted without changes from the propesal.

NOTICE OF INTENDED ACTION PUBLISHED IN VOLUME XXXTT ,
ISSUE NO. 8  ,AAM, DATED May 30 ,20 14

Statutory Rulemaking Authority: Ala. Code & 15-23-5(14)1{1995)

{Date Filed)
(For LRS Use Only)
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Certifying Officer or his or her
Deputy Cassie T. Jones, Ed.D.

Executive Director

(NOTE: In accordance with §41-22-6(b}, as amended, a proposed rule is
required to be certified within 90 dayvs after completion of the notice.



262-X-9-.01 Appeals Procedure. REPEALED

Author: Dr. Cassie T. Jones
Statutory Authority: ALA. CODE § 15-23-5(14} (1995)
History: Filed luly 8, 2014



